Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Peanut Brittle Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Peanut Brittle

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on May 10, 2008

      Oh, this was very yummy. It turned out beautifully. I've not made candy before - only had a candy thermometer because we needed one for my son's science project. I was surprised at how long it took to get up to temperature. Also, I'm glad I planned ahead and had the pans pre-buttered and the baking soda and butter pre-measured.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      I have been making this exact same peanut brittle for several years now, and I cook it to 295. It turns out wonderful! It's the best peanut brittle I've ever found, and it gets rave reviews from everyone. Thanks foor posting this, Barb... now I will never lose the recipe! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2011

      Awesome! I made this exactly according to the recipe, and I've never made candy before. I came out great!! Some of the best peanut brittle I've ever had! I'm making it again this holiday season.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2004

      This is almost identical to a recipe I've had for years, except that hard crack is 300F to 310F NOT 295F (except of course at high altitudes). Also, a great tip for making any nut brittle is to use a Silpat, Exopat or other such silicone baking sheet. You don't have to worry about extra butter, the brittle is not greasy and clean up is a breeze.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2014

      I made this and it was very good but I changed a couple of things. I added 2 teaspoon because after I started to make it I looked at other recipes and they all had 2 tsp for this amount of sugar corn syrup mix and it is important for texture. I also did not make is a skillet. The mix is very hot and needs stirred often so I went for a deeper pan. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2013

      I have been making this recipe for the past 2 years and forgot to rate it - fabulous!!! Can't recommend this enough (such a great Christmas gift). I love making this with all different nuts (macadamias are my favourite) Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2011

      Just made this and I'm impressed! I've never made candy before, but just bought a candy thermometer today so that I could try my hand at brittle. A customer of mine makes a to die for cashew brittle, and then my nana sent me some amazing See's brittle, and after buying a huge tub of cashews at BJ's I decided I'd try making my own. I had to make for only 1/2 pound batch because I only had enough sugar on hand for that much. I wasn't sure at what temperature to cook it at, I used a huge nonstick pasta pan until I realized it was way too big for my batch so I downsized to a small nonstick saucepan. Worked much better. Anyways, I set my stove to around medium heat and got super impatient. After a really long while when I finally reached soft ball temp, I turned the heat up a bit to reach 300 degrees faster. Adding the soda was fun to watch AND the smell when you add the butter is divine! I think next time I will add extra butter and extra baking soda to make it super airy. I'll also try to really slow heat it next time, maybe that will give it deeper flavor and a bit more softness like See's brittle but I couldn't help myself, I was in a rush to try some :) I laid out a sheet of aluminum foil on a relatively flat cookie sheet. I just spread it out on there, though I did spray a little bit of nonstick all purpose cook/bake spray just incase. Can't wait to try it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2010

      Very good and easy. Since raw peanuts are almost impossible to find i used roasted salted peanuts and left out the 1/4 tsp of salt. Instead of adding them right to the cooking syrup i spread them out on piece of buttered parchment paper and just poured the syrup over the top of the nuts and spread it out with a buttered spatula. I added a 1/2 tsp of cinnamon at the same time as the baking soda. It turned out perfectly. I also made a batch with slivered almonds and am going to try pecans later. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      Came out GREAT!! Perfect! Everyone loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      Very good! Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2008

      This was a great recipe. In years past, I have tried microwave brittle and was not impressed. This year, I was looking for a good old-fashioned brittle recipe. It was a snap to make and absolutely delicious. You just need to be patient while that thermometer creeps up. I didn't realize that brittle could be challenging until my relatives acted like I had moved mountains by making this on the stove. Thanks, Barb.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2008

      Barb, I found your peanut brittle recipe 3 years ago and have had allot of compliments on how good it is. My wife is a qualified French pastry chef and she even said it is tops. Thank you very much. I am doing three batches this year to give to the grandsons. That is the only way we can enjoy some for ourselves.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2008

      great recipe. so easy. for a unique touch, sprinkle the peanuts with a little cayenne or chili powder (no more than 1/8 tsp) prior to adding. it adds a nice heat to the finish and cuts the sweet

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2007

      Wow.. This is the first time I have ever made Peanut Brittle and it was fantastic! Thank you for a great and easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2007

      Truly a classic recipe---Was very tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2006

      Delicious candy--gobbled up by those who received it in their Christmas baskets!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2005

      This is excellent. Easy and a very high quality brittle. Thanks very much for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2004

      This is great. I used pie pans to pour it into. Get the through away kind. Butter them really good. If you spin them the peanut brittle spreads and the bubbles does not break. This makes for melt in your mouth candy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2004

      Thank you for the recipe. I enjoyed this candy as well as my kids. I am however currently seeking a recipie reminiscent to Sees peanut brittle which is my favorite. This one didn't quite make it but it was crunchy and good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Candy Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Peanut Brittle

    Serving Size: 1 (1282 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2101.1
     
    Calories from Fat 667
    31%
    Total Fat 74.1 g
    114%
    Saturated Fat 11.1 g
    55%
    Cholesterol 5.0 mg
    1%
    Sodium 1074.2 mg
    44%
    Total Carbohydrate 354.4 g
    118%
    Dietary Fiber 12.4 g
    49%
    Sugars 251.0 g
    1004%
    Protein 37.6 g
    75%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes