18 Reviews

This was a very flavorful roast. I did make some technique changes to the posted recipe..After searing the roast on the stovetop and removing it to the crockpot, I deglazed the pan with the wine..I wasn't about to lose those yummy crusty pieces left. Also, I mixed the beef base (I use that instead of bouillon cubes), garlic, soup, and the deglazing wine together before pouring over the roast, onions and bay leaves. I did NOT add any extra water to this because I knew from experience that the roast would release quite a bit of its own juices. The result was a rich, flavorful gravy not watered down at all. I served this with mashed potatoes, steamed peas, and dinner rolls for a comfort food feast. DH loved it and I have two meals worth of leftovers in the freezer. Always a plus for a busy cook. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
16Paws November 22, 2008

This was delicious! I didn't use wine but otherwise followed the recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iris5555 December 16, 2011

I am generally not a fan of chuck roasts, so didn't have high hopes for this recipe. I was very, very wrong. It turned a cheap cut into fall apart tender, flavorful meat. Does it really matter what type wine is used? From the reviews, perhaps not. I used the cheap red wine that's been sitting in our fridge. I also followed 16Paw's suggestion to use beef base instead of boullion, deglaze the frying pan with the wine and add no water to the mix. That worked well. This is one pot roast that will be made again. Thanks, Marie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyfingers July 20, 2010

BEST. POT.ROAST. EVER. Have made twice with rave reviews. I use RED wine instead of white. I don't cover with water, either, just like the other person said, and it makes a nice thickish gravy. Easy and delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Niesgirl February 19, 2010

Easy to follow recipe. I, too, use beef broth instead of bullion cubes. And throwing in a bit more of Chardonnay doesn't hurt either! I've never had to use water and it still turns out great. My roast always turns out tender and delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Domestic ala Diva October 13, 2009

WOW...who would've thought it! I had a near 2# chuck roast (boneless) that I was pondering for dinner...followed the recipe except cooked mine in a cast iron "kettle" on 250 for 3 hours...meat literally fell apart. I did add 3/4 # of baby raw carrots and 1 cup of frozen peas after the baking. Finished on high simmer for 20 minutes on stovetop to cook carrots. Served with oven roasted red potatoes. My two yr old was begging for more! WIll definately serve again and again! Thanks Marie & Paula!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
baldwin bistro October 14, 2008

I had a can of this soup in the pantry so I used it up. Served this over brown rice. I would make my own soup next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea January 27, 2008

decent flavor but way to watery for me. Will try making again but with less liquid.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
herbr January 04, 2008

I've made this many times, and its fabulous. Followed recipe to the letter. Meat is always tender and the gravy is to die for. I serve this with wide egg noodles, green salad and crusty bread to get every drop of gravy. delish

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie B. August 30, 2007

This was good, I used Cream Of Mushroom Soup for the mushroom soup and I used Paula Deen's House Seasoning Mix. I omitted the wine since we didn't have any around the house. We thought 3 bay leaves was alittle to much for our taste but it was still good.Thanks for sharing the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marsha D. April 08, 2007
Paula Deen's Pot Roast