Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Paula Deen's Slow Cooker Macaroni and Cheese Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Paula Deen's Slow Cooker Macaroni and Cheese

    Average Rating:

    119 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 119

    Sort by:

    • on September 16, 2009

      there is absolutely no need for dirtying another pot! I boiled the noodles for about 5 minutes, then just mixed everything cold in the crock pot (a double batch), threw it in the fridge overnight and heated it in the morning for a lunch potluck. we haven't eaten yet but I stole a bite and it's AMAZING. gooey, stringy, creamy perfection and not sticking to the pot at all thanks to the butter. I added a chunk of shredded gruyere with the cheddar for a little fondue-y taste, used skim milk, lite sour cream and the stick "ICBINT for baking" (losing the caloric battle with all that cheese, but every little bit helps!), and I also omitted the eggs (because I forgot to buy them). definitely never use bagged shredded cheese in recipes like this - they coat it with an anti-caking agent to prevent sticking together but it also prevents nice creamy melting. this is superb though; try it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      It was very good...hard to find a good mac and cheese recipe that turns out not dried out! I did use FRESH grated cheese as the bagged stuff gets gummy when you melt it with butter. I also used an extra 3/4 c cheese on the top the last half hour to keep the moisture in and make it look like a casserole. Great flavors!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2009

      Very yummy! I skipped the eggs and next time will half the mustard.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2009

      OK, Im anothe one that is going to make a whole new recipe from this, so here it is....used whole box of shells, 3 cups cheddar, 1 egg, twice the milk.....boiled shells 3 min............next time i will add 2 cans of soup..............this was wonderful..............

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2009

      This was pretty good, though I had to make a few changes. I made sure to use very sharp cheddar cheese, and ended up using about twice the amount of milke listed as it was soaked up fast. I also didn't have a can of cream of cheddar soup, but I did have a can of ceam of onion and it gave it a nice little zing. Also I added a little garlic poweder and cayenne pepper for extra heat. Was very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2009

      I make this for family reunions. There is never any leftovers. I do add the eggs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2009

      This Mac and Cheese is so wonderful! I have made it three times, and I find that when I use a whole box of elbows(about 3 and a half cups) leave out the eggs as recommended and not melt the cheese in a sauce pan, instead add the soup and other ingredients to the crock pot, then the cooked elbows and then the cheese and butter on top, stir it up and cook it for 2.5 hours it is perfect for us! This is a great recipe, thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2009

      This was really creamy and cheesy. Making in the crockpot gives it a more creamy texture. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2009

      I made this for a party of 40 ppl and adjusted the amounts to suit the recipe, but it was amazing and rich and was practically gone! I would definitely make this everyday (if it weren't for the calories!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2009

      Very good macaroni and cheese. I made this for a work function and it was gone in minutes. I made this twice, the first time I followed the directions exactly but I did omit the eggs. The second time, I made a few changes. I sprayed my crock pot with Pam, then added all ingredients (except noodles) directly to the crock pot. Next I boiled one full pound of elbow noodles for 6 minutes, drained them, and added to crock pot. As I stirred the hot noodles, the cheese and butter melted. I used 1% milk, low fat sour cream, and again omitted the eggs. The result was just as good as the first batch. This is a wonderful quick recipe. I would also recommend using a crock pot liner (if available) for quick clean-up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      I made this just as directed, but the sauce came out rather dry and congealed. I checked it every half hour in the crockpot and it was nice and creamy, but at the 2-hour mark I opened up the crockpot lid and the sauce was very thick and was separating even though I had the temp on low. Once I added some extra hot milk and stirred it into the finished dish, the taste was good, however.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2009

      This came out amazing!!!! I made three changes, but nothing major. I used 3 beaten eggs and low fat sour cream and 1% milk. I mixed up the cheese mix in a sauce pan, cooked the macoroni and then dumped everything into a ziplock bag and stuck it in the fridge with directions. My daughter put it all into the crock pot when she got home from school and by the time I was home from work (3 hours later) dinner was ready. It tasted identical to and had the same consistency as my Nanas homemade mac and cheese. Don't forget to put the stewed tomatoes on the side. This recipe is a winner! One last note, I couldn't find my dried mustard so I left it out. edit 1/08 I made this in the oven at 350 for 35 min (til lightly browned) and it was awesome too! I boiled the macaroni a bit longer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2008

    • on December 13, 2008

      I made this for Thanksgiving and it was very good. It is easy to make and I made it as written (with the omission of the eggs). I didnt find it bland at all. Thank You! I will use this again soon I am sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2008

      According to my kids....THIS IS THE BEST MAC N' CHEESE they've ever had. It was moist and so creamy and not dried out at all. I did double the recipe, cause my kids just love mac n'cheese, but I only added 3 eggs, and it still came out wonderful!! Thanks for sharing this recipe....this is a definite keeper for every holiday.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2008

      I don't know what these other people are talking about with the "bland" taste. This mac and cheese is wonderful! We made this for my daughter's first birthday party (minus the eggs), and all the kids loved it, as did the adults! We used a full pound of mac, as some others had mentioned, but if you do, you need to be sure to stir it at least every twenty minutes, otherwise you will have a hard-to-clean crock, and not-so-creamy mac. Today we used slightly less and stirred it frequently, and it turned out great! Also, we used white pepper so you wouldn't see it. Definitely NOT a fix-it & forget-it, but worth the effort!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      I loved this, it had a little bit of a bland taste, but is much better with salt added

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2008

      Yumm!!! Everyone at my party was eatting this up. I did not have milk so substited more sour cream and still turned out good. Defeintely recomend this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2008

      We loved this! It was easy and super delicious! My son said it was the best mac and cheese he had ever had.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2008

      This had a great flavor! I usually do the BC recipe w/ half velveeta (AMAZING) but I really wanted something not as rich, but still creamy smooth - this fit the bill! I am not sure why the directions say to melt the cheese on the stove ... I did it but must have overcooked it because it became one big ball of cheese that I practically had to cut apart! oops! But even so, it melted beautifully together in the crockpot and had wonderful flavor. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Paula Deen's Slow Cooker Macaroni and Cheese

    Serving Size: 1 (114 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 273.9
     
    Calories from Fat 159
    58%
    Total Fat 17.7 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 10.6 g
    53%
    Cholesterol 94.2 mg
    31%
    Sodium 488.1 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.8 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 11.7 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites