24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Perfectly, simply, delicious! What wonderful flavors, texture, and visual appeal. The frozen peas are a georgeous green, with the onions. Just enough dressing to make moist, but not overpowering. A wonderful, easy salad to make, and even easier to eat. Thanks for posting.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Annie October 12, 2002

This is a classic. Simple and yummy. I made it for lunch and had 2 people try it and ask for the recipe. This would be a great side dish in place of the same old veggies I usually end up serving. I will definately be making this one again.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dawnab October 18, 2002

This salad was a snap to make and was a wonderful addition to our New Years day dinner. It was so pretty on the table too! Enjoyed by all. I will definitely keep this recipe in my tried and true file! Thanks Ginny!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MizzNezz January 05, 2004

I am rating this salad (made according to directions). I found the salad was rather dry (dressing wise), and bland in taste, plus it seemed to be missing something. I made this salad again, and used the following ingredients: 16-oz. of Freshlike Brand Peas (regular sized peas), subbed red onion for the scallions, used 3 tablespoons each, of sour cream and salad dressing, and found the salad dressing gave this salad more tang/zip (whereas the mayo did not). I also added 1-1/2 tablespoons of Ocsar Mayer Real Bacon Bits, and 1 tablespoon of sugar. The sugar improved the taste of the dressing (and salad), plus it gave it that something it seemed to be missing. I did not add the salt and pepper though. One last ingredient I did add: 5 ounces of medium Cheddar cheese, cut into small cubes. With modifications made to salad, I really enjoyed it, and would give this recipe 5-STARS, but made as is, just the one star.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Domestic Goddess July 31, 2013

This was very good, and so easy to whip up. Even DH who doesn't care for peas all that much, wanted to take some in his lunch bucket for work! Wow! I'll make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Paula August 02, 2003

Love! I often crave this delicious combination.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ctrmom February 13, 2014

We enjoyed this, but did find that I had to double the dressing amount - wasn't really sure what size package of peas. Also, added some shredded cheese.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LARavenscroft March 31, 2013

Great little salad. I don't care for scallions, so used fresh chives. Loved the addition of the crumbled bacon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LainieBug June 20, 2011

Simple and refreshing! Subbed onion. Wish I had left out. Scallions would be much better. The bacon makes it! Thanks for a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cook from scratch April 20, 2010

Good! Simple and refreshing! Perfect for summer lunches or dinners.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dine-in June 09, 2009
Pea Salad