Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Peanut Butter and Jelly Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Peanut Butter and Jelly Bars

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on March 25, 2011

      I copied a version of this recipe out of Bon Apetit a few weeks ago, but they're pretty darn similar. Wow, what great bars. I cut way back on the butter (used 2 tablespoons) as there's plenty of fat in the peanut butter already, and they are still just delicious. I also used grape jam, and since my peanut butter was crunchy I had no need of the sprinkled peanuts. I can't tell you how much we enjoyed these. Everyone was a little unimpressed when I said what they were, but the first bite got a great reaction from each person. I'll definitely keep this recipe. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2008

      I made those with a few changes : instead of the jelly, I've sprinkled Rolo candies cut in 4 for some chewy caramel action, and some semi-sweet chocolate chips in the middle, then covered with the 2nd half of the dough and sprinkled more chocolate chips on top. I've also added caramel topping to the cooled and cut product. I've uploaded a few pictures of what the finished product looks like. These were AMAZING. VERY rich, but it's like eating a snicker's bar cookie.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2011

      I saw Martha Stewart on the Today Show and she was recommending baked goods to send to college students and this was the recipe. Since I was looking for something for my kids I thought I would try. Let me say how yummy these were. Next time I will probably bake them a little longer because the center should have baked more. The only change I made was chunky peanut butter because I had it on hand so I didn't add the chopped nuts. Next time I am going to try some of the other suggestions of chocolate chips. Thanks so glad I found this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2010

      Super easy recipe! I used grape jelly for the filling-Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2010

      great bars. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2010

      Absolutely delicious. This recipe is originally from Martha Stewart's Holiday Cookies 2001. She calls for 2 1/2 cups peanut butter in the recipe. They are hearty, salty, sweet and very nostalgic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2009

      These turned out a bit soft for me, but I chilled them and both the texture and flavor are better chilled. I used Skippy because that's what the recipe called for, but I normally don't use a hydrogenated, sweetened peanut butter. Many times recipes specify that you shouldn't use a natural peanut butter and I didn't know if that was true of this one, so I didn't want to take a chance with the natural p.b. and maybe ruin the bars. I may try this recipe someday with Laura Scudder's natural peanut butter, which has so much more flavor than Skippy IMHO. These definitely require a big glass of cold milk! I'm taking these to a get together on Sunday and am interested to know how they will be received.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2008

      Very tasty. I used strawberry preserves as a filling. The only thing I'd change next time would be to add more sugar to the dough - 2 cups even. But they go great with a glass of milk or a cup of coffee. Thanks Manami, for the wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2008

      Wow these bars are wonderful!! I took them to a friend's house and her kids gobbled them up....and so did we:) You could really use any flavor jam and they would be great. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2008

      This are soooo awesome Di. I've had the recipe saved for quite some time and was justing waiting for the right time to give-em a try. Don't know what I was waiting for as they are so wonderfully rich and decadent. You don't need a very big piece and so remember to cut accordingly. I used blueberry jam bought from the farmers' market. Anytype of jam would work with great results. I even think in lieu of chopped peanuts on top you could add most any type topping. Choco-chips, p.b. chips, even butterscotch chips would work. Thanks alot for a keeper!~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2008

      These are so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      I would give these 10 stars if I could. My friends LOVE these and they go quick. Now I know people say that often, I bake A LOT and some of even my favorites don't go quick but these do. Any jam works. I LOVE these-if you haven't picked up on that yet!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2007

      great,absolutely loved them,,,,, cant wait to make them again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2007

      I made this recipe (boy was it rich!) for my family one night after dinner and everybody loved it! Including myself. I used strawberry jam because I wasn't sure what everybody's favorite was. My daddy told me that anytime I wanted to make it, it would be okay with him. I am definately making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2007

      Really yummy! I made these using plum jam and the family has just devoured them. Will definitely make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2007

      These are perfect and one should throw out any other recipes for peanut butter & jelly bars! Just a note, in Ina Garten's newest cookbook, she gives credit for this recipe to Martha Stewart- a Martha Stewart original.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2007

      Yummy!! I used a little less than half splenda blend (about 1/3 cup) and used 2 cups of jam which I thought was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2006

      these did not turn out very good for me. the dough stayed kinda uncooked in the middle layer. i did not make any changes. i also had a very hard time cutting them without them crumbling. they would have been fine if they would have just cooked in the middle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2006

      These were really good! I made them to take to a family BBQ. They are very dense & rich but not too sweet. I actually cut the pan into 48 squares & thought they could have been even a little bit smaller because of the richness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2006

      If ever a cookie cries out for an icy cold glass of milk - this is it! These are a delicious, hearty bar cookie. I prepared it as directed. The preparation time was 30 minutes, however.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Peanut Butter and Jelly Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (181 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 798.6
     
    Calories from Fat 400
    50%
    Total Fat 44.5 g
    68%
    Saturated Fat 15.4 g
    77%
    Cholesterol 75.3 mg
    25%
    Sodium 577.3 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 87.7 g
    29%
    Dietary Fiber 4.8 g
    19%
    Sugars 49.0 g
    196%
    Protein 18.4 g
    36%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes