11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Authentic Brasilian taste. Media creme can be found at Wal-Mart. We've made this several times and it always tastes great. Used lady fingers and it looked very pretty in a trifle bowl.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bethpjennings March 02, 2014

YUMMY! Super easy and super tasty. My husband and kids loved it! ...And it gets better with time - I made a bunch of ramekins of this so we had this dessert twice a few days a apart. It was great both times. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
8elbows May 01, 2009

I made this for Easter and it came out great, reminds me of key lime pie. I used coconut Maria crackers so it had a very tropical "put the lime with the coconut" flavor. It really isn't too sweet, if you like key lime pie you'll love this dessert, and it's SO EASY. Make sure you use a well chilled bowl and beaters to get the mixture to whip up.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cooking Criolla April 15, 2009

WOW! my cousin is getting married this month to a woman from brazil and we had a "farewell" dinner for him tonight. in honor of the event, i made this for dessert. i sampled the bowl after mixing, and was very skeptical that the end product would be as tasty as described by others. the cream tasted like sour, curdled milk, and i'm not exaggerating. fingers crossed, i chilled it for about 6 hours and was thrilled with the final product. it was like tiramisu meets key lime pie! not too sweet, not too sour, perfectly creamy. it was a huge hit and i will definitely make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cartroy March 09, 2009

Made for the *Best of 2008* cookbook game, DH has a spec fondness for key lime pie & I love anything lime so I made a full recipe & had just the right size pan for it (180x280 mm = 7x11 in). I used a commercial shortbread cookie that was thicker than ideal, so I broke them up a bit for the layering. I made it early in the day so it chilled all day, was *truly divine* for our dessert last nite & deserved more stars than I could give. Thx for sharing this easy-fix & lovely dessert recipe w/us. :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twissis March 04, 2009

Awesome dessert! Easy, tasty, perfect. My husband was crazy for it as his birthday cake. Now he wants it every day. I imagine that by adding something like gelatin, it might be made stiff enough to hold it's shape when using a spring-form pan. It could be very beautiful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
violetllex September 30, 2008

This was delicious! I made it as a dessert for a latin-themed dinner which consisted of stuffed bell peppers and chips & homemade salsa. Since I was making it for two (and wanted some leftovers) I cut this recipe in half. For the cookies, I used "Marias" which can be found in the ethnic foods/Latin foods aisle. They were perfect for this dish. I didn't want to make them too soggy, so I only dipped them in the milk for a second. This is definitely a dessert that needs to be chilled in the fridge for an hour before it is really enjoyed!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nush7 June 29, 2008

I saw this recipe and dreamed about it, and then while i was making it i was VERY skeptical - but it turned out great after refrigerating!! Like a fancy layer cake that tastes oh-so-good. My mom says it tastes like a key lime pie. Nice and refreshing, not heavy at all...cant wait to make it for a party or something!! Oh, i used what i would call tea biscuits or butter biscuits - not too sweet, but definitely not a savory cracker, and pretty thin. (i also used fat free sweetened condensed milk)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leb25 May 30, 2008

What a wonderful dessert! Cool and creamy and not too sweet, with a wonderful lime flavor. I used "Lorna Doone" cookies (shortbread) and they were perfect. Thanks for posting this cool, fresh, delicious treat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof May 04, 2008

I admit I was suspicious of it being billed as "not too sweet". After all, you use a whole can of sweetened condensed milk! But it is in fact just as advertised. Cool ,creamy and tart with a wonderful flavor! I can't wait to serve this to guests at my next cookout! Made for PAC Spring 2008

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ma Field May 02, 2008
Pavê De Limão