10 Reviews

Made this today. I had seven smaller peaches, but followed the recipe as written. I have to agree on the oven time. Mine was done at 18 minutes. The next time I will put it on the bottom rack of the oven, being that topping was a bit darker than I liked, but the cobbler was really good.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Donna G. May 01, 2014

My husband's request for peach cobbler was so random that I thought he was joking...until he kept asking me to make it. There was always something that trumped me choosing cobbler at dessert time; so, I never even tasted it before...let alone actually make it, either. This recipe was simple, and I liked it! Still, not my favorite dessert, but it did taste great! However, I'm all about simplicity when cooking so I used 2 cans (29 oz each) of peaches, and I used 1/2 cup white sugar in the filling (instead of 1/4 cup white suagr). Everything else I kept the same. Our 11 month old loved it....but he loves everything! I didn't know what taste to expect, but my husband cleaned his plate! So, I guess this deserves 5 stars! If it helps any, the first bite made me think of baked apples and the topping made me think of cinnamon streusels.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lindsey1563 September 26, 2010

This was excellent. I used 7 peaches because that was what I had. I boiled the peaches for 1 minute before peeling which made peeling very easy. The only changes I made were using very hot milk instead of boiling water and adding ginger to the topping and the peach filling. My husband loved it and I couldn't get enough!
Thanks for a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aksingingbreeze August 29, 2012

I decided to scrimp a little on the peaches and used 5 instead of the 8-10. My cobbler was rather dry, but had an overall good taste. So if you like juicy cobblers, go for the full amount of peaches.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rjoyce1 July 15, 2011

Tasty! We used a quart of home canned peaches, but I bet it would have tasted a million times better with fresh peaches! We'll have to try this again when peaches are in season. Thanks 2hot2handle!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pale Rose February 16, 2011

Fabulous. I replaced one of the peaches with a cup of blackberries. It was a huge hit.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shkup August 22, 2010

Originally rated on 8/5/09 - This recipe made it into my book#266453. YUMMY! I have made this twice within the past two weeks (by popular demand). Both times, I made it for a group friends/family and it received RAVE reviews. My brother-in-law even called us later to tell us that it was the best peach cobbler he had ever eaten. The ingredient amounts are perfect. The topping is absolutely delicious. I'm so glad I chose this recipe amongst the many I sifted through. This is worth 10 stars, in my opinion. Thank you!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood December 31, 2009

I halved this recipe and gave it to a housebound senior citizen friend. The look on her face after the first bite was worth a ten star review! Such an easy recipe and looks so attractive. I didn't taste it, but that lady's expression said it all. Watch the final baking process--it only took about 18 minutes to reach the golden topping stage. Thanks, 2hot, for another good recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyfingers July 29, 2009

Amazing!!! Without a doubt, the best cobbler I've ever made...and I've probably been cooking longer than most of you have been alive! I increased the cornstarch from 2 teaspoons to 1 tablespoon. As per another review, I used hot milk instead of water. I followed the instructions for the first 10 minutes of baking (425 degrees). Then I turned the oven down to 400 and baked it with the topping for 20 minutes instead of 30 minutes. Served it warm with vanilla ice cream.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaddyCake July 06, 2015

We used 2 15oz cans of peaches with the juice in place of the fresh peaches (not in season!) and sugar, I did add the cornstarch and spices and used the rest of the recipe as written. This was delicious still hot from the oven with vanilla ice cream all melty in the bowl! We will probably make it again in which case I'll use a third can of peaches for more fruit! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diane R January 20, 2013
Peach Cobbler