53 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This wasn't as great as I was expecting, sadly enough. It was good, but not great. For me, I'd rather just have the peach flavor and brown sugar. The cinnamon and nutmeg and honey were too overwhelming. If I make this again I'll add brown sugar to the peaches instead of honey and 1/2 the amounts of cinn and nutmeg.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cher Oliver September 18, 2009

Tip: Boil peaches for a few seconds before peeling, and the peels will come right off. Also, I added extra oats to the topping and it was nice and crispy.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
je1nnalk September 15, 2009

it was ok. flavor of the entire thing was not sweet enough for me even tho i used 2/3 of a cup of brown sugar and my peaches were ripe. there was too much flour i think. most of my crust didn't even form until i put it under the broiler. sorry.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SaMSaM June 11, 2009

This recipe was a hit with the family! I did put in a bit more oats in than asked. It's peach season and I had been looking for something besides pie for all my peaches. I took it to a family event and everyone loved it! I was asked for the recipe numerous times. I served it with ice cream.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Honeyofachef September 02, 2013

I made this for dessert tonight and we liked it but it didn't wow us. I felt the "crisp" part was too bland. If i make this again I will add more seasoning and brown sugar. Also, I will use brown sugar instead of honey, we just didn't care for the honey with the peaches. Thank you for sharing, it just wasn't for us.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour December 08, 2009

Fresh peaches and company! What a great dessert; it disappeared in no tme; I had yellow plums that were quite ripe so I added them and a handfull of blueberries; great combination. I served it with ice cream. Sorry but I didn't get a chance to tke a picture. Thanks for posting. Rita

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sage August 24, 2009

This was really good. I used peaches that I froze in a heavy syrup. Because of this, I did not use more than a drizzle of the honey. I made sure to thaw and drain the peaches very thoroughly. I didn't quite have the 6 cups of peaches called for, but it still turned out great. I did follow a suggestion by a previous reviewer and put it under the broiler for the last couple of minutes. Yum! Thanks for a great recipe :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jsgraff May 14, 2009

This was tasty! I agree with Anne H, in that a bit less butter might make the topping a bit crunchier. I used a mixture of white and yellow peaches and fresh lemon juice. I baked mine in a convection oven at 325 for 40 minutes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AKillian24 October 01, 2007

Love the addition of the oats, this is a really nice crisp recipe. I made this with maple syrup in place of the honey (didn't have enough honey). It is not a super sweet recipe, which works for my taste. I reduced the amount of butter, because others said it wasn't crispy enough. Next time I will use the full 1/2 cup. I will try it with 1/2 apples as well. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jake ryley'smommy September 06, 2007

Disappointing. In spite of following the recipe exactly, I did not find the topping crunchy at all, even though I drained the peaches. I didn't think it was sweet enough, either. If I made this again, I would add more brown sugar, omit the nutmeg, and put it under the broiler for awhile to get the toppong more crispy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blondemensan July 12, 2007
Peach Crisp