Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Paul Prudhomme's Cajun Meat Loaf Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Paul Prudhomme's Cajun Meat Loaf

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on March 21, 2014

      Excellent meatloaf. Made as written except less cayenne and salt. Looking forward to the leftovers. Served with Cajun Cole Slaw, Paul Prudhomme's Cajun Sauce for Beef and Cajun potatoes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2014

      Makethis weekly. Such a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2013

      This is the very best meatloaf that anyone could make. I've made it for company and then had to send the recipe home with some of guests.. Everyone in my family has it and makes no other.<br/>I did, however, make a slight change in an effort to reduce calories by using 2% or no fat evaporated milk, use a lean beef and combination turkey and pork for a little less fat. I have made it exactly as the recipe is written and the lower fat/calorie recipe tastes no different. Just don't cook it as long since it can dry out because of the lesser amount of fat.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2013

      There is no better meatloaf recipe in the world. While it needs absolutely nothing changed, sometimes I put a layer of bleu cheese in the middle!! This has been my "go to" meatloaf for 20 years and never fails to disappoint.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2013

      If you are looking for THE perfect meatloaf recipe, look no further. I've been making this recipe since I bought Paul's cookbook in 1993. I have friends who ask me to make this for their birthday present. It's that good! The secret to this being so good, in my opinion, is sauteing and carmalizing all the veggies first. The flavor is incredible and it satisfies that craving we want. All the time spent on preparing this recipe is well worth it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2013

      I have been making this for years, ever since it appeared in his "Louisiana Kitchen" cookbook. This recipe never fails to excite the tastebuds. If you want to save some time, skip the "very hot sauce for beef" and serve it with Sriracha. <br/><br/>I met Paul about five times at events and once at K-Pauls. He is a very personable fellow with a gift for gab.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2013

      What I love about this recipe is that it blows the doors off of the perception of meatloaf. I%u2019ve never had anything but rave reviews because this is a true crowd pleaser.

      I've been making this for almost 20 years, as it is relatively easy and feeds a large crowd. Also I typically make two when I make this and freeze one for future use just double up on the ingredients. They freeze well and all you do is defrost in the morning and bake it when you get home from work. As far as modifications, I've found that a better ingredient for the 'evaporated milk' is sour cream, it makes it extremely moist and this conveys the flavors slightly better than the canned milk. Feel free to use the store packaged %u201Cmeatloaf mix of ground veal, pork and beef, just achieve the 2lb of meat for each loaf. I also sometimes add cheddar cheese. Also, you can modify any of the veggies to add carrots zucchini etc%u2026%u2026.it%u2019s that type of recipe. I once added chopped olives and feta cheese for a Greek version, so yummy!!! You get the idea

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2012

      Will never eat another meatloaf again! Paul Prudhomme recipes are simply delicious. Always a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2012

      This is the best tasting meatloaf EVER. My husband used to make it and now I've taken over. Do not be discouraged by the seemingly long list if ingredients. Most of it is standard Prudhomme fare, and his recipes are all outstanding in the taste department. Make sure you complete the recipe with Prudhomme's oven-baked rice and coleslaw recipes. You will be a star!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2012

      This is so tasty! Anyone who says they don't like meatloaf will change their minds!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2011

      If you like meatfloaf and you like spicy food, this is a "must make"! You should be sure to also prepare Paul Prudhomme's Very Hot Cajun Sauce for Beef to go with it. However, let me warn you that if you prepare both and don't have any help, plan to spend several (at least 3) hours chopping etc in order to prepare this wonderful dish. Well worth it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2011

      Hi Tracey. I am not a fan of meat loaf either. But I made this for my family and I really like it too. Not your regular meat loaf that for sure. But, 1 tablespoon of salt is too much. I made it the first time using this amount and it was way too salty. Today, I made this recipe again but only used 1 teaspoon and it came out perfect. Thanks for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Paul Prudhomme's Cajun Meat Loaf

    Serving Size: 1 (291 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 574.9
     
    Calories from Fat 334
    58%
    Total Fat 37.1 g
    57%
    Saturated Fat 16.3 g
    81%
    Cholesterol 192.8 mg
    64%
    Sodium 1712.1 mg
    71%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.8 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 7.5 g
    30%
    Protein 34.5 g
    69%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes