Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Paula Deen Crock Pot Macaroni and Cheese Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Paula Deen Crock Pot Macaroni and Cheese

    Average Rating:

    102 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 102

    Sort by:

    • on September 16, 2009

      there is absolutely no need for dirtying another pot! I boiled the noodles for about 5 minutes, then just mixed everything cold in the crock pot (a double batch), threw it in the fridge overnight and heated it in the morning for a lunch potluck. we haven't eaten yet but I stole a bite and it's AMAZING. gooey, stringy, creamy perfection and not sticking to the pot at all thanks to the butter. I added a chunk of shredded gruyere with the cheddar for a little fondue-y taste, used skim milk, lite sour cream and the stick "ICBINT for baking" (losing the caloric battle with all that cheese, but every little bit helps!), and I also omitted the eggs (because I forgot to buy them). definitely never use bagged shredded cheese in recipes like this - they coat it with an anti-caking agent to prevent sticking together but it also prevents nice creamy melting. this is superb though; try it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2009

      After reading a lot of reviews & using some common "cook" sense here's how this turned out suberb! While the noodles were cooking (6 min), I sprayed the pot lightly with Pam (just in case, like 1 reviewer suggested), turned my 3-qt Crock Pot on High & melted the butter (not margarine) & sharp cheese (I grated 16 oz wedge of sharp hoop cheese & reserved a little for the top later). Was not completely melted when other ingredients were added, but it did not matter- was all melted in the end. Turned the pot to Low. Whisked all the other ingredients in a separate bowl first before adding them to the pot. In this order: 1 beaten egg, sour cream, spices (used white pepper), soup, 1% milk. Added the noodles last. (compromised on the amount: a little more than the recipe calls for, but not quite the whole box. I think it would be fine to if you want to stretch it a little farther. It was plenty cheesy!) Was definitely ready to eat in 1 1/2 hours. Stirred it often. Sprinkled rest of cheese on top for last 20-30 min. Next time, I will try 2 eggs & reduced fat sour cream. Will never substitute the hoop cheese!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2011

      I make this recipe all the time for my family. it is the best mac n cz as far as my family is concerned. I make it exactly as the recipe states. I usaully have to triple recipe because it is gone so fast. If I don't make it for the get together everyone is very disappointed. Get recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2011

      Ok I am a stay at home dad(not sure how long this will last) trying to learn to cook. I have it all together and in the crockpot! Wow I am cooking something :) I used the eggs becuase guys just like cracking and breaking stuff. It looks good and I'll let you know how it turns out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2010

      I tried this recipe for the first time today. It was GREAT. I doubled the recipe...use 2 eggs, 1 tsp of Gouldens Spicy mustard instead of dry mustard and about a 1/2 cup of pepper jack cheese.. I will make this again and again..It was a big hit..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2010

      This was just too creamy for us and the soup gave it a processed flavor. I would not make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2011

      I admit when I watched Paula Deen make this on her show, I thought it looked terrible. However, the base seemed good. So I decided to give it a whirl. First, I used corkscrew pasta. The sauce clung to the ridges so nicely.
      I used 8 oz. of smoked cheddar with about 3 oz of parmisagna cheese and instead of dry mustard, I used a tablespoon of Dijon mustard along with a 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder.
      After cooking the pasta, I tossed it into the slow cooker with 1/2 cup of half and half, 1/2 cup of chicken stock and about 1/8 cup of 2% milk. Stirred it well with the pasta, then while stirring, added the three beaten eggs to temper them a little better than Paula did on the show.
      I also chose to melt the butter and cheese on the stove top along with the can of cheese soup, sour cream, salt, pepper, mustard and garlic powder. I added the cheese mixture to the pasta mixture in the slow cooker as the final step. It was AMAZINGLY DELICIOUS!!!!!!!!!!! Very smooth and creamy and the smokey cheddar cheese was a nice touch. Try it!! :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2012

      I discovered this recipe a couple years ago when my obsession with all things Paula Deen began...This is my fav mac & cheese recipe. I've taken this to multiple pot lucks and its always a hit and people are begging for more. I don't use the crockpot. I usually just put in the oven for about an hour on 350 and its amazing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2011

      Wow! This was fabulous!!!!! Took it to a Christmas potluck and everyone raved about it. They even admitted things like "This was better than my recipe and I always thought mine was the best" type of thing.

