Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pavlova Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pavlova

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on December 29, 2002

      Missy Wombat it seems you are offended by the recipes name, I too have been making pavlovas since childhood and yes some of those recipes contain the ingredients you mentioned, this recipe (printed in an Australian cookbook) is my familys favourite pavlova recipe, hence why I included it on 'Zaar, in the book it was thus named Pavlova so I kept the name. Sorry to any future people if that name is incorrect. Whatever the name, its delicious! Eve

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2001

      If you have never tried a pavlova, or even if you have, this is the recipe to try. Crisp on the outside, soft and melt-in-the-mouth on the inside, and with those lashings of cream and fruit, it is absolute heaven. Aren't you glad New Zealanders thought up such a culinary delight? Believe me, you haven't lived until you've tried this. And what could be easier?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2001

    • on May 10, 2010

      WOW! This was a really easy recipe to follow. I didn't get to taste it (I don't eat eggs" but everyone loved the results of this Pavlova. Made it for my daughters seven year old birthday gathering. I didn't get "garnish" it with strawberries and kiwi fruit, but freshly picked blackberries. Thank you so much for posting your recipe Evie*

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2009

      Wow! I am a cook and not a baker, so nobody expects me to make desserts. However, I was looking for something unique for 4th of July that would be fun to make with the kids, and this recipe sure did deliver. Although my meringue collapsed a little, it still looked beautiful (see photo). I mixed sliced bananas in a little lemon juice to prevent browning and then put them in a circle on top of the cream. I then put raspberry sauce inside the circle, topped with blueberries, one strawberry in the center and then dusted with powdered sugar. Voila! A gorgeous 4th of July treat. Thanks so much, Evie, for sharing this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2008

      Yummo! Just THE best pavlova recipe ever!! I was lucky today and found blueberries, raspberries and blackberries on special...added strawberries and kiwis and wow..what a great pavlova. We especially liked this one as it didn't leave a heap of uncooked meringue. Great recipe, thanks Evie!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2006

      My nephew is allergic to wheat and wheat products, so it seems the only dessert he gets is pudding or jello. I decided to make this for his birthday "cake" - I used food coloring to "paint" the outside so as to appear frosted. What a HIT!! I've never had a Pavlova before, but I can guarantee we'll be having it quite a bit! Thank you for such a simple, easy, YUMMY dessert!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2006

      Oh my, Evie---my first pavlova, and I am hooked! I just cannot believe a few simple ingredients can result in such a heavenly dessert. I followed your directions exactly, except I did turn the oven temperature down a bit during baking as I thought it may be browning too quickly. I think it would have been fine to leave it, though--I was just nervous since this was my first experience with pavlova. I didn't have caster sugar, so I ran granulated sugar through the food processor to get it a little finer. I was tempted to add a little sugar to the whipped cream, but am glad I didn't as the simple, unsweetened cream helped offset the sweetness of the pavlova. I am so excited about this recipe and the options running through my head--I think next I will try small, individual pavlovas. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2011

      I absolutely love the taste and the texture of this pavlova - crunchy on the outside with some chewy marshmellow-like texture, and soft melt-in-the-mouth kinda texture on the inside. Heaven! However, my pavlova deflated once it has been cooled down :( Any idea how this happened? Nonetheless, 5 stars for this recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2010

