10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have made this a few times as its a visually stunning dessert for special occasions. I go a little heavy on the SoCo sprinkling and just fold the whipped cream into the pumpkin mixture to save the hassle of making an extra layer and it turns out just fine. This recipe feeds an ARMY, when they say it serves 20, that's 20 with huge appetites. I will say the taste is subtle, its good but isn't mind blowing amazing. It always is a hit and its not nearly as dense as some holiday desserts so it is a nice change.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meghan December 27, 2010

I can't believe I haven't left a review after making this dessert for 4 years. It's absolutely memorably delicious! Truth is, I can eat this until I'm green it is so good. It is requested for all potlucks at church and I half the recipe to make for my family throughout the holiday season. You don't have to go to the added expense of sherry or even the gingersnaps for that matter (I save a little of the gingerbread and crumble on top instead.) Yum Yum Yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Lady November 25, 2010

I have made this several times and it's wonderful.Very easy to make.It's better made one day ahead of time so the flavors can develope and it's nice and cold.I made this for our last block party,everyone loved it and asked for the recipe.There were no left overs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gale 57 August 06, 2010

I have made this a few times and it is absolutely delicious! People always ask me if I am planning to bring it to holiday gatherings. Definately a keeper and will be made many, many more times!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nurseytype May 02, 2010

The gingerbread and pudding can be made several days ahead, along with a non-deflating, real whipped cream substitute for the artificial whipped topping--"Never Weep" Whipped Cream recipe 74805 . I just took them out of the fridge (I chilled the pumpkin pie filling along with them) to do the quick and easy mixing and assembly. I used a punch bowl, along with the punch bowl cups (you can decorate the rim & use the cup hangers for a nice presentation). The cups are a perfect-sized serving for the end of a typically large Thanksgiving or Christmas meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dawn November 25, 2009

Although it was simple to make there was a lot of preparation time needed. It makes a lot so it is great for a crowd.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JulieCHopp November 03, 2007

This is soooo good. My sister made this for Thanksgiving and I would rather have this than pumpkin pie!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lacy S. December 15, 2006

GREAT recipe! I was told by a non-pumpkin fan that this was wonderful. (Always a good sign of a great dessert!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amanda_05 November 28, 2005

i made this recipe with one container of cool whip. the second time i made it i used 2 containers and it made it less gummy in texture. definitely better with 2

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandabears March 11, 2005

Although I have never made this recipe, I have eaten it, do this review is on taste only. It is very rich and yummy. It makes quite a large triffle, so be sure that your bowl is large.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jellyqueen December 26, 2004
Paula's Pumpkin Gingerbread Trifle