39 Reviews

Excellent salsa. Lots of work but in the end, its worth it. When Blanching the peaches and tomatoes, i find that if you put them in hot water (after you boil the jars, turn off the stove and there is your hot water) and cool them in cold water for 5 sec. You want the peaches/tomatoes to still be warm-hot but cold enough that you can handle it. Very good recipe. Thanks for posting.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dave95 August 19, 2010

Very good flavor. I didn't have any honey but it is still sweet enough. I agree with some of the others that is is a little soupy. I tried cooking a little bit longer to reduce the fluids but I didn't wans to cook too long making it mushy. I will definatley make this again. Thanks for the great recipe! UPDATE: 9 Dec 09 I opened a jar last night for a get together and everyone loved this. After sitting for a while the salsa seems to have thickened quite nicely.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chelebelle December 10, 2009

Love this recipe! We have a peach tree in our yard and it yields a ton of fruit. I'm not a huge fan of sweet peach desserts so this is perfect for using our fruit. Gave some of the canned salsa as gifts and everyone can't get enough of it. My sister even said I should try and sell it! Didn't change anything in the recipe except added more or less jalapenos depending on their heat level, might try it with habaneros this year. Can't wait for September when we have more fresh peaches! Also think this would be great with mangoes, but have yet to try it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SpicyMeatball February 25, 2011

I LOVE THIS!!!! Made this a few days ago, I knew Id want more than 4 pints...so I tripled it. SO glad I did, in fact plan to make another triple batch for the winter (I know I would die if i ran out!). I did not peel/blanch the peaches or tomatoes (I never do in my salsas). I also used 6 large romas in place of the regular. I used a few different kinds of peppers including scotch bonnets, so ours is a little spicier, just the way we like it. THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR SHARING!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
valeriefromWI October 18, 2009

I made 4 full pints with this recipe with a little left over for tasting. I used 3 large jalapenos and this salsa was spicy! It was my first time making cooked salsa and it was soupy! Not sure if that's how it's supposed to turn out or not. EDIT: As another review mentioned, it was hot hot hot right after making, but now that we've opened and tried our first jar, the salsa is actually quite mild. Still a bit soupy, but good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zaar junkie August 22, 2009

We added habanera to our salsa and was it good, hot but good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shadethecat December 16, 2008

We were spending a fortune buying Mango Salsa for my husband all the time. When I was given a TON of peaches this summer, I made a big batch of this and canned it. Hubby LOVES it! I made it just as the recipe says. Hubby thought it had too few tomatoes in it, and wasn't quite "salsa-y" enough. He's been mixing a jar with a jar of my mom's regular salsa, and thinks he's in heaven! Next time I'll double the tomatoes and 1/2 the peaches, but otherwise - GREAT!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lynn 2574 October 10, 2007

Fabulous salsa recipe. I followed the recipe exactly and found the flavours perfectly balanced. I'll be making another batch to give as gifts.... Thanks for the great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dianne Swanlund July 30, 2002

Delicious and easy to make. Like others, I found it soupy even though I cooked it longer than shown, but I'm hoping when I open those jars later in the year they will have jelled a bit. I made a small batch of this fresh last night to serve on fish tacos and it got rave reviews. The only change I made was to add a squeeze of lime juice instead of the vinegar. We scooped up the rest on tortilla chips and there was nothing left over. It was the perfect mix of sweet and spicy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FlyingCook July 08, 2015

I really love the sweet and spicy combination of flavors! I served this with my Meatloaf Muffins (Meatloaf Muffins) using the salsa in the recipe instead of ketchup. WOW! Really jazzed up the meatloaf.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Broke Guy August 06, 2014
Peach Salsa