      Very happy with this recipe. I really was attracted to it as several reviewers said they had success with this when they hadn't with authentic pavlova recipes. So with one failed attempt under my belt I thought this should be perfect for me. I doubled the recipe as I had 8 egg whites leftover from a batch of ice cream. But I seem to have the same yield, from looking at most of the pictures. Other change I made was using unaltered white sugar since I didn't have and caster sugar. I had no problems with removing the baking paper. Just a small layer in patches that was left on the paper. It was perfect to me in comparison to all the other pavs I've had in that it wasn't too sweet and was just crispy on the outside and so soft on the inside! I don't normally like pavlova because most of them I've had were crispy through most of it and are sickingly sweet. Thanks Evie, this will be my 'Pavlova' recipe of choice from now on, for the family recipe box!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      My bf had a pavlova craving tonight, and after trying the "supposed true" recipe, it failed, so I turned to this! I thought it looks like a normal meringue recipe at first. I put the mixture in a spring-form pan, as my first attempt (the other recipe) was really runny, I was afraid this would be too soft too. It turned out to taste and look just like Pavlova (I live in NZ) and satisfied my bf's craving. Will surely turn to this recipe again when another craving strikes! Thanks for this simple recipe! P.S. for those who have difficulty getting the pavlova off a supposed "grease-proof baking paper", don't force it, just wet the paper on the bottom (on the other side of the pav) until the moisture softens the paper (it is not completely waterproof so the paper will get wet after a while) and then the paper can be easily peeled off after it's moist. Works wonders and works everytime! Enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2008

      This was really good. But too sweet. I will make it again but reduce the sugar. Very interesting how it got it's name. It's worth a little research. check out Anna Pavlova. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2007

      Brilliant! I took this to this years Sint Nicholas party and it was a definiate hit. Sadly my photo does not do it justice as SiL has tiny indirect lighting and Dutch dark winter evenings forced me to use the flash. The pavlova did rise up amazingly in the oven but despite my best (and sadly largely unsuccessful efforts and trying to follow the instructions to the letter) to shape the mix before putting it into the oven it did collapse substantially. I also had problems to get the baking paper out from the tray undernieth it and it was clear that attempts to peel it off would end in disaster so I left it, so presentation was less that I'd hoped for. That said, everyone was so busy ooh-ing and aah-ing at the top that I don't think they even noticed. This was the first time my in-laws have had Pavlova and they were impressed by the taste and amazed that the crunchy firmer outseide was in fact the same mixture as the soft fluffy inside LOL. Please see my rating system: I would have given this 5 stars if only I could have solved the baking paper problem. The taste in wonderful and it's easy easy easy to make. Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2007

      I'm not going to rate this yet because I haven't finished making this. I made the pavlova last night and will serve it today. GaylaJ's picture is beautiful, but mine definately does not look like that. It did before I attempted to take it off the baking sheet. I tried to just take the paper off so I could then just peel it off the pavlova, but it was stuck! So as a result, mine is all broken. Is there a trick to getting it off the baking sheet and paper? Any advice would be appreciated! I tasted the bits that fell off and it tasted wonderfull!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2006

      This is a sublime dessert - and so easy! The presentation was a stellar ending to a great meal. Five stars all the way!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2005

      Wow! I have always loved Pavlova and always wanted to make one. Once I tried a recipe that turned into a complete disaster. I am a complete beginer, so I was so nervous to try this recipe. It turned out perfectly, tasted just like store bought pavlovas. Advice to other beginers, use this recipe and follow steps exactly and your pavlova will also be perfect. As for the person who said it does not follow traditional recipe and omits vinegar, cornflour and salt, I think this recipe is much better than traditional recipe because it is sweeter and doesnt have that bad taste that some pavlova recipes have. Thankyou so much Evie for posting this recipe, I now can make my favourite dessert at home cheaply and easily.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2005

      A very nice way to use up leftover egg whites. My husband said this is like having a cake without a crust. Unfortunately, I didn't have any strawberries or kiwis but I did have canned peaches and that was very nice, too. I will try your version next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2003

      This recipe is not the traditional Pavlova recipe so purists beware! It omits the water, vinegar, cornflour, vanilla essence and salt that every other NZ Pavlova recipe [including the Edmonds] I have come across possesses. So keep this in mind...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pavlova

    Serving Size: 1 (108 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 330.8
     
    Calories from Fat 167
    50%
    Total Fat 18.6 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 11.5 g
    57%
    Cholesterol 66.3 mg
    22%
    Sodium 57.9 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.0 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 35.8 g
    143%
    Protein 4.0 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites