Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Paula Deen's Praline French Toast Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Paula Deen's Praline French Toast Casserole

    Average Rating:

    38 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 38

    Sort by:

    • on April 05, 2010

      This was a HIT this morning!!! It wasn't too sweet and was so fast and easy to make! If maple syrup were cheaper, I'd make it every weekend! I used day old store-bought French bread, cut into 15 slices. I layered it a 9x13 glass casserole dish (3 rows of 5 slices). I added a tsp of vanilla and some cinnamon and nutmeg (eyeballed the amount) into the egg mixture. Instead of 2 cups of pecans, I cut it down to 1/2 cup and it was the perfect amount. I posted a picture of my casserole to show how I layered it. I would have liked to garnish it with powdered sugar. I served this with sausage patties and fresh sliced strawberries. This is a keeper! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2009

      I only had enough bread to make a half recipe, and since I didn't have a small enough casserole dish, I crumbled the bread into the batter and spooned the mixture into well-greased muffin tins. I filled the cups 2/3 full with the batter, then divided the topping among them. Half a batch makes about 8-10 muffins, and the cooking time is around 35-40 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2013

      Aznbbdoll , Easy to make your own maple syrup.<br/>Just water, sugar and maple flavoring.<br/>Cheaper than purchasing maple syrup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2013

      Excellent recipe. Served with cream on top- yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2013

      My daughter made this for a brunch and I enjoyed it. She gave me the recipe to take home. It took me awhile before I decided to make it. I remember I wasn't too pleased with the sliced french bread...so i cubed my french bread and followed the directions as stated in the recipe. (day old bread works better than fresh) This is fantastic for breakfast. My DSO and I get 3 days worth of breakfasts out of this. It is rich, but we don't need anything over it such as maple syrup. Terrific as is. Thanks for the recipe Barb

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2012

      I'm a bit unsure of this dish...I made it by the recipe except I used 1 cup of walnuts instead of pecans and added a bit of vanilla to it. It smelled amazing and looked beautiful...that is about the only great thing about it. I It baked hard on top, and soggy on the bottom. It was also far too sweet as well. I thought maybe I did something wrong but I think it is lacking some ingredients, has a far too much sugar in it, and the baking instructions are also a bit off(maybe cover with foil?). This is labeled as a Paula Deen recipe but couldn't find this exact recipe to compare on her website. Needless to say I was quite disappointed but I do see the potential in this recipe...its just not at a 5 stars yet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2011

      Way too many pecans, but delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2011

      Yum, Yum, Yum! This was really good. I only made 3 slices for myself and layered them in a small glass pan. Pieces that overlapped each other did not get brown and crispy, still good though. Next time I'll put them in a larger pan where each piece will lay flat separately. I followed recipe exactly as written and would not change a thing; no need to try improving on something that doesn't need improving. I will be making this over and over again. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2010

      Wowie - what an easy and great recipe!!! It was a wonderful additon to a sunday brunch! I did add 1 tes. vanilla and 1/2 tes. of cinnamon in the custard and also 1 tes of vanilla in the topping. I used texas toast - which is a thick type of bread. I've made this twice and the second time i used whole milk in place of half and half and it was still amazing... and i figured i saved a ton of calories too! I'm bringing this to xmas dinner as a dessert and plan to pop it in the oven when we sit down to dinner... and i'll be serving it with french vanilla ice cream... YUM!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      I used a non stick pan and greased it thoughly but it still was very hard to serve. The pralines were great but it is not french toast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2010

      The aroma in my house was wonderful. I cut the soaking ingredients by half because I did not want to risk a soggy casserole but I went all the way on the topping ingredients. I used only 8 slices of thick cut bread (that's all I had) The results were fabulous! The toast was not soggy and the topping was crunchy. I also added 1 1/2 tablespoons flour and 1 tablespoon cinnamon to the topping and combined it with the butter/maple syrup. I think that this gave it a cinnabon/french toast twist! I sprinkled powdered sugar and topped with a cherry. Fabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      This is my day to review all of the favorites I have discovered in the last few months. Regarding this one, using an old Southern phrase " this recipe will make you want you "slap your momma." Serve this for breakfast or brunch, or dessert, and folks will think you are a genius. Absolutely faabulous....and your Momma will want it too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      Great - next time I'll use a little less sugar. Squeezed 8 slices of french bread into the pan, thought it wouldn't be enough for my family, but this is so rich I had leftovers Easy and great with sausage.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2009

      The best! So very easy and people pleasing! Gotta try it to believe it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2009

      This made for a very special breakfast for DH and I. We love trying different things for breakfast and this one really did it for us! I can't wait to serve it to company!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      Made this for a special Family Brunch. It got "rave" reviews. They all loved it & several wrote down the recipe before leaving. My only problem was the butter from the topping boiled all over the oven. So next time I'll try to cut down the butter a bit in the topping. Pecans also got a little too browned, so the suggestion of covering with foil for last 10-15 min. should help that. With all these calories, this is for special occasions - but so well worth it!..thanks...Cathy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2009

      I made this at my DD's for Sunday breakfast. It was made with fresh baked Challah. The finished product was topped off with fresh peaches that had been sprinkled with cinnamon and nutmeg. Made a yummy breakfast treat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2009

      I made this for a brunch and it was wonderful!! Everyone loved it! The best thing was that it was not too sweet like these casseroles often are. The only thing I did different was to reduce the brown sugar to 1/3 cup in the topping... it was perfect! Thank you for posting, I'll be making this again for sure!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2009

      I looked up Paula's recipe on Food Network and this one is missing a lot of ingredients. Mainly what makes it stellar such as French Bread and the seasonings. Such as vanilla, cinnamon, nutmeg, salt, etc. I prefer Paula's original recipe much more as it doesn't even call for brown sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      I didn't think this was that great. It was okay, but I am not sure it's worth the calories. I will keep it in my cookbook for something different but will look for a wow recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Paula Deen's Praline French Toast Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (230 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 693.0
     
    Calories from Fat 379
    54%
    Total Fat 42.1 g
    64%
    Saturated Fat 14.0 g
    70%
    Cholesterol 233.2 mg
    77%
    Sodium 361.7 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 70.7 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 48.7 g
    194%
    Protein 12.6 g
    25%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes