124 Reviews

Wow! This was fabulous!!!!! Took it to a Christmas potluck and everyone raved about it. They even admitted things like "This was better than my recipe and I always thought mine was the best" type of thing.

It is definitely one I will use again. I doubled the recipe, and there was only enough leftover to have a tiny bit with my lunch today! It was totally devoured!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
griffiths_melissa December 19, 2011

Very good macaroni and cheese. I made this for a work function and it was gone in minutes. I made this twice, the first time I followed the directions exactly but I did omit the eggs. The second time, I made a few changes. I sprayed my crock pot with Pam, then added all ingredients (except noodles) directly to the crock pot. Next I boiled one full pound of elbow noodles for 6 minutes, drained them, and added to crock pot. As I stirred the hot noodles, the cheese and butter melted. I used 1% milk, low fat sour cream, and again omitted the eggs. The result was just as good as the first batch. This is a wonderful quick recipe. I would also recommend using a crock pot liner (if available) for quick clean-up.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jinburger February 02, 2009

This is a great recipe for the crockpot! I made this recipe to take to a potluck. I par-cooked the noodles for 5 minutes, drained and cooled them, and then mixed all of the ingredients (minus eggs) in my cold crock and put it in the fridge overnight. Took it to work the next day and plugged it in-- 2/5 hours later, a party success! I decided to leave the eggs out because i was not cooking it right away. It was very creamy, and the noodles did not get mushy. I miss the crunchy topping that baked macs get, and I think the next time I'll add some paprika or extra pepper for a kick.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shanahoo September 05, 2010

According to my kids....THIS IS THE BEST MAC N' CHEESE they've ever had. It was moist and so creamy and not dried out at all. I did double the recipe, cause my kids just love mac n'cheese, but I only added 3 eggs, and it still came out wonderful!! Thanks for sharing this recipe....this is a definite keeper for every holiday.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChamoritaMomma November 27, 2008

I don't know what these other people are talking about with the "bland" taste. This mac and cheese is wonderful! We made this for my daughter's first birthday party (minus the eggs), and all the kids loved it, as did the adults! We used a full pound of mac, as some others had mentioned, but if you do, you need to be sure to stir it at least every twenty minutes, otherwise you will have a hard-to-clean crock, and not-so-creamy mac. Today we used slightly less and stirred it frequently, and it turned out great! Also, we used white pepper so you wouldn't see it. Definitely NOT a fix-it & forget-it, but worth the effort!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Apprentice Colleen November 14, 2008

I initially cooked 2 cups of macaroni as posted; however, didn't think it looked like much pasta especially with all the ad-ins and I thought it would be too soupy (sloppy!) so I then cooked another cup of macaroni, which I think was the right call. Baked in the oven, omitted black pepper and added dash of garlic powder (barely noticeable). Also used 2% milk as thats what I had on hand and old cheddar cheese. My two picky preteens and even my DH (who generally does not like traditional baked mac & cheese) absolutely loved this, in fact, everyone had second helpings (glad I put in that extra cup of pasta!!) plus have a little for lunch leftovers. Very creamy,rich and tasty. Not for those dieting but exceptional comfort food - will definately make again and again and.... This version has now officially replaced my old recipe for baked mac & cheese!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrsrexy January 21, 2008

Love. I followed the advice from the reviews and omitted the eggs as we like a more creamy and less stiff mac and cheese. I also like to add some tips: 1. Creamette pasta brand has a "OVEN READY ELBOWS" so you dont have to boil. I added EVERYTHING at once with no other pots or pans to the crock pot. Wonderful if you can find it in your grocery its worth it and makes this even easier. 2. I used a block of white cheddar just to change it up. OMG so good! 3. Fancy it up and use this as a base for Lobster Mac and Cheese (a restrauant fav but usu expensive). I layer the prepared crock pot mac & cheese with cut up cooked lobster in a casserole dish. Added butter crumb crust to top (mashed Ritz crackers layer or herbed bread crumb mix dotted with butter chunks) and finished off with a sprinkle of cheese and baked until top was browned and bubble. Husband LOVED it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rnmn46 August 08, 2015

Oh my lord is this good. FYi just go ahead and double, even triple, the recipe. It is to die for.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie Strong June 07, 2015

I used 2 eggs instead of three, I took the note of another review and while cooking the pasta I melted the butter in the crockpot on high. After butter was melted, added the cheese, the other stuff that I had mixed in a bowl, added pasta. Stirred every 20-30 minutes, it was done probably in 1 1/2 hours, and it was soooo good. I'm taking left overs to work tomorrow.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miranda L. April 26, 2015

The recipe is great and easy to add your own twist to! I have been looking for the right recipe to make my mac and cheese creamy and this one does just that. I used 2 beaten eggs, added Prego's new "creamy cheddar cheese sauce" instead of the canned cheese soup, put 4 cups of shells because there was plenty of room for more noodles. I also added some frozen broccoli and kielbasa sausage and topped it with campbell's crunchy onions. Came out great!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christine B. November 11, 2014
Paula Deen Crock Pot Macaroni and Cheese