117 Reviews

substituted cream of chicken for the cheddar soup....was delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maryjanejam February 02, 2015

I've made this many times and it's wonderful! I always use 1 less egg and more cheese, once it's done in the crock pot pour it into a baking dish, layer Sharp cheddar cheese on top (shred your own, never buy pre-shredded cheese!) and put in the oven under the broiler to make it crust. Viola! It's done.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Raegan N. November 26, 2014

I made it without the eggs because it just sounds like they could mess with the texture. I left out the mustard because I ran out and it still tasted great - though I did add a dash of nutmeg. I doubled the recipe for an office potluck and it got great reviews. I cooked my noodles 4 minutes because I don't like my pasta too soft. I also diced up and fried up a pack of bacon and reserved about 2-3 tablespoons of the bacon fat. I then incorporated the bacon into the mac and cheese just before serving. I toasted a cup of Italian style bread crumbs in bacon fat on the stove and sprinkled it on top of the mac and cheese before serving for some crunchy texture since it's coming out of the crock pot. I also threw in some garlic and onion powder just because we like the taste. Great recipe with a great base! This was the first pot to be finished in our potluck and everyone raved about it :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kerry R. November 20, 2014

The recipe is great and easy to add your own twist to! I have been looking for the right recipe to make my mac and cheese creamy and this one does just that. I used 2 beaten eggs, added Prego's new "creamy cheddar cheese sauce" instead of the canned cheese soup, put 4 cups of shells because there was plenty of room for more noodles. I also added some frozen broccoli and kielbasa sausage and topped it with campbell's crunchy onions. Came out great!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christine B. November 11, 2014

My absolute favorite Mac & Cheese! I have made it several times and it gets rave reviews from everyone that tastes it!! and it is SO incredibly easy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jacie m. November 10, 2014

This is really the best tasting Mac n Cheese out there as far as taste. It's something I make only occasionally though as it's really pretty decadent from a calorie, cholesterol, sodium, ungodly saturated fat perspective. Tastes splendid though. A-

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ray G. July 11, 2014

Made this for Easter dinner! Our family just loved! Will be making it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
caren_11180168 April 01, 2013

I did not like this mac n cheese (I would have given it 3 stars). I thought it needed something more. BUT I took this to a pot luck and people RAVED about it. Actually when I was taking my crock pot home, somebody stopped me and said..."that's the mac n cheese I heard about." (the 4 stars) I personally think it would have been better with a velveeta cheese instead of the sharp cheddar. Also, I didn't add the eggs but followed the rest to a T.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Patience72385 March 19, 2013

This is good...not to die for. I had 2, 2 year olds that loved it but I wasn't over the moon. Made it as written but next time will leave out the eggs and see how that works...I wonder if they made it temperamental? Anyway, thanks for the recipe GiddyUpGo and Paula...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennyblender February 16, 2013

No need for an extra pot! I have made this several time now, and every time I dump all ingredients (except pasta) into the crock pot and stir well. Then add the pasta a little at a time and mix well to coat. It comes out beautifully every time! I have also dressed it up a bit by adding chunks of cooked ham, fried onion bits, chopped mushrooms, and a few dashes of hot sauce. My husband loves it, and it was a hit at a office pot luck. thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bubblette February 12, 2013
Paula Deen Crock Pot Macaroni and Cheese