Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Peach Cobbler Dump Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Peach Cobbler Dump Cake

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on May 13, 2010

      This is fantastic! I really don't know the sizes of anything, I just dumped. I had a big can of peaches and cut them into chunks. I also added a very small can of pineapple tidbits. I dumped half the cake mix on top, then pushed down. Then added the rest and pushed down. I used the trick of frozen butter and my cheese grater to distribute the butter evenly. Plus it was pretty. It was done to perfection at 45 minutes. I think cutting the peaches up was key, or else it would have been a soggy mess and hard chunks. Cutting them into pieces allowed the cake to mix with the juice better. Loved it, will make often. Cheers! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2011

      Very easy and delicious. I cut the peaches into little bite size pieces. I pushed the cake mix down into the juice just a bit and melted the butter and poured over mixture. Largest can I could find was 29 oz. so next time I might add another small can. Served warm with vanilla ice cream. To die for!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2009

      I really liked this recipe. I followed it exactly. I found the right sizes of cake mix and peaches easily. I cut the butter by chilling a stick with a metal cheese grater in the freezer for a few minutes, then just grated the butter over top. It came ourt perfect. And it was super easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2008

      This is the way my family always makes it. I drain the peaches and add cinnamon and 1 T. Flour as is I was making pie filling, dump it in the 9x13 and carry on according to the directions. One of my Favorites!!! YUM

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2007

      This is a great recipe. I make it all the time. I use an extra can of peaches, drained. I also use peaches in light syrup and light butter. Since I use light butter I end up with more dry spots. To alleviate this, I take it out after 15 minutes and spray it with butter spray. I also lightly press the topping down with a spatula to avoid too much dry cake mix. It is a little more work, but my mother in law actually likes it better than when she made it with real butter. It leaves the top crispier like more of a cookie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2014

      It should be a crime for a recipe to be so easy and delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2014

      My family tried this and loved it. I'm not too sure why anyone would mess with such a good recipe. I used margarine instead of butter only because I keep kosher and wanted it with a meat meal (can't mix milk and meat.)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2013

      We used to make this alot when I was a kid, and it's simple and a family favorite. I recommend using 2 large cans of peaches and cut them into bite size pieces. You must use the kind with heavy syrup or the topping won't be the right consistency. Use a box of yellow cake mix that makes a 9x13 pan and a stick of melted margarine that you drizzle over the top. Looking at the comments for this recipe, we never used cinnamon, but I do think that'd add a nice flavor when using peaches. I, personally wouldn't use white sugar on top, as I think it'd get too sweet. If you use the heavy syrup for consistency and bake until the top has lightly browned, it will get crunchy on top without adding sugar. This also is great using 2 cans of cherry pie filling instead of peaches. This dessert does tend to lose the crunchiness on top after a day, but I found keeping it in the refrigerator helps. It's also excellent served warm.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      My mother used to make this years ago, and everyone loved it so much it would be gone in minutes! The only difference was that she would melt the stick of butter and drizzle it over the top which probably would get the same results but perhap be a little easier to do. I am making it to take to a friend's house this evening to finish of a meal of low country boil. The guest of honor will be her exchange student from Beijing. :D I'll report back on how everyone enjoyed the dessert!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2009

      I made this for a family get together. It took no more than 10 minutes to prep. It was the only cake on the table out of 4 cakes that was gone by the end of the night. I served it with vanilla ice cream. Next time I will use more peaches or a smaller pan to make it deeper. I sprinkled granulated sugar on time to give it a bit more crunch. I got requests to try apples next time!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2013

      Really good! I simmered the peaches and juice with a bit of cinnamon in a saucepan for a few minutes before transferring them to the pan. It was a bit sweet for me, but I think the heavy sauce was needed, so maybe the next time I'll buy one can of heavy sauce and one light and use half of each. Otherwise the cake was perfect. And in my opinion vanilla ice cream is a must.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2013

      Ms. Brenda's recipe is an excellent recipe. From my experience it is up to the individuals desired taste, there is nothing wrong with tweaking it to fit you and the ice cream added OMG makes a difference. If you are first timers making a "Dump Cake with any kind of fruit" follow Brenda M recipe those others have you doing extras which is not necessary.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2013

      This is a great recipe. It's very easy to prepare and it's delicious, too. I used two 16 ounce cans of peaches, and I cut the peaches into bite-sized pieces. I mixed the cinnamon in with my peaches so that it would blend with the heavy syrup. I froze my butter and used my cheese grater to grate it... this helped to distribute it evenly all over the top of the cobbler. I sprinkled a little cinnamon and granulated sugar mixture on top to give it a little more crunch. My family and I always really enjoy this recipe!<br/><br/>Sometimes I'll make a lighter version for my parents, who have diabetes. I'll use peaches in their natural juices... but it's important to drain one of the cans of juice... the juice does not absorb the same way as the heavy syrup. I still mix the cinnamon in with the peaches and their juices. I'll use one of the Sugar-Free Cake Mixes in place of the standard cake mixes. It's near impossible to tell the difference in flavor. If you're trying to cut calories and fat, you could use Light Butter, too... Land 'O Lakes has a good one. Then follow the directions as written. <br/><br/>Sometimes I'll add chopped pecans to both versions to add a little crunch... it's not traditional, but it adds a little extra texture and interest. Serving the cobbler with vanilla ice cream is also always a hit!!! Enjoy. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2013

      Easiest thing I ever made. It tasted awesome too. I poured two can of the peaches with the juices into the 13 X 9 inch pan. I changed nothing except after the butter had melted about 10 or 15 minutes into cooking, I mashed down the top of the powdered cake mix to blend it all up with the butter. Cooked about 50 minutes rather than 45. I posted two pics of the end result. I have no ideas why there are negative reviews on this cobbler. The consistency was perfect and remained that way until it was all devoured three days later. When my husband and step daughters got home, they all thought I slaved over this and even compared it to his grandmother's peach cobbler!!! To even have this cake compared to such a labor intensive effort by his grandmother is phenomenal! You absolutely must try this tasty get over!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2012

      I love how simple this was. I think mine needed a touch more butter because my edges were still powder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2011

      This was pretty good. It tastes yummy but looks not so great - I had to convince my hubby to try it, but once he did he thought it was very good. I used 2 14oz cans of peaches and added about 1 cup of frozen raspberries and a little water to make up for the 6 oz difference in can sizes, and this seemed to work well. I have had mixed results with dump cakes before so I followed the tips from Jess4Freedom to cut up the peaches and to layer the fruit/cake mix/liquids, and got better results. Great tips, Jess! Still, I cooked mine a little longer than directed because I wasn't sure if it was done yet - it was not setting up much but was overbaking at the pan edges - but I probably didn't need to. Probably could have done the 45 minutes and gotten a more cobbler-like final result than the fruited cake that I ended up with. All in all though, it was quick and easy, and tastes yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2010

      This was fantastic!! Unfortunately, grocery stores right now carry 29 oz cans of peaches rather than the full 32 oz ones. My only gripe was that it needed more peaches on the bottom, and I attribute it to the fact that this recipe was written in 2003 and most canned foods have been reduced in size. I might throw another smaller can of peaches in on top of the 29 oz can. The crust was to DIE for! It carmelized and was chewy and wonderful just like I wanted! My boyfriend loved it! He even said, "This is so easy, even I could make this!" Thank you for this cheap and easy dessert!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2009

      I loved it! Easy, sweet and totally delicious. The whole pan was gone the first day I made it. I can't wait to make this again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2009

      Love, love, love this recipe as written. I've also used canned raspberries and a coconut cake mix - INSANE! Thank you for this simple and delicious dessert!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2009

      This is so yummy and quick and easy. I cut up my peaches and I don't use cinnamon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Peach Cobbler Dump Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (153 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 372.4
     
    Calories from Fat 137
    36%
    Total Fat 15.3 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 6.7 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 25.4 mg
    8%
    Sodium 427.0 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 58.5 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    7%
    Sugars 39.3 g
    157%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites