17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I followed the original recipe which called for taco seasoning packet, instead of the chili powder. I had the recipe from the magazine. With all of the canned products in this recipe, we found it to have a high salt content. I would do this again, use the chili powder in place of the taco seasoning packet, and only do half of the beans and add a half pound more of ground beef, also eliminating one can of soup. It was rather runny and I followed the original recipe exactly. To much salt took away from the flavor

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
info September 10, 2009

Really delicious! I only used one can of chicken soup (healthy choice with lower salt). It looked plenty soupy enough to me, and it did turn out soupy enough. (I couldn't find any special versions of cream of chicken.) However, if you use the refried bean option, maybe the extra can would be necessary. Like the author, I skipped the beans. I also skipped the added salt as both enchilada sauce, soup and cheese have lotsa salt. I used a little bit of sharp cheddar on the top because (1) it didn't look quite cheezy enough and (2) sharp cheddar with red enchilada sauce is delicious. Both of us loved this alot.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbie R. August 21, 2009

Not authentically Mexican tasting, if that's what you're going for, but very delicious. One word of advice: mine was FAR too liquidy. I would use one can of soup and one can of enchilada sauce, and/or double the tortillas.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ellebeejay123 December 29, 2011

This was a fast and easy recipe. I have tons of leftovers that I can't wait to finish. My four year old thought it was god. That is a huge compliment from someone who will only eat chicken nuggets and apple dippers. My husband said it was the best enchilada's ever. I couldn't find the soup listed in the recipe, but I think that is a good thing because the nacho cheese soup added some really nice flavor! Thanks Paula for this recipe, and thanks Lainey for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
prncssbianca April 17, 2009

Very good ingredients! My whole kitchen smelled wonderful! It was very easy to make and made very good leftovers and I don't like leftovers! I used 1 can of cream of ckn and 1 can of the Fiesta Taco soup.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JFluckie February 12, 2009

This had really great flavor. I also couldn't find the verde soup so I used cream of chicken soup and doubled the chilies. My only complaint would be that it was really runny. No one else had made a comment about it being 'soupy' so perhaps I did something wrong.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bekah49036 November 01, 2008

This was fantastic! My husband and I enjoyed this casserole so much! I made the full recipe but assembled it in 2 seperate 8x8 inch pans. I stuck one in the freezer and can't wait for the rainy day to pull that one out! I made as posted except I couldn't find that soup, like most other reviewers. I used one can of cream of chicken soup and one can of fiesta nacho cheese soup. I also used flour tortillas per your suggestion. It was such a great meal. This will become a regular in our house! Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelby Jo September 22, 2008

Love this recipe! I wanted beef instead of the usual chicken, and this was great! I probably only used 1 can of soup--ched.cheese, and not all of the enchilada sauce. I did double the grn chili, and omitted the red pepp. I also used black beans instead of refried. It was very easy to put together, and also reheated great for leftovers. Great flavor! Will make again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
recoverinpickyeater August 20, 2008

Love this recipe and Paula Deen! If you can't find the chicken Verde soup, I use cream of mushroom (not a fan of the fake chicken flavor in cream of chicken) and a small can of Verde salsa. It adds a great flavor! Don't substitute flour tortillas, they get gummy and have a lot less flavor than corn.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
southerneater January 28, 2014

Way too many ingredients, most of which are not really necessary. Spice and sauce it up yourself and end up with a better dish. And for God's sake, skip the butter!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cedarglen August 22, 2013
Paula Deen's Baked Beef Enchilada Casserole