9 Reviews

This is a local salad in West Texas, where my husband is from. However, they use pementoes in it, and usually omit the bacon bits. I like this version better. I like it with boiled eggs, too.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
laura Stephenson August 30, 2002

I really enjoyed this salad. I did use a (16 oz.) bag of the frozen peas, (12 oz.) of medium tasting cheddar, (cut into small cubes) and 1-(3.25 oz) jar of the bacon bits, plus I added 2 tablespoons of finely chopped onion. At first I wasn't sure if the (3.25) jar of the bacon bits was too much, but after eating this wonderful tasting salad, no it was just the right amount. Thanks Paige Parker Momma for the new recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Domestic Goddess November 20, 2002

This pea salad is just like the very popular one they serve at a local diner in the town where I am from. I am thrilled you posted this recipe, because now I can make it any time. I used the quantities that Cindi posted in her review. Perfect!! Thanks for sharing this great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jillian L December 11, 2002

I'm eating this salad right now - Absolutely delicious! I used Turkey Bacon instead of bacon bits and Mayo (the olive oil type). This is an amazing salad!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loriannryland June 21, 2009

THANKYOU for posting this. I make it all the time but with canned peas....but my food philosaphy is no canned...but I grew up on pea salad. Just got to have it at least twice a month, and it is so quick and easy. It is my I"m not going to cook tonight and we will be eating in, not out side dish. But now with frozen peas it is better and less salt. I used 1/2 the miracle whip and then checked and added maybe 1T more and no sugar, 1 package of splenda. I have reduced the amount of miracle whip, bacon and cheese for 2 reasons: Salt is an issue for my body and I want there to be less of me. I'm doing ww and like the way i'm looking so I do it lighter.... But I remember how good it was the way it is written and it is good with that much cheese and bacon and miracle whip, so if it isn't a problem for you , go for it! Thanks again for taking the time to post.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grfox33 November 17, 2008

I'm basing this review on dh's comments because this is not the kind of thing that I will eat. He said that it was very good but a bit sweet. I think that next time I make it for him I will reduce the amount of Miracle Whip to 1/2 C and the sugar to a tablespoon or two as it also seemed to have way too much dressing to me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mysterygirl June 16, 2004

We loved this salad! I did make a few changes - I used regular mayonnaise instead of Miracle Whip, just a personal preference. And cooked and crumbled real bacon, again just personal preference. I also added some chopped red onion and served it on top of some finely shredded romaine lettuce. Great spring time salad! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~*~Gold Medal Flower~*~ April 08, 2004

This salad is wonderful. It will be repeated many, many times at our house. Thank you for sharring.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary in OR April 24, 2003
Pea Salad