Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Paula Deen's 5 Minute Fudge Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Paula Deen's 5 Minute Fudge

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on January 05, 2010

      I made two batches of this recipe with my Dutch oven and wisk to stir. The 1st batch I made as is written. It turned out smooth rich tasting fudge. The 2nd batch I made as is written but adding 2 tablespoons brown sugar along with the white,1/4 cup creamy peanut butter,1/2 chopped walnuts and added a few extra marshmallows and whipped it with my wisk till it was smooth and creamy. Maybe took a full minute to mix after the cooking milk,sugar,butter part. This made some of the BEST peanut butter chocolate frosting for my cake. Thanks! Yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      I agree with some of the other reviewers that it takes significantly longer to make than the 5 minutes mentioned in the title. But the finished product tastes just fine! I didn't notice a grainy texture at all. FUDGE HINT: Don't use stale marshmallows! It makes the mixture veeerry hard to stir, and the fudge comes out very chewy, not melty. Thanks for the recipe, FarahC!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2014

      This is the absolute best fudge ever! It is foolproof if you follow the directions exactly.<br/>It is not one bit gritty like some reviewers have suggested. You need only make sure you cook it for the full five minutes after it comes to a boil. Delicious! No other recipe for me! This is the best!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2013

      Decided to try this recipe to add to my Christmas cookie collection that I will be giving out this weekend. This was my first time trying homemade fudge since watching my mother make it a long time ago. It came out fantastic! Loved it. The only thing I will be doing different is doubling the recipe so that it comes out thicker in the 8X8 pan, as another reviewer commented. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2013

    • on December 11, 2013

      I found this recipe to be quick, and I times the boiling for five minutes. I did not use a candy thermometer, so I am not sure I understand the comments about it taking longer. Maybe they meant the entire recipe took longer than 5 minutes? Anyway, if you use an 8-inch square pan like I did, the fudge is pretty thin. I made two batches and although it tastes okay, I found the texture to be a bit grainy and not ultra smooth as I expected. It will still get eaten, no doubt! But I am not going to save this recipe for future use. The Kraft marshmallow creme fudge recipe is much more to my liking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2013

      OMG I love this! I've tried making fudge in the past and it ALWAYS turned out too grainy. I followed the directions to a T (with a few minor changes). When the sugar/milk started to boil I lowered the temp just a little and set my kitchen timer to 5 minutes and stirred the mixture with a whisk. When the timer went off I added the chocolate chips a few at a time and stirred until they were melted. The chocolate chips melted within a minute or two with constant stirring. I used a half of a bag of mini marshmallows and stirred them in while they were still over the heat. As the marshmallows were pretty stale, it took a bit of effort to stir them in, but they were completely melted within a minute or two also. Instead of lining the pan with paper, I just brushed it lightly with butter and everything came out easily. My husband LOVES this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2011

      Sooooo good! And easy to make. Giving these away as Christmas gifts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2010

      The first time I made this it turned out perfect. Yummy, melty, a little grainy, but fudge nonetheless. But I just made it again last night, and for some reason it basically turned into taffy... very very sticky and chewy. I won't take off points for that, since obviously I did something wrong, but to anyone looking to make this fudge, make sure you don't do whatever I did the second time around (whatever it was that I did).

      P.S. - any help? why did it turn out so messed up?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      After reading the reviews on this, I hesitated a bit but figured that I had nothing to lose so I whipped these up! I don't know what others did wrong because it DID take me about 5 minutes from start to finish. Everything blended and mixed easily with a spatula too. Maybe the key is to make sure that all ingredients are hot when you mix them to insure that it melts and blends. This will be one that I will make for many occassions!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2009

    • on January 08, 2009

      Yummy, easy. Try using minature marshmallows for easy mixing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2007

      I'm thinking we should re-name this fudge, "Paula Deans Stir Until Your Arm Falls Off Fudge. I followed this recipe to the T, and it took me much longer than 5 minutes. More like 30, and I even used my professional counter-top mixer to mix in the marshmallows. Texture is a bit grainy, but I'm a Certified Fudgie from the lower peninsula of Michigan, spoiled by many blocks of Mackinac Island fudge over the years. I want fudge to be soft, creamy goodness... So... because 1. it took much longer than the 5 minutes promised in the title, and 2. because it is a bit grainier than promised, I'm giving it 3 stars. It does taste good, and the real test will be the reaction of my four nephews at tonights Christmas get-together. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2007

      well, I don't like fudge AT ALL. ugh. But I was making this to fill the chocolate tins I made for xmas gifts. I had to taste it b/c I didn't want to give out grainy fudge. It had a decent texture and (if I liked fudge) taste. It was easy as pie to make, although it took FOREVER to stir & my arm got tired. I used 6 semi sweet chocolate squares b/c I had run out of chips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2007

      Easy, but get your muscles ready, this one is hard to mix!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2007

      Very Easy & Delicious. Had fun making my own combinations using the base recipe also!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2007

      This is the best and easiest fudge I've ever made!!! I love it. It set up perfect and that's a good thing since I've screwed up a lot of candy over the years. My hubby and grand kids are happy people.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2007

      Yummy! I needed something quick and sweet for a family potluck and this was it. I let my husband, who "doesn't really like chocolate" lick the spoon as a taste test, and he wouldn't give the spoon back until it was licked clean! I am so happy with this fudge recipe! I can't wait to make it for Christmas! Thank you for sharing, FarahC!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2007

      Who knew I was capable of making fudge?? This recipe made it so easy to try for the first time! I'm really glad I read the suggestions about lining the pan ahead of time or I never would have done so; it proved to be very easy to remove later on. I followed the recipe except that I only had semi-sweet chocolate chips on hand. Didn't seem to make a difference, though: it was absolutely delicious! Thanks for posting, FarahC!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2006

      This turned out great! I did line my pan w/ wax paper & it worked well. After I poured in the pan I sprinkled some dark chocolate chips on top. This was my first time making fudge & it was super easy & delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Paula Deen's 5 Minute Fudge

    Serving Size: 1 (31 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 20

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 185.4
     
    Calories from Fat 65
    35%
    Total Fat 7.2 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 2.8 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 5.9 mg
    1%
    Sodium 124.3 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.8 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 24.5 g
    98%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites