56 Reviews

Incredibly good!! Made some of these over the Xmas Holidays and everyone ohhed & ahhed. I actually like these better than the candy bars..they are softer and they were oh so easy to make. This is a keeper for me. Thnx so much for sharing this recipe.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anita Harris December 28, 2002

These bars tasted very good. However, I had a terrible time with them sticking to everything! First, I had them in the fridge overnight and they wouldn't come out of the pan or stay together and stuck to the serving platter (the entire bottom of the bar was stuck to the platter), what a mess! I put the leftovers in the freezer, this did help with the stickiness some but then they didn't taste as good. Moreover, all of my marshmallows conglomerated in one place, leaving some pieces without any marshmallows at all. I followed the recipe as directed and didn't substitute anything. *Update, I've made these a couple more times and found that if you completely cover the bottom of the pan with the peanuts (takes more than 1/2 jar) than stickiness is not such an issue and I keep them in the freezer. I also let the mixture cool just a few minutes before adding the marshmallows so they don't stick together and then just barely stir them in before dumping them over the peanuts.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI April 21, 2008

These were sooo yummy and addicting! I brought them to work and everyone kept going back for more! I ended up hiding some so i would have some left over for me! i took another reviewers advice and kept them in the freezer after refrigerating them over night because when they sat out they became sticky. if you are going to put them on a platter, i would spray it with pam first to keep it from sticking. A co-worker suggested dipping the bottoms in chocolate, which would help. Thanks so much, this was so easy and great!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
For Goodness Bake! August 28, 2008

I made three batches of this sweet and salty treat throughout November and December 2003 and I must have passed this recipe on to a dozen people. This is truly a classic and it will remain in my recipe file forever! I spread the mixture out in a half sheet pan, covered the mixture with a sheet of waxed paper and pressed down the top with another half sheet pan (I use the same method for rice krispie treats). Thank you for this delightful treat!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mercy May 20, 2004

I was looking for something a little different to take to a picnic and happened onto this recipe. If I didn't know any better, I would SWEAR I was eating a Payday, except this is a little softer (as Anita said) and tastes much fresher. I substituted butter for the margarine, and buttered my offset spatula to get the mixture evenly spread. I'm thinking about trying this next time with honey roasted peanuts. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Claire de Luna September 01, 2003

Wow, these are incredibly good. I didn't have a problem with anything sticking. A very yummy dessert.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise G. September 30, 2015

Tastes just like the candy bar. I halved the recipe and put it in an 8x8 pan and had no issues. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JeanT January 28, 2014

Loved this square!! As a personal preference, I used salted cocktail peanuts - loved the sweet/salty flavour. Very easy to make!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbb December 31, 2013

These bars had a very nice flavor and went over okay. I personally loved the sweet and salty mixture. The adults seemed to like this more than the kids (at a party); athough, I'm not sure why. I heard several people say they tasted like a payday and they weren't even told the name of these bars! I am not much of a marshmallow fan at all, but I have to say, I liked these. I will probably only make these for functions/get-togethers since my kids didn't enjoy them much and so I won't eat the entire pan! Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
5hungrykids March 23, 2010

Fast, easy, and tasty.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Erineight October 27, 2009
Payday Bars