Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Paula's Cream of Broccoli Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Paula's Cream of Broccoli Soup

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on May 10, 2009

      This was as delicious as it was easy! I steamed the broccoli, but it would be even better with roasted broccoli. I used four cans of evaporated milk. Next time I'll use evaporated skim milk. I cut the butter to 5 tablespoons. I think it could be cut further to 3 tablespoons with no loss of flavor. I used Tony Chachere's cajun seasoning instead of Lawry's. I WILL prepare this regularly. Yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2013

      This soup was very tasty! It was easy to make and me and my husband loved eating it. I added 5 instead of 6 spoons of butter to make it a little healthier and I used 1% milk and it still tasted amazing! I really like there is no cheese in this soup. I thought I would need to add some but it truly didn't need it! Thanks for sharing this keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2012

      This was really good! I added 1 teaspoon of ground dill seed and 1 tablespoon of lemon juice in a double batch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2011

      Delicious!! We just finished this for dinner tonight. I used Fresh Broccoli instead of frozen, since i had a lot. I just steamed it a few minutes. For the sauce, I did as directed, except I used Chicken "Better than Bouillon" base instead of the cubes. And I didn't have any seasoning salt, so I found a recipe for a substitute and whipped up a version of that. And then I added 2 slices of American Cheese. My mom always put cheese in her's, but I didn't want to use much. It added just enough flavor/texture to be perfect.

      It was one of the best Cream of Broccoli Soups I've had (including restaurants), and by far, the best I've made at HOME. Definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2011

      Very good, even with my didn't watch it enough so it scorched a touch cooking method! My 7 year old told me it "was not bad," but the 3 year old ate half a bowl, which is something lately! I did add a bit more seasoned salt (Johnny's cause it's the best!) and I put a touch of sour cream and a light sprinkle of shredded cheese in my bowl. Yummy! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2011

      YUUUMMMM I cant believe how easy & delicious this was!! I enjoy cooking & was going to doctor this recipe up a little but decided to just leave it and it came out perfect!! Wait no... I lied... Lol~ I did add a little garlic powder. Awesome Awesome!!! Try it! :) happy cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2010

      OH MY! This soup is fabulous, delicious, oh so good!! I'll be making this again and again, no doubt! I followed the directions exactly, but took a couple reviewers advice and added 3 gloves of garlic, and increased the seasoning salt to 1 tsp. Oh, and I used fresh broccoli instead of frozen. I can not wait for leftovers today!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2010

      My family groaned when I told them I was making this. They were extremely happy when they finished their first bowl! I didn't have frozen broccoli so I steamed 4 cups fresh and saved the water to put in with the broccoli in a blender (I like it less chunky). I used 1% mlik and some 1/2 and 1/2. I didn't have any bouillon cubes (used the chicken broth powder - I suppose it's the same - just a different form - 3 tsp.) I had the cheese out to add but it absolutely did not need it. This was definitely the best broccoli soup. Thank you, Paula!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2010

      Awesome! Had both fresh broccoli and cauliflower that I steam the day before to use in the soup followed the remaining instructions and it could not have turned out better. Thanks Paula.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2009

      Our new family favorite!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2009

      Excellent! Everybody loved this. I used fresh broccoli and just put it directly into the soup to cook instead of cooking it first. Next time I would cut back on salt or bouillon cubes. Maybe 2 instead of 3. It was a tad salty, but sooo good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2009

    • on April 09, 2009

      This soup was great, and it was so easy to make. I only used 4 cups of milk because I wanted a thicker soup, but I think it would have been better with the full amount. When I added the broccoli I pureed it with my immersion blender. Next time I might add some cheese to the soup. I'll definitely be making this again sometime. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2009

      This was quit a hit in our house. They asked me to make it again only a couple days after I made the first batch. My daughter said this is the best Broccoli soup she's had.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2008

      Delicious! I put in a whole teaspoon of pepper and of seasoning salt and used some fresh broccoli I just nuked... Next time, I think I'll use a whole onion!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2008

      We made a lot of changes, so I don't feel right giving this recipe any stars :) We added about one cup of cheddar cheese, we used two heads of fresh broccoli, and an entire stick of butter (I didn't feel like measuring), and some red chili powder. Thank you Paula for providing us with an excellent jumping off point for Cream of Broccoli Soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2008

      This soup was easy and tastes fantastic! Thank you so much for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2008

      I added some garlic instead of onion, but it was delicious. I also used a heaping 1/2 teas. of seasoning salt, and found that it was a little too strong for my tastes, but the recipe itself was really easy, quick, and a huge hit with the DH.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2008

      OMG Paula!!! This was absolutely the best of the best! We thought we had the best at a restaurant called Sammy's in Pitts. We had it there and I came home and found yours. Even better! Did have to use a few subs tho. Didn't have the bouillon so I used 1 tbls chicken base. I also used 1 tsp lawry's and 3 cloves garlic. (garlic lovers here ) And I didn't have enough milk so I used the full amount of half and half. Thanks so much for posting this amazing recipe!....carmen

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2008

      I was very pleased with this recipe. I had everything needed on hand, and the only change I'd say is the full teaspoon of the seasoning salt another reviewer mentioned. Otherwise this is great. I loved that this version did not have cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Paula's Cream of Broccoli Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (335 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 326.9
     
    Calories from Fat 202
    61%
    Total Fat 22.5 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 13.8 g
    69%
    Cholesterol 67.6 mg
    22%
    Sodium 821.8 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.3 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    11%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 11.0 g
    22%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites