Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pea Soup With Sausage - Crock Pot Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pea Soup With Sausage - Crock Pot

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on June 07, 2003

      This is not only a good winter soup, it's a good summer soup too, because it kept my kitchen cool and we had a delicious, simple meal. I followed Derf's instructions exactly, and only adjusted the seasoning by adding a tiny bit of cayenne pepper to the pot. At first I was concerned that there wasn't enough broth to completely cover the peas, and added a little more. It was a mistake; the amount that Derf listed would have been perfect. Mine was a bit thinner than we would have liked, but the soup was delicious and the flavor was terrific. Pea soup is good anytime.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      Great! I too used turkey kielbasa. I used 6 Cups of broth, and used fresh marjoram instead of dried. This was very good and very easy. My husband loved it, and with the turkey kielbasa, it's much less fattening than the traditional ham bone version. Will be making this again and again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2008

      This is great! I used 6c stock, 4 ribs celery, 4 carrots, and turkey kielbasa. Also, I cooked it on low for 6 hours. (I added the extra veggies just to use them up before they spoiled).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2007

      This was easy and tasty for a wet, dreary day (in August!) served with homemade bread. I did end up adding more broth near the end of the cooking time, because it was too thick.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2012

      I prefer pea soup with bacon or ham, but this probably is a healthier alternative and tasty too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2011

      This was very much enjoyed by my husband. I have to dispute the liquid amount, though--and the cooking time! I had to add about 1 1/2 cups water b/c the peas had absorbed most of the broth about halfway thru cooking time--added water & turned up the temp to high to get those peas to cook! It eventually worked out, but next time will add that water, and then I think the cooking time of 5 hours on low should be sufficient. I also used turkey kielbasa, which hubby very much enjoyed. I also added salt, black pepper & used oregano & thyme for the marjoram. Thanks for such a flavorful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      Another winner as usual Derf!! I used turkey kielbasa as that is what I had. No celery (allergy). SUPER yummy. I also used stock, I don't have canned broth. Needed about another cup of liquid. I cooked mine on hi for 4 hours. Kids loved it. This didn't make as much as I was expecting (no leftovers) but it was well worth the effort (LOL). THANK YOU!!!! UPDATE July 10, 2008: We had this for dinner tonight, and had the in-laws and Aunt over too. I used 8 oz. of bulk italian sausage, again no celery, and carmelized the onions with the sausage as I browned it. My sausage was frozen, so I cut it into cubes and then browned it, this was great! One of my daughters had 4 bowls! Again, this does not make a lot, but is so yummy!!! UPDATE DEC. 28, 2008: Well this time we made it with Sinai sausage from Costco, I just cut it into little cubes. VERY yummy!! My BIL liked it alot too! This is so far our favorite pea soup recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      LOVED this recipe! SO easy and healthy! Have to admit, put more water in too! But that was BEFORE I read recipe properly too! Not a problem, was for me for today! Added 3 small potatoes, 2 cans drained butter beans...this recipe is here to STAY! JUST a note too...if using chicken stock cubes, have to mind extra salt in dish too! Used 3 Spanish sausage....came out GREAT! Finding this recipe must have been fate! THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pea Soup With Sausage - Crock Pot

    Serving Size: 1 (315 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 425.0
     
    Calories from Fat 118
    27%
    Total Fat 13.1 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 4.1 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 24.4 mg
    8%
    Sodium 416.6 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 52.4 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 20.6 g
    82%
    Sugars 9.0 g
    36%
    Protein 26.6 g
    53%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes