Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Paula Deen's Baked Beef Enchilada Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Paula Deen's Baked Beef Enchilada Casserole

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on September 10, 2009

      I followed the original recipe which called for taco seasoning packet, instead of the chili powder. I had the recipe from the magazine. With all of the canned products in this recipe, we found it to have a high salt content. I would do this again, use the chili powder in place of the taco seasoning packet, and only do half of the beans and add a half pound more of ground beef, also eliminating one can of soup. It was rather runny and I followed the original recipe exactly. To much salt took away from the flavor

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2009

      Really delicious! I only used one can of chicken soup (healthy choice with lower salt). It looked plenty soupy enough to me, and it did turn out soupy enough. (I couldn't find any special versions of cream of chicken.) However, if you use the refried bean option, maybe the extra can would be necessary. Like the author, I skipped the beans. I also skipped the added salt as both enchilada sauce, soup and cheese have lotsa salt. I used a little bit of sharp cheddar on the top because (1) it didn't look quite cheezy enough and (2) sharp cheddar with red enchilada sauce is delicious. Both of us loved this alot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2011

      Not authentically Mexican tasting, if that's what you're going for, but very delicious. One word of advice: mine was FAR too liquidy. I would use one can of soup and one can of enchilada sauce, and/or double the tortillas.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2009

      This was a fast and easy recipe. I have tons of leftovers that I can't wait to finish. My four year old thought it was god. That is a huge compliment from someone who will only eat chicken nuggets and apple dippers. My husband said it was the best enchilada's ever. I couldn't find the soup listed in the recipe, but I think that is a good thing because the nacho cheese soup added some really nice flavor! Thanks Paula for this recipe, and thanks Lainey for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2009

      Very good ingredients! My whole kitchen smelled wonderful! It was very easy to make and made very good leftovers and I don't like leftovers! I used 1 can of cream of ckn and 1 can of the Fiesta Taco soup.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2008

      This had really great flavor. I also couldn't find the verde soup so I used cream of chicken soup and doubled the chilies. My only complaint would be that it was really runny. No one else had made a comment about it being 'soupy' so perhaps I did something wrong.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2008

      This was fantastic! My husband and I enjoyed this casserole so much! I made the full recipe but assembled it in 2 seperate 8x8 inch pans. I stuck one in the freezer and can't wait for the rainy day to pull that one out! I made as posted except I couldn't find that soup, like most other reviewers. I used one can of cream of chicken soup and one can of fiesta nacho cheese soup. I also used flour tortillas per your suggestion. It was such a great meal. This will become a regular in our house! Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2008

      Love this recipe! I wanted beef instead of the usual chicken, and this was great! I probably only used 1 can of soup--ched.cheese, and not all of the enchilada sauce. I did double the grn chili, and omitted the red pepp. I also used black beans instead of refried. It was very easy to put together, and also reheated great for leftovers. Great flavor! Will make again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2014

      Love this recipe and Paula Deen! If you can't find the chicken Verde soup, I use cream of mushroom (not a fan of the fake chicken flavor in cream of chicken) and a small can of Verde salsa. It adds a great flavor! Don't substitute flour tortillas, they get gummy and have a lot less flavor than corn.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2013

      Way too many ingredients, most of which are not really necessary. Spice and sauce it up yourself and end up with a better dish. And for God's sake, skip the butter!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2012

      So Disappoint in this recipe, hubby thought It was too salty. Used flour tortillas and they came out too gummy. Totally nasty

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2009

      I have been using this recipe for over a year and lost my magazine that it was in, so glad to have found it here since Paula's site doesn't have it listed (that I can find anyway!). Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2009

    • on October 29, 2008

      Great!! I just tore up the tortillas and layered that way. Easy and delish...thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2008

      The boys just loved this. They asked if we could have it next week again, so it has definitely hit our rotation. I'm wondering how it would be with flour tortillas, so I might try that next time. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2007

      Lainey, we had this for Christmas lunch today and it is absolutely fabulous! I could not find creamy chicken verde soup, so used one can of cream of chicken and one can of southwest style pepper jack soup. I also probably added two more cups of cheese to the top of the casserole (I know I'm bad but we are major cheese lovers). We topped with black olives, green onion, diced tomato, cilantro, sour cream and picante sauce. This recipe is sure to impress any guests and I will be making it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2007

      This is wonderful. I couldn't find the creamy chicken verde soup, so I used one can of cream of chicken and one can of Campbells nacho cheese soup. Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Paula Deen's Baked Beef Enchilada Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (336 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 766.0
     
    Calories from Fat 370
    48%
    Total Fat 41.2 g
    63%
    Saturated Fat 21.9 g
    109%
    Cholesterol 128.6 mg
    42%
    Sodium 2139.3 mg
    89%
    Total Carbohydrate 57.6 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 11.2 g
    45%
    Sugars 9.9 g
    39%
    Protein 43.3 g
    86%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    creamy chicken verde soup

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites