12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is the very best meatloaf that anyone could make. I've made it for company and then had to send the recipe home with some of guests.. Everyone in my family has it and makes no other.<br/>I did, however, make a slight change in an effort to reduce calories by using 2% or no fat evaporated milk, use a lean beef and combination turkey and pork for a little less fat. I have made it exactly as the recipe is written and the lower fat/calorie recipe tastes no different. Just don't cook it as long since it can dry out because of the lesser amount of fat.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
laurieanne_7785912 December 24, 2013

Make this weekly. Such a great recipe, no salt or only 1/4 tsp.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tony G February 11, 2015

There is no better meatloaf recipe in the world. While it needs absolutely nothing changed, sometimes I put a layer of bleu cheese in the middle!! This has been my "go to" meatloaf for 20 years and never fails to disappoint.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
texasjj December 14, 2013

If you are looking for THE perfect meatloaf recipe, look no further. I've been making this recipe since I bought Paul's cookbook in 1993. I have friends who ask me to make this for their birthday present. It's that good! The secret to this being so good, in my opinion, is sauteing and carmalizing all the veggies first. The flavor is incredible and it satisfies that craving we want. All the time spent on preparing this recipe is well worth it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ldylesa1 October 08, 2013

I have been making this for years, ever since it appeared in his "Louisiana Kitchen" cookbook. This recipe never fails to excite the tastebuds. If you want to save some time, skip the "very hot sauce for beef" and serve it with Sriracha. <br/><br/>I met Paul about five times at events and once at K-Pauls. He is a very personable fellow with a gift for gab.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CEJ June 17, 2013

What I love about this recipe is that it blows the doors off of the perception of meatloaf. I%u2019ve never had anything but rave reviews because this is a true crowd pleaser.

I've been making this for almost 20 years, as it is relatively easy and feeds a large crowd. Also I typically make two when I make this and freeze one for future use just double up on the ingredients. They freeze well and all you do is defrost in the morning and bake it when you get home from work. As far as modifications, I've found that a better ingredient for the 'evaporated milk' is sour cream, it makes it extremely moist and this conveys the flavors slightly better than the canned milk. Feel free to use the store packaged %u201Cmeatloaf mix of ground veal, pork and beef, just achieve the 2lb of meat for each loaf. I also sometimes add cheddar cheese. Also, you can modify any of the veggies to add carrots zucchini etc%u2026%u2026.it%u2019s that type of recipe. I once added chopped olives and feta cheese for a Greek version, so yummy!!! You get the idea

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
repoman63 February 13, 2013

Will never eat another meatloaf again! Paul Prudhomme recipes are simply delicious. Always a winner!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mfitch13 May 15, 2012

This is the best tasting meatloaf EVER. My husband used to make it and now I've taken over. Do not be discouraged by the seemingly long list if ingredients. Most of it is standard Prudhomme fare, and his recipes are all outstanding in the taste department. Make sure you complete the recipe with Prudhomme's oven-baked rice and coleslaw recipes. You will be a star!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
be_well_12730616 March 09, 2012

This is so tasty! Anyone who says they don't like meatloaf will change their minds!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tcu_cook January 01, 2012
Paul Prudhomme's Cajun Meat Loaf