12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was very good but I found the mayonnaise taste overwhelming and I cut the mayo by at last a third. Next time I make this, I will either omit the mayo altogether or put in no more than 1/4 cup.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mosaic girl June 24, 2008

I love the recipe to kick it up a little I add 2-3 Tbl. of curry powder & I also sub. crm. of chicken soup for the crm. of mushroom.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MomofShyra December 06, 2008

Easy, filling, and delicious!!! I used Specialty Soup Substitutes - Cream in place the cream of mushroom, 1 egg, extra cheese, and about 2/3 a sleeve of whole wheat Ritz crackers. I actually forgot to melt some butter on top, but that didn't seem to affect anything :) I also had 1 poached chicken breast in the fridge, so I shredded that and added it into the dish. I served this with some cooked brown rice and a salad. This is going into the recipe box; thanks, Mary!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
unmistakable1 April 16, 2008

We made the original recipe Paula Dean's Broccoli Casserole and I thought that I would have left overs but I didn't. The kids liked it so much they beg me to make it at least once a week. I did make it again and pepped it up with 4 cheeses I used sharp and mild cheddar, pepper jack, and mots for a total of 2 pounds of cheese.(I have to triple the recipe) didn't have any left overs that time either! Tonight we are sautéing the chicken breast with butter and natures seasoning chopping this into cubes and adding this to the tweaked recipe, and I plan to serve with a salad and French bread. I don't plan to have any left overs this time. Also for my topping I used crushed ruffles sour cream and cheddar chips no need for the butter it was delicious! Have fun with your food and have a great day!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sos4sam May 22, 2014

I am not crazy about recipes with cans of soups in them, but this one is really quite good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare March 23, 2013

A very tasty broccoli dish. I did follow another reviewer's suggestion to cut back on the mayo (I used about 1/2 C) and used fresh cooked broccoli instead. End product was still creamy and very good. This seems to be a fail-proof recipe, and one that will be made often here. Thanks, Mary.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyfingers December 25, 2010

We liked it! And will make it again! Thanks for sharing....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wife2uRick June 09, 2008

Oh so very good! A little trick....RITZ Honey Butter Crackers add just a little something extra to it that is perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MandaPanda1111 April 20, 2008

Who says you can't like broccoli? This dish was yummy and so easy to make. I used twice as much cheese as we love cheese but cut the recipe in half for just us. I used light mayo, omitted the egg, and steamed my broccoli. Thanks for the great recipe, Mary! Made for Aus/NZ Recipe Swap #14

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetsLady March 04, 2008

An excellent broccoli casserole. I made half the recipe and skipped the egg. BF said he could make a meal out of just the casserole! (actually I could too) I used French's onion rings for the topping. Just delicious, thanks for posting this one Mary.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Annie in Indy January 29, 2008
Paula Deen's Broccoli Casserole