124 Reviews

I made this today for a pot luck lunch at work and it was amazing. But as one reviewer already said, no need to dirty any additional dishes. I only cooked the noodles for 3 and a half minutes and then put them and all the other ingredients in the crockpot cold then stuck it in the fridge last night. Took it to work this morning and plugged it in on low for 3 and half hours. Perfectly gooey and creamy! I did change it up a bit. I tripled the recipe and used four cups of sharp cheddar, two cups of Gruyere and one and half cups of American. I also used Dijon mustard instead of mustard powder. And no egg. Finally I sprinkled some paprika on top. Once it was heated and all the cheese was melted I made sure to stir it every hour or so to assure all the ingredients were thoroughly mixed. I have been getting rave reviews all afternoon. Would definitely make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mr. Clean October 09, 2015

I only added one egg do to other reviews and this was very good and I would make again for sure

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dixie from Kansas September 24, 2015

I totally wanted this recipe to work out better than it did! I gave it 3 stars because my son liked it. I only used 2 eggs and I used a larger elbow macaroni which I think hurt it because even though I only boiled it for 6 min, it was falling apart after the dish was complete. It was also curdling and I don't know if it was from the eggs because I noticed a lot of reviewers omitted them for that reason? I'm determined so I WILL try again, but to me...this one was kind of a bust.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christina T. August 28, 2015

This recipe was a hit! I did make a few important modifications, though: 1) I did not use eggs. I like creamy, rather than fluffy 2) I did not use dry mustard. Instead, I added a can of chopped/roasted green chiles 3) I used 1% milk, not whole - mainly because it's what I had in my fridge 4) I used a blend of cheese: mild cheddar (sharp makes it less creamy), jack and shredded parmesan. I'm convinced, the more variety of cheeses you use, the better it tastes (don't use pre-shredded cheese - the coating they put on it makes melting difficult) Otherwise, I followed everything else and took a double-batch to an office party. It was gone within 10 minutes. My partner, who got a small taste the night before, was bummed that I had none left over to bring home. Guess I'm making more this weekend! :o)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tiscaboo July 02, 2015

Finally! I found a recipe for slow cooker macaroni and cheese that my entire family enjoys. Not a single complaint from 6 of my kids and my husband. They were dying for leftovers, but unfortunately there wasn't enough to go around the next day despite my doubling of the recipe. I did double this, but left out the eggs, and also only used 3.5 cups of cheese instead of the 5 that doubling would have required, i think it would have been way too cheesy? Not sure. Still giving it 5 stars with my alterations because I can't wait to make it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Allison H. June 23, 2015

Just like someone else said "no need to dirty up a 2nd pot". I put all ingredients (except eggs) into the crock pot and in the end added the hot noodles, which in turn melted the butter and cheese almost immediately. I also sprayed some pam into the crock pot prior to adding the ingredients, to avoid a sticky mess in the end. I made this recipe several times and have found that cheddar cheese is the best cheese to use (gives it a great taste and the golden color), do not include the eggs as it can come out as little curds in the midst and gives it a "blah" taste and like I said before, no reason to dirty a pan if you can literally all throw it together in the Crockpot. I always have to double the recipe as everyone wants seconds and there is just not enough for all to go around (I got big eaters). I just have another double batch in my crockpot as I type this to bring to a Volunteer appreciation event at for a Community Theatre. I brought this dish once before to the Theatre and now whenever we have a pot-luck kind of function I am automatically put down for the Mac N Cheese, without even being asked :) This is a simple, quick recipe that will reward you with a rich and flavorful comfort dish that is oh so yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
prairiemoon June 13, 2015

Changed it up a bit. Used 1lb uncooked macaroni. Boiled for 6 minutes and slightly rinsed. Put butter and 2 -8ounce blocks of cheddar cheese (put in food processor to shred) and melted. Sprayed crockpot with Pam and set on high. Once warm mixed 2 cans cheddar cheese soup, about 2/3 cup sour cream and cup milk. Whisked together real good then added cheese mixture and whisked again. Added salt and pepper then cooked macaroni. Turned crockpot on low. It's not done yet but I can't stop sampling it. It's so creamy and cheesy. Good luck

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tina K. June 06, 2015

Needed a side dish for my son for a Marching Band picnic on Memorial Day. Made the recipe (doubled) as written (without eggs) and it was perfect! It's not your baked-type mac and cheese - it is creamy and good! I made it with shredded Velveeta because that's what the boy loves - and he just brought home the scraped, empty crock pot! Thank you for this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous May 25, 2015

Do u need sour cream?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cam W. April 05, 2015

substituted cream of chicken for the cheddar soup....was delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maryjanejam February 02, 2015
Paula Deen Crock Pot Macaroni and Cheese