Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Peanut Brittle Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Peanut Brittle

    Average Rating:

    45 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 45

    Sort by:

    • on December 12, 2007

      This is a delicious recipe -- as far as it goes. About 50 years ago I got it from my mother, who had gotten it from her mother, but when I made the recipe it didn't turn out as good as my mother's. When I told her this, she immediately asked how I had made it and I told her - step by step how I had made it. When I got through telling her she looked at me with a look on her face which seemed to state, "Why you poor retarded child" as she said, "Billy, you didn't stretch it!" Baffeled, I replied, "Stretch it? You didn't say anything about 'stretching it'!" "Billy, everyone knows you are supposed to stretch peanut brittle." Well, I didn't know it, and as indicated by the dozens of recipes I have read over the years - not many other people have heard of it either. Mama went on to explain that if you just pour the brittle out and let it cool you haven't completed the job, and that if your hardened candy still has the tiny bubbles in it from adding the soda -- you didn't finish the job. Which means, "You didn't stretch it." She then had to explain what that means. She says to make good peanut brittle you have to be willing to "suffer" a little. As soon as soda has been added and foams up, the candy should be poured out onto a buttered hard surface (preferably marble.) Mama didn't have fancy stone countertops but she did have a slab of marble for making peanut brittle. Then, as soon as it begins to cool around the edges, start stretching the candy outwards. This disposes of all the tiny bubbles and leaves the candy looking like clear amber-colored stained glass with the peanuts suspended in the glass. Use heavy rubber gloves during the process to cut down on the "suffering." Despite everything, you will have the most wonder brittle you can possibly imagine. Happy stretching!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2011

      This was my first attempt at making peanut brittle and I'm trying not to eat it all at once. This tastes better than any store brand I've tried. I added 2 1/2 cups salted Virginia peanuts when the sugar reached 280 degrees and continued cooking until it reached exactly 300 degrees then added the baking soda/vanilla/water mixture. It takes a while to reach the right temperature so be patient, it will get there. I divided it between two cookie sheets and stretched it a little and the moment it turned hard, I broke it up and dug in. I have to force myself to put it away(for now). Next time, I'll try this recipe using cashews.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2008

      This is the best recipe for peanut brittle, but I must say that this is a copy of an original Betty Crocker Recipe Boof which I have been familiar with since the 50's. From the ingredients and measure to the procedure, copied verbatim.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2014

      Made it for my family Christmas get together. It was a hit, everyone loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2014

      I would call this recipe an average peanut brittle recipe; not saying that it would not taste good, nor that it would not be a good peanut brittle, but it would not win any awards. The true way to make a good brittle, of any kind, is how it is caramelized, and this brittle and all the rest I read follow the same old rule, and fall short of that caramel rule, So you are going to end up with a hard and will stick to your teeth, break crowns, etc. I make a brittle, that has not only won best brittle, but has won best candy two years running. I have been making this brittle for over 30 years, and at one time use to make over 200 pounds a year and give it away at Christmas, but due to a spinal injury I have dropped that to around 80 pounds and only give to some special friends and neighbors. I just thought my youngest daughter and her husband, and hopefully they will take it on from here.; But I am sorry may have said theurs is the best, in the past 30 years, only to walk away with their heads hung low! Steve

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2013

      So good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2012

      Most excellent! It was a bit of a wait, and considerable eye strain reading the candy thermometer, but well worth it, if not just just for the aroma. In addition, gives me the option to make it as thin as possible for old gummers, like me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2012

      My family absolutely loved this peanut brittle....It does take time to do it, but worth it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2011

      This is the 3rd time I have made this recipe and it's fantastic... followed to a T and came out perfect again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2010

      Great recipe. I just made it today for the first time and already 2 people have asked for copies. It probably is worth mentioning that the baking soda makes quite the explosion so follow the directions and make sure your pan is large enough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2009

      (I posted the pictures with the yellow striped plates.) This recipe was super easy. This was the first time I've made brittle before, and it turned out awesome! We used pistachios instead of peanuts and we put it all on one cookie sheet instead of two, still makes a lot. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      I've been using this recipe long enough now (three years) that I figured I should add a review. This is a great recipe, and it makes delicious, addictive brittle. I've noticed that in some other recipes they don't have vanilla, which I think adds a little extra something to the flavor. Another important factor, I think, is the inclusion of butter. As some have noted, the Hard crack stage is a little above the 300 degree mark (on my candy thermometer it is *very* close. But I've also noticed that by time it reaches 300 degrees, it hits the "hard crack" within seconds, and absolutely no longer than 1 minute. I only mention this because if you were to take it off the heat at 300 degrees, it's likely the candy will hit the hard crack stage within the time it takes you to mix in the soda/vanilla mixture and pour it onto the cookie sheet. Anyway, great recipe and well worth the time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      The peanut brittle tasted very nice but not as good as my neighbors! You did not say to line the cookie sheet with foil or anything. My brittle stuck to the sheet & made a mess when I was popping it out. It all broke into little tine pieces. It makes me crazy when steps are omitted!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      Great recipe! I made some minor adjustments: 1/4 teaspoon of salt and added some pecans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      These were a lot of fun to make. I cooked to 300* and aside from me burning my FH's thumb while he was holding the thermometer so I could stir, they turned out quite great. I think i would have preferred them a bit saltier though, and I think I'll try roasting the nuts beforehand, see how that turns out. These are going to make wonderful gifts!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

      I've never made brittle before EVER, and I've been looking for a copy of a very light, airy & buttery pecan brittle that one of my vendors used to give at the holidays. I used pecans, lightly toasted, and a pinch of salt to balance the sweet and it turned out fabulous! My husband doesn't like sweets, but I can't keep him out of this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2009

      Very good!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2009

      It turned out just as good as it didlast year. I used pecans too. Yum! Thank you for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2008

      Wonderful and easy. Love how it does not stick to your teeth. Lovely flavor. I used Vanilla sugar, and salted nuts that I added at 300 as suggested by Faith77. Worked out really well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2008

      This was very easy and tasted great. Only bad thing was I burnt my dam finger, that's my fault, shouldn't make candy while drinkin Sierra Nevada Harvest Ale. thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Candy Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Peanut Brittle

    Serving Size: 1 (1390 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 71.7
     
    Calories from Fat 33
    46%
    Total Fat 3.6 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 37.0 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.0 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 5.8 g
    23%
    Protein 1.6 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes