8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have a Paul Newman cookbook, which includes an egg in the creamed-spinach recipe. "Gradually beat heavy cream and egg into the cream cheese. Stir mixture into chopped spinach. Heat oever meadium heat, sitrring frequeantly until well blneded and creamy. Serve immediately."

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LeNahProv10:12 April 08, 2013

Delicious! I have been trying various creamed spinach recipes and this one tops this list for both flavor and ease of preparation. I did adapt the recipe a bit by adding some sauteed onion and some Parmesan cheese.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swissms March 13, 2011

This was really good and easy! Next time I'll add some parmesan cheese.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommymakeit4u January 31, 2011

In rereading this recipe I decided that I messed up too much for a rating. I loved the cooking method, but I completely failed to drain the spinach enough and I also missed the chopping step. I will make this again and do it right. Even if we end up not liking the sauce, I will use the cooking method again with other recipes that I might try.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evewitch September 22, 2009

A scrumptious recipe! I ended up using more nutmeg than called for, and didn't use as much cream. I also didn't chop the spinach, but left it whole. The family loved it! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buckwheatjr. July 08, 2008

I'm done searching -- this is the creamed spinach recipe for me. This was really delicious. And not bad from a health standpoint! I used Neufchatel instead of cream cheese, and instead of heavy cream I used Low-fat Heavy Cream Substitute. The touch of nutmeg really added so much. Both my husband and I loved this recipe -- thanks so much for posting it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KLHquilts January 31, 2008

Hello Pianolady, fantastic recipe! Just tweaked it to suit our personal preferences. Added grated onion and sauteed fresh mushroom pieces. We have been testing about 10 different recipes for creamed spinach and this was up there. Thank you so much for posting a terrific recipe, Diane :=)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Manami March 19, 2007

Delicious! I used lowfat cream cheese, fat free 1/2 and 1/2 and frozen spinach. I omited the nutmeg and added fresh parmesan to the cream mixture which I heated in a small pot while stirring with a wisk. Than added the frozen spinach which I had cooked in the mircrowave.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cook4you March 04, 2005
Paul Newman's Creamed Spinach