28 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was as delicious as it was easy! I steamed the broccoli, but it would be even better with roasted broccoli. I used four cans of evaporated milk. Next time I'll use evaporated skim milk. I cut the butter to 5 tablespoons. I think it could be cut further to 3 tablespoons with no loss of flavor. I used Tony Chachere's cajun seasoning instead of Lawry's. I WILL prepare this regularly. Yum!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diannejm May 10, 2009

This soup was very tasty! It was easy to make and me and my husband loved eating it. I added 5 instead of 6 spoons of butter to make it a little healthier and I used 1% milk and it still tasted amazing! I really like there is no cheese in this soup. I thought I would need to add some but it truly didn't need it! Thanks for sharing this keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharbear23 December 01, 2013

This was really good! I added 1 teaspoon of ground dill seed and 1 tablespoon of lemon juice in a double batch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mudpie November 26, 2012

Delicious!! We just finished this for dinner tonight. I used Fresh Broccoli instead of frozen, since i had a lot. I just steamed it a few minutes. For the sauce, I did as directed, except I used Chicken "Better than Bouillon" base instead of the cubes. And I didn't have any seasoning salt, so I found a recipe for a substitute and whipped up a version of that. And then I added 2 slices of American Cheese. My mom always put cheese in her's, but I didn't want to use much. It added just enough flavor/texture to be perfect.

It was one of the best Cream of Broccoli Soups I've had (including restaurants), and by far, the best I've made at HOME. Definitely a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BusyB November 10, 2011

Very good, even with my didn't watch it enough so it scorched a touch cooking method! My 7 year old told me it "was not bad," but the 3 year old ate half a bowl, which is something lately! I did add a bit more seasoned salt (Johnny's cause it's the best!) and I put a touch of sour cream and a light sprinkle of shredded cheese in my bowl. Yummy! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Roachie October 27, 2011

YUUUMMMM I cant believe how easy & delicious this was!! I enjoy cooking & was going to doctor this recipe up a little but decided to just leave it and it came out perfect!! Wait no... I lied... Lol~ I did add a little garlic powder. Awesome Awesome!!! Try it! :) happy cooking.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachaelcooks April 29, 2011

OH MY! This soup is fabulous, delicious, oh so good!! I'll be making this again and again, no doubt! I followed the directions exactly, but took a couple reviewers advice and added 3 gloves of garlic, and increased the seasoning salt to 1 tsp. Oh, and I used fresh broccoli instead of frozen. I can not wait for leftovers today!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FoodLover360 April 23, 2010

My family groaned when I told them I was making this. They were extremely happy when they finished their first bowl! I didn't have frozen broccoli so I steamed 4 cups fresh and saved the water to put in with the broccoli in a blender (I like it less chunky). I used 1% mlik and some 1/2 and 1/2. I didn't have any bouillon cubes (used the chicken broth powder - I suppose it's the same - just a different form - 3 tsp.) I had the cheese out to add but it absolutely did not need it. This was definitely the best broccoli soup. Thank you, Paula!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrscat April 12, 2010

Awesome! Had both fresh broccoli and cauliflower that I steam the day before to use in the soup followed the remaining instructions and it could not have turned out better. Thanks Paula.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rowechc February 02, 2010

Our new family favorite!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MicheleE November 09, 2009
Paula's Cream of Broccoli Soup