14 Reviews

I can't believe I've never reviewed this recipe, b/c I've made these probably 10 times or more. I love, love, love these brownies! They are soooo worth the effort to make!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amosmoses December 16, 2011

I made this for my DS and used peppermint extract, I also aded in 1/4 cup softened cream cheese to the filling which worked out wonderful, thanks for sharing hon, my DS loved these!...Kitten:)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz March 27, 2007

Delicious, rich, moist, dense brownie! A little time-consuming only because you have to allow cooling time between each of the steps...otherwise a very easy recipe. I think this is very festive looking for the Christmas holidays as well as St. Patty's Day.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
appleydapply October 30, 2008

Quite possibly the best brownie I have ever had! So So So GOOD!!!!! The brownie just melts in your mouth it is so moist! The filling tastes like one of those after dinner butter mints. I used clear creme de menthe and then I added 2 drops of green food coloring to get the color of one of those pastel after dinner mints. For St. Patrick's Day I will probably add more food coloring and make the filling a little more green. Wonderful recipe, thanks so much for posting!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef*Lee August 04, 2008

These are DELICIOUS! One person I served them to said they were the best brownies he'd eaten. Incredibly moist. They're fairly easy, just required time to allow the various layers to set. I used clear creme de menthe and added green food coloring.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie M. March 16, 2014

I should note here that this review is on the mint "Filling" part only, as I used it on a brownie recipe I've loved for years and think is the best. The filling was very easy to make; the butter wasn't even softened, and I just beat it to mash it in the bowl and ended up adding a little water at the end to make the filling spreadable. Right out of the bowl, it tasted almost exactly like mints by older brother used to make when we were kids--delicious, minty, buttery. On the brownies, it was a nice touch--and, oh, no, I think I've eaten too many....

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ohevshalomel March 12, 2014

Made half a recipe using a 9X9 pan. Turned out great and love the mint filling. Very rich but oh so good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound March 11, 2014

My husband took these into to work to share with his coworkers and they got rave reviews! The Creme De Menthe that I had was actually clear, so I added green food coloring to the filling. They are time consuming, but not very difficult. The brownies came together beautifully!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Delicious as it Looks February 10, 2014

These are wonderful. I followed the recipe exactly, but cooked them a couple of minutes too long. Still great! I took them to Bunko and they were a huge hit. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
janantiques March 18, 2013

I've made these brownies a few times. This year I decided to make these for St. Patrick's Day. Apparently I have never written the recipe down so had to find it on line again. I also found a wonderful recipe for Irish soda bread. I've never made it before, but it was sooo... easy! This particular reIcipe had the bread baked in a 9" springform pan which gave it a great shape. No kneading or shaping required!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
conniedteach March 18, 2012
Paula Deen's Creme De Menthe Brownies