      It is definitely one I will use again. I doubled the recipe, and there was only enough leftover to have a tiny bit with my lunch today! It was totally devoured!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2010

      Made this for an event and everyone wanted the recipe. Took others advice and omitted the eggs (no curdling), added onion and garlic powders, cayenne pepper, paprika and nutmeg. Delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2012

      I LOVE this recipe. I made this for my husband's family who was visiting from out of town and they raved about it. I followed a few of the other posters' suggestions. I used 2 1/2 cups of uncooked large elbow macaroni, cooked it al dente and put it to the side. I also shredded my own cheese (2 1/2 cups of sharp chedder and 1/2 cup of pepper jack) because someone mentioned the pre-shredded cheese doesn't stick together well when melted. While that was melting, I blended only 2 eggs, sour cream, soup and the spices together in a medium sized bowl. I added this to the butter and cheese mixture when it was half way melted (i was impatient), stirred it in well, then added the pasta. Mixed it all well and put the crock pot on LOW, stirred frequently and was done 80-90 mins later.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2011

      Wow! Great Mac and cheese. I omitted eggs and will add 3 cups pasta next time. Creamy and delish just be patient when melting cheese with butter (yeah I used the preshredded bag kind) and don't stir too much while melting. This will be my go to potluck dish. Definitely not for the diet crowd but sooo good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2010

      I always make baked mac and cheese in the oven but saw this recipe and figured the crock pot would be a great idea for a party. Made it for the kids, (since so many were picky eater and would not enjoy the adult food), on Halloween. Let me tell you, the adults put a big dent in this dish. There was nothing left at the end of the night and I always make enough to have plenty of leftovers. It was easy, creamy and delicious. My daughter said "oh Mom, this is just like the mac and cheese in Disney". I also omitted the egg and used a mexican blend of cheeses (without the taco seasoning) and some provolone. Will definitely make this one again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2010

      This is a great recipe for the crockpot! I made this recipe to take to a potluck. I par-cooked the noodles for 5 minutes, drained and cooled them, and then mixed all of the ingredients (minus eggs) in my cold crock and put it in the fridge overnight. Took it to work the next day and plugged it in-- 2/5 hours later, a party success! I decided to leave the eggs out because i was not cooking it right away. It was very creamy, and the noodles did not get mushy. I miss the crunchy topping that baked macs get, and I think the next time I'll add some paprika or extra pepper for a kick.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2009

      OK, Im anothe one that is going to make a whole new recipe from this, so here it is....used whole box of shells, 3 cups cheddar, 1 egg, twice the milk.....boiled shells 3 min............next time i will add 2 cans of soup..............this was wonderful..............

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2008

      According to my kids....THIS IS THE BEST MAC N' CHEESE they've ever had. It was moist and so creamy and not dried out at all. I did double the recipe, cause my kids just love mac n'cheese, but I only added 3 eggs, and it still came out wonderful!! Thanks for sharing this recipe....this is a definite keeper for every holiday.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2008

      I don't know what these other people are talking about with the "bland" taste. This mac and cheese is wonderful! We made this for my daughter's first birthday party (minus the eggs), and all the kids loved it, as did the adults! We used a full pound of mac, as some others had mentioned, but if you do, you need to be sure to stir it at least every twenty minutes, otherwise you will have a hard-to-clean crock, and not-so-creamy mac. Today we used slightly less and stirred it frequently, and it turned out great! Also, we used white pepper so you wouldn't see it. Definitely NOT a fix-it & forget-it, but worth the effort!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      I initially cooked 2 cups of macaroni as posted; however, didn't think it looked like much pasta especially with all the ad-ins and I thought it would be too soupy (sloppy!) so I then cooked another cup of macaroni, which I think was the right call. Baked in the oven, omitted black pepper and added dash of garlic powder (barely noticeable). Also used 2% milk as thats what I had on hand and old cheddar cheese. My two picky preteens and even my DH (who generally does not like traditional baked mac & cheese) absolutely loved this, in fact, everyone had second helpings (glad I put in that extra cup of pasta!!) plus have a little for lunch leftovers. Very creamy,rich and tasty. Not for those dieting but exceptional comfort food - will definately make again and again and.... This version has now officially replaced my old recipe for baked mac & cheese!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2014

      This is really the best tasting Mac n Cheese out there as far as taste. It's something I make only occasionally though as it's really pretty decadent from a calorie, cholesterol, sodium, ungodly saturated fat perspective. Tastes splendid though. A-

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2013

      Made this for Easter dinner! Our family just loved! Will be making it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Paula Deen Crock Pot Macaroni and Cheese

    Serving Size: 1 (228 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 821.7
     
    Calories from Fat 479
    58%
    Total Fat 53.2 g
    81%
    Saturated Fat 31.9 g
    159%
    Cholesterol 282.7 mg
    94%
    Sodium 1464.5 mg
    61%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.6 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 6.4 g
    25%
    Protein 35.0 g
    70%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites