Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Payday Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Payday Bars

    Average Rating:

    55 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 55

    Sort by:

    • on December 28, 2002

      Incredibly good!! Made some of these over the Xmas Holidays and everyone ohhed & ahhed. I actually like these better than the candy bars..they are softer and they were oh so easy to make. This is a keeper for me. Thnx so much for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2008

      These bars tasted very good. However, I had a terrible time with them sticking to everything! First, I had them in the fridge overnight and they wouldn't come out of the pan or stay together and stuck to the serving platter (the entire bottom of the bar was stuck to the platter), what a mess! I put the leftovers in the freezer, this did help with the stickiness some but then they didn't taste as good. Moreover, all of my marshmallows conglomerated in one place, leaving some pieces without any marshmallows at all. I followed the recipe as directed and didn't substitute anything. *Update, I've made these a couple more times and found that if you completely cover the bottom of the pan with the peanuts (takes more than 1/2 jar) than stickiness is not such an issue and I keep them in the freezer. I also let the mixture cool just a few minutes before adding the marshmallows so they don't stick together and then just barely stir them in before dumping them over the peanuts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2008

      These were sooo yummy and addicting! I brought them to work and everyone kept going back for more! I ended up hiding some so i would have some left over for me! i took another reviewers advice and kept them in the freezer after refrigerating them over night because when they sat out they became sticky. if you are going to put them on a platter, i would spray it with pam first to keep it from sticking. A co-worker suggested dipping the bottoms in chocolate, which would help. Thanks so much, this was so easy and great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2010

      These bars had a very nice flavor and went over okay. I personally loved the sweet and salty mixture. The adults seemed to like this more than the kids (at a party); athough, I'm not sure why. I heard several people say they tasted like a payday and they weren't even told the name of these bars! I am not much of a marshmallow fan at all, but I have to say, I liked these. I will probably only make these for functions/get-togethers since my kids didn't enjoy them much and so I won't eat the entire pan! Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2009

      Fast, easy, and tasty.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2003

      I was looking for something a little different to take to a picnic and happened onto this recipe. If I didn't know any better, I would SWEAR I was eating a Payday, except this is a little softer (as Anita said) and tastes much fresher. I substituted butter for the margarine, and buttered my offset spatula to get the mixture evenly spread. I'm thinking about trying this next time with honey roasted peanuts. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2014

      Tastes just like the candy bar. I halved the recipe and put it in an 8x8 pan and had no issues. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2013

      Loved this square!! As a personal preference, I used salted cocktail peanuts - loved the sweet/salty flavour. Very easy to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2013

      Oh my goodness, these are rich and delicious!!!! DH can't quite eating these. Its a cinch to make and they taste like a lot more work then they were. Thank you for sharing this with us. I will definitely make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2013

      I made a similar recipe but it called for 2 bags of peanut butter chips. The first time I made it I used butterscotch chips (2 bags) and melted the marshmallows. It turned out great but husband thought they tasted more like butterscotch/rainbow marshmallow bars. Very good and kept they're shape. I am now trying it your way.<br/>Made them yesterday and yes, they were a bit sticky. I keep them in the fridge and they are better that way. I might try using 2 bags of peanut butter chips next time and see if that will make them keep their shape. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2011

      These were good, but I wasn't a fan of the chunks of marshmallow. I'm going to try melting the marshmallows and see how I like it that way :)

      Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2011

      These things taste great!!!!!! They were super easy to make, too. I will definately be making more as they didn't last very long!! Thanks for sharing, nnreq!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2011

      Loved these! Made exactly as printed and they were a hit. Served these in small squares with my Christmas Cookies and they were a nice addition to the sweet cookies. Great recipe, super easy and will be making them again. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2010

      I thought these were good, but DH said to go with a 3 rating! He said it tasted to marshmelowy?? Im making these again so he will learn to like them! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2010

      These didn't taste anything like Payday bars. They weren't bad, but they weren't great. I won't be making them again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2010

      These were so easy to make and tastes good! I had left over peanuts from the holidays from making peanut brittle and made a batch of these. They were gone in no time! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2009

      I made these to take to work for a bake sale. They were a huge hit and people are still talking about them. They were so good! Thanks for a super easy recipe that I will make again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      Made these for my grandchildren to try and they were crazy about them. Had to hide them in the cupboard so they didn't eat too many at once. You know how kids are! They didn't last too long though as the adults were into them too. They were delicious! Thanks for posting Nnreg!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2008

      RAVE reviews! everyone who tried it liked it. i used the regular salted roasted peanuts which seemed weird, but it worked out well. also SO easy to make!! i took them to the carolina cup and they traveled better than i ever thought and cut very cleanly. perfect for tailgating! thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2008

      These could not have been easier to make with such few ingredients and so quick. I used wax paper as suggested to press into the pan and it work great. Wonderful treat for my family as well as my parents who just loaned us their generator and radio with the latest storm in Northern Ca. Try it you'll like it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Payday Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (31 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 36

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 138.8
     
    Calories from Fat 76
    55%
    Total Fat 8.5 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 5.0 mg
    1%
    Sodium 134.7 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.0 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 10.2 g
    40%
    Protein 4.2 g
    8%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    peanut butter chips

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites