Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Paula Deen's Layered Mexican Cornbread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Paula Deen's Layered Mexican Cornbread

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on February 18, 2009

      I made this into sort of a mexican pot pie, by putting a browned mix of onion, peppers, and black beans with spices (mainly garlic, cumin, and chili powder) in the bottom of a 9x13 pan (in future I will also add tomatoes; the beans could be subbed for chicken, too). I followed that with a light layer of shredded cheese, then the cornbread part, followed by a bit more cheese. I changed the cornbread part just a bit: using whole wheat flour and 3 egg whites. I took the milk option but also added a bit of powdered milk to the dry ingredients to enrich it. I baked it for about 35 minutes, which I think was just about right (I had thinner cornbread stuff, but more moisture, than would be in the regular recipe). To my immense surprise and delight, the whole thing worked really well. The little bit of cheese on top made a tasty, slightly baked-cheese-flavored crust. The flavor of the cornbread is just great, and it was moist and had a nice texture. I'm not using stars since I made so many changes, but this is obviously a really solid recipe. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2008

      Loved this! I used Pepper Jack cheese in place of the Cheddar cheese. Will make again and again! Thanks Kittencal! Tony

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      Delicious! We enjoyed this as a side to our steak this evening. I used a can of chopped green chiles in place of the jalapenos. Thank you for posting the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2014

      The best cornbread I've ever made! I didn't have any reg corn so I added a couple of slices of crumbled bacon to the middle cheese layer. I also made 2 batches - one with jalapenos and one without for the kids. FYI - I forgot the oil in the kids batter and it was still very moist without the extra fat. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2014

      It all started with one ripe avocado and what to have for dinner. A search of food.com came up with Mexican Bean Hotpot, but I didn't fancy rice with it and thought what about Cornbread. I've never made it before and this recipe sounded nice!! Wow was I right with that decision. This cornbread is light, tasteful and extremely moreish. I had to make a couple of wee changes. For a start my daughter (27 yrs old) had used up the last of the cheese and not told me. So I sub'ed with a small amount of freshly grated Parmesan Cheese which helped keep down the calories too. I used fat reduced milk in place for the cream / milk combo. Not sure how long I cooked it for as I forget to put on the timer and had to keep checking it. I suspect it took longer than 35 minutes to cook. When I make it again I'll try omitting the sugar. With the sweetness from the creamed sweetcorn, I don't think the extra sugar is required. A fabulous recipe that I'm pleased to have discovered.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2014

      Really good. Moist. Doesn't rely on buying a packet of cornbread or corn muffin mix which is important for us as Australian stores don't carry it. Will stop trying new recipes now....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2014

      We had a chili day at work and so I made this recipe for the first time at 6:00 am that morning. It was very well received. I am not surprised as you cannot go wrong with one of Paula's recipes. It did not last very long at the chili luncheon I can assure you. I will post a photo also. Now... go make some cornbread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2013

      Wonderful recipe. Had this at my cousins my husband said he wanted more but did not want to make a pig of himself and has asked me to make it at home. Way to go Paula we love you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2013

      Made this tonight with white chicken chili and it was a hit! Cooked in a 9x9 for exactly 45 minutes and was cooked perfect amount. I left out the creamed corn and doubled the amount of kernel corn. Also used self rising cornmeal so used a cup and a half and omitted the flour and baking powder. Will certainly make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2013

      My whole family loved this. So very moist and easy to make. Will definitely make again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2013

      Soooo awesomely good!! Goes great with chili, shephard's pie, etc.... Moist and flavorful! Easy to make! Try it tonight!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2013

      Seriously, this is the BEST Mexican cornbread I have ever made. My husband went back for thirds! I only put one jalapeno in the mixture, excluding the seeds and membranes. It was not spicy for us. In fact, my husband said it could have been a little more spicy..........as he went back for thirds! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2013

      haven?t tasted it yet, but it smells amazing! I put the batter into a cupcake-pan to get cute little cupcake-ish cornbread :)
      I didnt have any jalapeno at home so I just put aged cheddar in it.
      Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2012

      This was the best cornbread recipe I've ever tasted! I did make a few adjustments, though. I only had self-rising cornmeal, so I just used 1 1/2 cups of that and left out the flour and baking powder. I also used one can of chopped green chilies instead of jalapenos and pepper jack cheese instead of just cheddar. It was so moist and delicious that I had a hard time stopping after two pieces! I will never make any other recipe again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2010

      Delicious!! I just mixed the jalapeno in the batter and layered the cheese. YUM!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      We had this with spicy ribs and coleslaw. We loved the Mexican influence in this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2010

      I made this to accompany chili and it was very good although I had a problem with the cooking time. I baked it in an 8X8 Pyrex glass baking pan and adjusted the temperature to 325. It took forever to bake and I finally just took it out of the oven because I was convinced it would be overcooked on the edges! It was still a little moist after well over an hour in the oven. Next time I will use a larger pan so it isn't quite so thick and also not reduce the temperature in the oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

    • on February 13, 2009

      I made this in a 9" x 9" glass Pyrex baking dish, and I had the same experience as a couple of other reviewers in that the cornbread was far from done at 35 min. I recommend at least an additional 15 min. Also, make sure to grease the baking dish very well. The cornbread was very moist and tasted great. Next time I make this, however, I think I'll sub hot diced green chili for the jalapeno to suit personal tastes. I served this with turkey chili. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2009

      This cornbread is the perfect addition to our chili! We have had it a few times now and it is fast becoming a new favorite for us! Great with Taco Soup too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Paula Deen's Layered Mexican Cornbread

    Serving Size: 1 (119 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 9

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 316.6
     
    Calories from Fat 153
    48%
    Total Fat 17.0 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 10.0 g
    50%
    Cholesterol 85.8 mg
    28%
    Sodium 584.1 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.7 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 5.0 g
    20%
    Protein 10.0 g
    20%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes