22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is one of my favorite treats. I started making them one day because i love pickles (on anything) and I love peanut butter (on anything). This is good w/ ALL pickles. Dills, gherkins, bread & butters etc. As a child, my mother once made me a sandwich of bread & butter pickles and cream cheese on pumpernickel. It was so amazing I still eat it to this day. Buttered toast also works wonderfully. Maybe that's why they call them bread & butter pickles. They go great together! I LOVE PICKLE SANDWICHES!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Suzy_Q November 21, 2007

well there is a first time for everything, and this was my first peanut butter and pickle sandwich. It was good! I wasn't sure if I would like it or not so I made half a sandwhich and went back and made another one. I used dill sandwich pickles, wheat bread and creamy peanut butter. I have to say I think I like this better than a regular old peanut butter and jelly sandwich. This really satisfies my craving for something sweet and salty. Thanks for posting this, I would never have thought of making this myself!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ginaaaaaa May 15, 2007

i must be really hungry cause i was sitting here and saw this recipe and thought"why not try it" Suprisingly, this wasnt to bad. I am not a fan of sweet pickles, so like another reviewer suggested i used dill. And i thought it was really tasty. I will definantly make this again, i may even see if i can get the kids to try it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
REEVES73 May 09, 2007

I have loved this sandwich for years! I think my Dad first introduced me to it when I was little. My favorite pickle to use is a crunchy, garlicky kosher dill. I thought I was the only one who loved this! So glad to see it posted among more high falutin' recipes!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yia Yia May 08, 2007

Made for PAC, Spring 2007 ~ Since I love peanut butter AND sweet pickles, this one was right up my alley ~ chunky peanut butter, winter wheat bread [oh, yes, & I added about one tablespoon of dark raisins!] along with the pickles, & I had an OUTSTANDINGLY different kind of sandwich! Thanks for the suggestion!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike May 05, 2007

Well, unlike some of these other people here, I didn't grow up on these. My parents would think it's gross, haha. But I tried this just now and it's awesome. I used toasted white bread (it's all I have right now), but I'm dying to try it on toasted homemade wheat bread! I use Crazy Richards natural peanut butter, which to me tastes better than any other kind. It's not as thick and dry as other pb, and there's no sugar(yet it has lots of flavor), so it works with more recipes. And I used Vlasic Stackers bread and butter pickles for this, and it was good. And it's so darn easy. Everybody should try this at least once. This will be a regular for me from now on!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mooncrystle December 04, 2006

I can't believe that this is on here! I have eaten these since I was a little girl. THIS MUST USE PICKLE PLANKS ONLY- the krispier the better- i like Vlasick... DILL is the best, HAS to be jiff peanut butter and I like it on white, wheat, whatever... it's an AMAZING blend of texture and flavor- pretty much anyone i have try this is hooked! LOVE LOVE LOVE IT

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Megan Krape October 17, 2006

I've been eating these since I was a kid too. Like the white bread toasted and always use dill pickles. I acquired this odd liking from my mother who also likes peanut butter and onion sandwiches and peanut butter and radish.....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pinkytz March 22, 2006

I have been eating these since I was a child. I am not a peanut butter lover, but with DILL pickles ONLY, it is smooth, creamy, sweet, salty, crunchy, crisp, sour, and tart. White bread is best.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cdubs March 22, 2006
Peanut Butter and Pickle Sandwich