109 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

there is absolutely no need for dirtying another pot! I boiled the noodles for about 5 minutes, then just mixed everything cold in the crock pot (a double batch), threw it in the fridge overnight and heated it in the morning for a lunch potluck. we haven't eaten yet but I stole a bite and it's AMAZING. gooey, stringy, creamy perfection and not sticking to the pot at all thanks to the butter. I added a chunk of shredded gruyere with the cheddar for a little fondue-y taste, used skim milk, lite sour cream and the stick "ICBINT for baking" (losing the caloric battle with all that cheese, but every little bit helps!), and I also omitted the eggs (because I forgot to buy them). definitely never use bagged shredded cheese in recipes like this - they coat it with an anti-caking agent to prevent sticking together but it also prevents nice creamy melting. this is superb though; try it!

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lendzionl September 16, 2009

After reading a lot of reviews & using some common "cook" sense here's how this turned out suberb! While the noodles were cooking (6 min), I sprayed the pot lightly with Pam (just in case, like 1 reviewer suggested), turned my 3-qt Crock Pot on High & melted the butter (not margarine) & sharp cheese (I grated 16 oz wedge of sharp hoop cheese & reserved a little for the top later). Was not completely melted when other ingredients were added, but it did not matter- was all melted in the end. Turned the pot to Low. Whisked all the other ingredients in a separate bowl first before adding them to the pot. In this order: 1 beaten egg, sour cream, spices (used white pepper), soup, 1% milk. Added the noodles last. (compromised on the amount: a little more than the recipe calls for, but not quite the whole box. I think it would be fine to if you want to stretch it a little farther. It was plenty cheesy!) Was definitely ready to eat in 1 1/2 hours. Stirred it often. Sprinkled rest of cheese on top for last 20-30 min. Next time, I will try 2 eggs & reduced fat sour cream. Will never substitute the hoop cheese!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dwpete October 05, 2009

I make this recipe all the time for my family. it is the best mac n cz as far as my family is concerned. I make it exactly as the recipe states. I usaully have to triple recipe because it is gone so fast. If I don't make it for the get together everyone is very disappointed. Get recipe!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
melissavaz May 27, 2011

Ok I am a stay at home dad(not sure how long this will last) trying to learn to cook. I have it all together and in the crockpot! Wow I am cooking something :) I used the eggs becuase guys just like cracking and breaking stuff. It looks good and I'll let you know how it turns out.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dad2cool March 18, 2011

I tried this recipe for the first time today. It was GREAT. I doubled the recipe...use 2 eggs, 1 tsp of Gouldens Spicy mustard instead of dry mustard and about a 1/2 cup of pepper jack cheese.. I will make this again and again..It was a big hit..

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
melshrider November 25, 2010

This was just too creamy for us and the soup gave it a processed flavor. I would not make this again.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. DeVelopment November 07, 2010

I admit when I watched Paula Deen make this on her show, I thought it looked terrible. However, the base seemed good. So I decided to give it a whirl. First, I used corkscrew pasta. The sauce clung to the ridges so nicely.
I used 8 oz. of smoked cheddar with about 3 oz of parmisagna cheese and instead of dry mustard, I used a tablespoon of Dijon mustard along with a 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder.
After cooking the pasta, I tossed it into the slow cooker with 1/2 cup of half and half, 1/2 cup of chicken stock and about 1/8 cup of 2% milk. Stirred it well with the pasta, then while stirring, added the three beaten eggs to temper them a little better than Paula did on the show.
I also chose to melt the butter and cheese on the stove top along with the can of cheese soup, sour cream, salt, pepper, mustard and garlic powder. I added the cheese mixture to the pasta mixture in the slow cooker as the final step. It was AMAZINGLY DELICIOUS!!!!!!!!!!! Very smooth and creamy and the smokey cheddar cheese was a nice touch. Try it!! :o)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vhsharp January 06, 2011

I discovered this recipe a couple years ago when my obsession with all things Paula Deen began...This is my fav mac & cheese recipe. I've taken this to multiple pot lucks and its always a hit and people are begging for more. I don't use the crockpot. I usually just put in the oven for about an hour on 350 and its amazing!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsKNP June 22, 2012

Wow! This was fabulous!!!!! Took it to a Christmas potluck and everyone raved about it. They even admitted things like "This was better than my recipe and I always thought mine was the best" type of thing.

It is definitely one I will use again. I doubled the recipe, and there was only enough leftover to have a tiny bit with my lunch today! It was totally devoured!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
griffiths_melissa December 19, 2011

Made this for an event and everyone wanted the recipe. Took others advice and omitted the eggs (no curdling), added onion and garlic powders, cayenne pepper, paprika and nutmeg. Delish!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
princessmommie February 24, 2010
Paula Deen Crock Pot Macaroni and Cheese