Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Paul Newman's Creamed Spinach Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Paul Newman's Creamed Spinach

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on April 08, 2013

      I have a Paul Newman cookbook, which includes an egg in the creamed-spinach recipe. "Gradually beat heavy cream and egg into the cream cheese. Stir mixture into chopped spinach. Heat oever meadium heat, sitrring frequeantly until well blneded and creamy. Serve immediately."

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2011

      Delicious! I have been trying various creamed spinach recipes and this one tops this list for both flavor and ease of preparation. I did adapt the recipe a bit by adding some sauteed onion and some Parmesan cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2011

      This was really good and easy! Next time I'll add some parmesan cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2009

      In rereading this recipe I decided that I messed up too much for a rating. I loved the cooking method, but I completely failed to drain the spinach enough and I also missed the chopping step. I will make this again and do it right. Even if we end up not liking the sauce, I will use the cooking method again with other recipes that I might try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2008

      A scrumptious recipe! I ended up using more nutmeg than called for, and didn't use as much cream. I also didn't chop the spinach, but left it whole. The family loved it! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2008

      I'm done searching -- this is the creamed spinach recipe for me. This was really delicious. And not bad from a health standpoint! I used Neufchatel instead of cream cheese, and instead of heavy cream I used Low-fat Heavy Cream Substitute. The touch of nutmeg really added so much. Both my husband and I loved this recipe -- thanks so much for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2007

      Hello Pianolady, fantastic recipe! Just tweaked it to suit our personal preferences. Added grated onion and sauteed fresh mushroom pieces. We have been testing about 10 different recipes for creamed spinach and this was up there. Thank you so much for posting a terrific recipe, Diane :=)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2005

      Delicious! I used lowfat cream cheese, fat free 1/2 and 1/2 and frozen spinach. I omited the nutmeg and added fresh parmesan to the cream mixture which I heated in a small pot while stirring with a wisk. Than added the frozen spinach which I had cooked in the mircrowave.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Paul Newman's Creamed Spinach

    Serving Size: 1 (164 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 201.9
     
    Calories from Fat 168
    83%
    Total Fat 18.7 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 11.0 g
    55%
    Cholesterol 64.1 mg
    21%
    Sodium 169.4 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.8 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 1.2 g
    4%
    Protein 5.1 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes