Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Paul and Linda McCartney's Split Pea Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Paul and Linda McCartney's Split Pea Soup

    Average Rating:

    38 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 38

    Sort by:

    • on February 10, 2002

      Well, I gotta say I was leary of making this as I am a fan of split pea and ham soup. This was awsome. I made it yesterday for lunch/dinner today and it did not make it past 8:00 P.M. it was that good. My daughter, who is a vegetarian thanks you, and has informed me that not only will I be making it again today, but can plan on making this on a regular basis. The only thing I changed was the tomato-I could not find fresh tomatoes that were worth buying so I used a small can of whole tomatoes with juice. I also liked the fact that I could slide some Lentils past my DH! Excellent recipe! Di

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2003

      This was quite delicious and easy, too. I think I'll reduce the butter next time -- don't get me wrong -- it was utterly delicious -- I just think I could get by with a little less butter and it taste just as good! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2002

      This is delicious and easy to make. Instead of the fresh tomatoes, I used a 16-oz can of 'recipe-cut' tomatoes. I can't see any point in cooking fresh tomatoes that long -- they're going to be just like canned tomatoes after all that time. I used a scant 1/4 CUP of canola margerine rather than the 1/4 LB of butter, and it was certainly rich enough. Butter IS good with split-pea soup, tho. A person who's not worried about cholesterol might want to add a spoonful to a serving made with minimal margerine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2014

      Awesome. Only change was to use 4 cups of low sodium Chicken broth and water to cover. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2012

    • on March 30, 2011

      This was good, but I don't think I'll make it again. I'm not going to rate it because my peas were still too chewy, even after two hours of cooking (I ate a bowl after 1.5 hours and then cooked it another 30 minutes and they were still too chewy). I'm not rating because maybe I was supposed to soak them first? I do like the spicy versions of this kind of soup better. I used a wonderful local butter which enhanced the flavor a lot, but the peas were just too chewy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2010

      I thought this soup was excellent. At first I thought it was incredibly thick but once I used the stick blender to puree it, the soup became much thinner and was the perfect consistency. I did leave out the tomatoes, and would probably do so again. I'll definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2010

      While this soup doesn't necessarily stand out from among the many other similiar recipes, it is indeed delicious, and with the exception of the butter, quite nutritious. I added 1/4 c whole milk & 1/4 c light butter at the end, which definetly 'made' the soup (I tasted it before those additions and it was nothing to write home about!). I also used carrots rather than leeks (I'll use leeks next time I make this) and drizzled lemon juice ontop while serving. Yum :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2009

      Took previous raters advice and added stock cube and didn't add ANY dairy and this was GREAT and easy to boot! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2009

      This was nice, but high in fat! Works out to be 6 weight watchers points per serve (and it serves 8 small serves). I wonder if a stock cube could be used (instead of just water) and then less butter added at the end.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2009

      Yes, yes, yes! I've made this recipe a handful of times, making several adjustments along the way based on what was in my pantry. I've taken to adding 1/2 lb of lentils, 2.5-3 diced onions, diced canned tomatoes, and skipping the leeks. It tastes just as good as following the recipe to a T and cuts back on costs. I add butter/margarine to my bowl to taste instead of all at once. My coworkers like when I bring this in for lunch because it makes the kitchen smell so wonderful... I always have a bowl or two in the freezer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2009

    • on January 28, 2009

      I didn't have the orange lentils or the leeks, so I had to improvise. I used 1 pound of dried split peas and about 4 medium carrots chopped in addition to the celery and onion. When it was done, I stirred in a can of Rotel and 1/2 stick butter and salt to taste. It turned out delicious!! Even my carnivore husband said it was good. I was so happy to find a good vegetarian split pea soup that could stand on it's own! The left-overs were equally delicious. We had an ice storm yesterday, and this soup was so good! Next time, I might try 5 cups of vegetable broth in place of the water. Lennie, thank you for the post! God Bless Linda McCartney!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      Lol! I have not made this soup yet, but I'm giving you 5 stars for the name ;) I'll come back to update.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      best soup I've ever made. And SO EASY! You just throw it all in a pot and then in a while it's done!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      Yum! One of my favorite Split Pea Soups, despite the lack of ham/smoked hock etc. I was a little nervous that it wouldn't have much flavor but it really does! This will definitely become a staple in my home, especially when money is tight. I didn't have tomatoes since they're out of season right now, so I used a 15oz. can of diced tomatoes. I also used my immersion blender at the end to puree most of the soup. I like a smoother texture. Excellent recipe Lennie (& The Mccartney's!).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      Love this! I am used to ham in my split pea soup, but this is just as flavorful and much healthier. I didn't have celery, so I left that out; replaced half the water with low-sodium chicken broth, and added 4 cloves minced garlic. I also used a #2 sized can of crushed tomatoes instead of the tomatoes and only 1/2 the butter called for, topping each serving with a drizzle of olive oil. My picky 8-year old who HATES veggies and most soups LOVED it and asked me to make it again. She also said it tasted "like it had meat in it." That speaks volumes! Thank you for posting this wonderful, versatile recipe which stands up well to variations!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      YUMMY!!! So much richer than plain split pea soup! My store didn't have orange lentils so I used red. I don't like celery so I left it out. Completely forgot to buy leeks, so left them out too. I used 3T of butter and a 16 oz can of petite diced tomats. I then froze in a bunch of 2c containers for lunch on the go. Had one today and YUM!! Definite keeper! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      Delicious. I had had this once at a friends and couldn't stop thinking about it, so it was my great loss that I waited a full 6 months until I got the recipe. My bad. My only qualm was that it took ages for these split peas to cook properly, and after 2.5 hours (I made a double batch) I just gave up and ate it with rather firm peas. Nonetheless, it was DELICIOUS and froze (for all of two days, until we HAD to have it again) beautifully. Sprinkle with parmasean cheese, or even go ahead and add your ham (which, of course, is a soy ham substitute). Either way, it's a winner! I replaced leeks with onions and sauteed all of the onions in butter first and added less butter at the end. I thought it would add something, but it wasn't necessary. I'll simplify next time. THANK YOU!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2008

      YUMMY! I made a couple of minor changes. I didn't have any fresh tomatoes, so I added one can of diced tomatoes. I didn't have any leeks, so I used carrots instead. That gave it great color! I didn't add the butter at all. Still . . . SOOOO yummy! All 3 of my kids slurped it up. So did my husband. My oldest asked to put it in a thermos for school tomorrow. :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Paul and Linda McCartney's Split Pea Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (306 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 282.0
     
    Calories from Fat 109
    38%
    Total Fat 12.1 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 7.3 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 30.5 mg
    10%
    Sodium 133.9 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.2 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 13.1 g
    52%
    Sugars 5.8 g
    23%
    Protein 11.7 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes