Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Paula Deen's Jamie's Coconut Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Paula Deen's Jamie's Coconut Cake

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on November 14, 2010

      Went to a friends for a small gathering and the host made this cake. If this is not the best then it is one of the best homemade cakes I've ever eaten. I threw some in the freezer and it was even better frozen. I will attempt to make this cake. SUPER MOIST and NOT SICKINGLY SWEET!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2012

      There is something special about a "true" Southern coconut cake, they are dense and fluffy at the same time and hard to describe. If you've had one, you know what I mean. They are not meant to be "light and airy" like a box mix, and when you find the perfect mix it is heaven. This cake is the closest I have ever come to actually baking one myself. Follow the directions carefully, Use the self rising flour, find the best coconut cream you can buy (go for the higher sugar content listed on the can, I think after reading most of these reviews a lot of problems are caused by using the wrong kind of coconut cream). Tips for runny icing: This is basically a homemade "marshmallow fluff" recipe meant to Hold the coconut, add sweetness, and a bit of moisture. Made up of eggs and sugar, a lot will depend on the size of your eggs, It should set while you are cooking. Don't expect it to get thicker after it cools If it's a little runny sprinkle a tiny bit more of Cream of Tartar and keep on mixing until it stiffens up a bit. I used aluminum cake pans and kept a close eye not to over bake, refrigerate for full 3 days. Not dry at all. and close to perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2011

      Follow the directions EXACTLY. I stupidly used cake flour and found myself with a 25 lb cake to frost. Frosting was runny but delicious. I will try this one again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2009

      My daughter requested this for her birthday. I was reluctant at first since I don't like self rising flour, and someone said the cake was hard to cut. Well, the cake is as light as angel wings, and delicious. I brought it to an Optimist luncheon meeting, and friends were picking at the crumbs. Needless to say, it will be made again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      This is the first time that I made a coconut cake by myself. I made two and both turned out great. I remember helping my grandmother bake when I was very young.This one is as good as the one's my Grandmother made. This is a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      made this coconut cake using recipe from paula deens christmas cook book , there is a mistake in the printing for frosting[1/3 cup water was omitted] made it twice same results, very grainey. could not use , called my sister that had made it using the receipe from internet, which turned out wonderful . just a small error but caused a lot of time and expense.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2008

      I LOVE coconut cake. But this was sooo dense family did not care for it. I did like it, but did not love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2008

      i can't believe i hadn't rated this previously! I don't care that much for coconut or paula dean for that matter, but THIS IS ONE OF MY FAVORITE CAKES!! I made this last year when my sister requested a coconut cake for her birthday and i couldn't believe how good it was and how much DH and i like it (he doesn't really care for coconut either). After i had the 2nd layer in place i decided it was just too much cake for all of us so i made the 3rd layer into a cake on its' own and froze it for later (icing and all). we pulled it out a couple weeks later and it was delish. it froze perfectly! So I wanted to make this for easter this year and i didn't notice until after i made the filling that i was making the wrong cake! I didn't have the coconut milk on hand so i went ahead and made the other cake, but used this icing which was the only thing that saved that cake. The icing is so darn good i could sit down w/ a bowl of that stuff. and by the way, don't let the icing sit too long on the cake before patting the coconut in, i decided to toast the coconut before putting it on the cake and by the time i did that the icing had dried ever so slightly and the coconut didnt' stick quite as well. Next time i'll remember which cake to use, this cake is one of the best ones out there! Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2007

      When I took the cakes out of the pans, a piece broke off and I had to taste it - it was the driest cake I had ever tasted. But I followed all the directions and let it sit for 3 days in the refrigerator - IMPRESSIVE!! Extremely moist - I did think the frosting tasted grainy - but couldn't tell if was the frosting or the sugar on the coconut on top of the frosting - anyway, I used coconut milk instead of regular milk in the filling - will keep this recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2007

      I made this for my husband's birthday and it was a big hit. I thought the filling was absolutely perfect! I thought the cake was the tiniest bit dry. But it might be my oven, because a friend made this at a party and his was not the lest bit dry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2013

      This cake was super yummy and moist. I wonder if the people complaining about it being too dense didn't use self-rising flour. I used self-rising and the cake turned out perfect. It sat in the refrigerator for 2.5 days. The only reason it didn't get 5 stars was the frosting. Mine turned out a bit on the runny side and ran down the side of the cake. However, it still tasted great and looked lovely.<br/><br/>updating my review: I have since made this cake two more times and the cake and frosting turned out perfect. My first experience with the runny frosting must have been my own error.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2009

      I had the same problem with this recipe being too dense. I think something is missing from it, baking powder or soda maybe? I did see a variation of this recipe using a boxed white cake mix and substituting the cocnut milk for the water- I tried that and liked the cake much better that way.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      I'm not sure if this turned out correctly, but I followed the recipe exactly. It was SO dense. As in, took serious muscle to cut through. Coconut cake I've had before have been more light, this was the consistency of a pound cake. The flavor was good, but each slice felt like a brick.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2009

      Great cake recipe. Made for my mom's birthday b/c coconut cake is her fave. This was the first cake I've ever made from scratch without a cake mix. It turned out perfect. Also my first 7-min frosting- also turned out perfect. I will make this again next year for my mom! She loved it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2007

      This cake was as good as it looks. I made it for my mom's 72nd birthday - she said it's her new favorite.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2007

      Actually this cake is not hard to make. It's decadent and absolutely fantastic!!! I highly recommend this one ;-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2006

      WOW, what a lovely cake tasty & moist. I made it for Easter, we were also celebrating our GD & My DH's birthdays. I made it just like the recipe stated, made it 2 days ahead so it got to set,as suggested. Love Paula Deen's recipes, Thank you for posting this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2014

      My husband loves coconut cake and I've been looking for a moist recipe. I found this one and made it for him today and he loves it. The frosting was a little thin but perhaps I didn't add quite enough Cream of Tartar. The frosting did however, once cooled set nicely. I am not a huge fan of coconut cake but even I found this one extremely good. I will definitely make it again and soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2014

      I made this for our Easter Coconut Cake. I loved the crumb of the cake the cream filling was amazing had a little left over and drizzled it on everything even into plain yogurt (YUMMY). My family isn't keen on the sweet frostings so I made a substitute of Cream Cheese frosting using the cream filing as moisture instead of milk or heavy cream...amazing!!!!! I am going to make this again and again and again...very easy cake to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2014

      Beautiful cake, perfect to serve a crowd on special occasions. The filling turned a bit runny for some reason, but made the cake even more moist. Great, delicious recipe overall

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Paula Deen's Jamie's Coconut Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (2372 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 8369.7
     
    Calories from Fat 2873
    34%
    Total Fat 319.2 g
    491%
    Saturated Fat 211.7 g
    1058%
    Cholesterol 1360.1 mg
    453%
    Sodium 7522.0 mg
    313%
    Total Carbohydrate 1321.1 g
    440%
    Dietary Fiber 12.8 g
    51%
    Sugars 1032.3 g
    4129%
    Protein 82.9 g
    165%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes