12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

So moist so good! I put some whole pecans in the bottom of the pan before I put the batter in. It looked nice when I took it out of the pan. In step 5 the sugar mixture did not stick to the top/bottom of the cake very well when turned out. Next time I may try raw sugar and put it in the bottom of the pan before the batter goes in. My cake was done in 50 minutes. Made for *Cake a Thon in Memory of Chef I Am* 2007

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J December 27, 2007

This is a great cake. I especially love the sweet taste of the cinnamon, sugar and pecans you put on top, or actually bottom of the cake. Will make again. Oh, I almost forgot to mention the wonderful smell this cake has when it's baking, WOW it filled the house.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
True Texas August 13, 2007

I made this as a treat last night for my children because they cleaned the house! What a fabulous, easy recipe this was. It went together easily and quickly. I used Baking Spice - Copycat Pampered Chef Cinnamon Plus Mix Pampered Chef Baking Spice instead of the cinnamon called for and it was wonderful....it intensified the spice flavor of the whole cake. I barely let the cake cool enough before taking the first slice. Pure heaven. This morning, I noticed 3/4 of the cake was gone. Definitely a winner! I will be making this again and remembering Amy with each and every bite.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shawna Landers June 05, 2007

loved the fact that this cake is so easy to throw together and does not even remotely taste that it is so easy. does not taste like it started out with a cake mix. the sour cream and pudding mix make it really rich and luscious and the pecans and cinnamon really add an intense taste and texture to the cake. i did use cannola oil because that is what i had on hand. wish i could thank amy for posting this great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandabears May 16, 2007

I love this cakr..just like a soc it to me cake except for spice cake mix. I make at least twice a month, my family loves it. Thanks for posting...I like using the spice cake mix!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cinda37363 January 14, 2012

I had to mod this recipe a little- I didn't have the correct pan so i just used a 9"x13" square pan. I also omitted the nuts (because I don't care for them), used greek yogurt instead of sour cream, and olive oil (that's all I had). This is a delicious recipe, it's very similar to a coffee cake and tastes wonderful even when reheated for breakfast or a snack the next day. The only issue I had was the cooking time- mine was done after 30 mins and probably could have been pulled a little sooner (it was staring to get dry), but that could have been the pan I used so I won't reflect that in the rating. Very delicious recipe, will definitely make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kerry G July 26, 2010

Very good. I left out the nuts, but other than that made as written.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 January 18, 2010

Absolutely a terrific-tasting cake. Wouldn't change a thing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Molly53 December 29, 2009

Great recipe! I found Pumpkin Spice pudding mix and used that, it turned out great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grits7579 December 17, 2009

Very moist and delicious. My coworkers loved it. I'm sure I'll be making it again, especially during the holidays.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Raichka July 30, 2009
Paula Deen's Spicy Cinnamon Cake