Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Patty Melt Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Patty Melt

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on January 07, 2013

      OMG - this is even better than a patty melt at the local diner! Great flavor and much more filling. I made this exactly as posted, except I used Swiss cheese slices, rather than grated. The end result was gooey, cheesy, oniony goodness! I served this with some homemade pub fries for a truly indulgent meal! Thanks for sharing this fabulous recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2013

      Yum! This was the first patty melt I've ever tried, and it was lovely. Made it with rye bread for DH and buckwheat bread for me to be gluten free. Also I used goat's cheese which is much like swiss. The instructions are great, it would never have occurred to me to fry the second side of the patty on top of the onions. This goes very well with a green salad, and I'll make it again for sure :) Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2013

      Oh Oh My, these Pammy Melts ROCK! This recipe should come with a PSA & warning: Roll up your sleeves and have plenty of napkins on hand. These are juicy and full of flavor. I pulse the rye bread slices in the food processor to make the crumbs undetectable to the teens, then added the milk. To save time, I made the onions ahead of time and set aside. Then fried the burgers and tossed the onions back in the pan and followed the recipe as suggested. I prefer American Cheese to Swiss and IMO yellow mustard puts this sammich over the top! My family went crazy for this, as I did. My kids have never had a patty melt before and LOVED them. Do not skimp on any of the ingredients or you will be missing out on the full blown experience! <br/>This will be made often. Lovingly made in honor of PammyOwl Cook-a-Thon, RIP sweet lady. You will be missed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2013

      Very Yummy!! WE loves them! I haven't had a patty melt in 20 years! These are soooooooo good. I made two of these and used more beef. I also salt and peppered outside of the patties before cooking (personal preference). This is a great recipe! I didn't have swiss, or rye - so I used thick sourdough and american & cheddar cheese. I used 90% lean beef and mixed a bit of pepper, onion powder and a tsp of olive oil before grilling. It turned out fantastic. Would I do this again? Absolutely! Thanks for a keeper! <br/> Grpa I can do the happy food dance Now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2013

      Made these last not in honor of Pammyowl's cook-a-thon. I love that Rosie has named them "Pammy Melts" so appropriate. That said they were so easy to put together and love the method of cooking the second side of the hamburger on top of the onions - it adds a lot of flavor. I used my home made sourdough rye bread and a slices of Swiss cheese instead of grated as that's what I had on hand. Also added a tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce to the butter when frying and added spicy mustard to the sandwich at the end. Served with home made chunky tomato soup. What a wonderful, easy dinner for a very cool and cloudy fall day. The fried onions really make this sandwich.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2013

      May 05, 2013: Oh my gosh!... Delicious is the word that suits these sandwiches. I made these for lunch yesterday for hubby and I (I used the converter above the ingredient list to make it for 2). I made the recipe exactly as stated, with the only exception being that I used an "Oat Bran" bread since that is all we have in the house. No matter... still wonderful. It made me think back to the good ol' days when my mom used to take us to the local diner for patty melts! Thank you for posting this great recipe. I will be sure to make this again using the rye bread, or maybe even try my favorite... sourdough! LOL. (Made for PRMR). UPDATE May 14, 2013: Last night was our third time making these, and we made 2 using Rye (without carraway seeds) and 2 with Sourdough... and we used a grainy Dijon mustard on 2 of the 4 (one of each) inside of the bread slices. BOTH turned out fantastic! I think I will try prepared, yellow mustard next time. On the one sourdough sandwhich (without the mustard), I sprinkled a little garlic powder on the buttered sides before frying... WOW!!! Hubby loves these and says that we must keep the few simple ingredients on hand at all times! He wants to eat them daily now.... (Thanks a lot, Pammyowl). We now call them "Pammy Melts"!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2014

      This made a very good patty melt. Our in-house beef expert gave it five stars. I particularly liked the onions on it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2014

      We are all still licking our chops after having these Patty Melts for dinner. One son that this definitely needs to be added to our regular rotation! I didn't have onion powder so I subbed some grated onion to the patties. I also used cheese slices, some swiss and some cheddar. I wanted to use sourdough bread because we're not a fan of rye bread, but could only find Pepperidge Farm Italian bread. Instead of butter, I spread a thin layer of light mayo on the bread before cooking the sammies. I trimmed my patty down by using 1/6 of the meat mixture and the rest I divided into four patties. This will definitely be made again and is going straight into my Best of 2014 cookbook. Made for Best of 2013 tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2013

      This is the first patty Melt I had in my life. How did I walk through earth for almost 50 years with out trying this??? Fantastic. For me, they will always be "Pammy Melts".

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2013

      Great sandwich! Now I don't have to go out to get one -- I can just make it myself at home. Made as directed and it turned out great. Will definitely make them again! Made for Pammyowl's Cook-A-Thon, November, 2013.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2013

      I haven't had a patty melt in years. What was I waiting for? Maybe this recipe! This was absolutely delicous. I followed the directions exactly (for my burger - my husband just likes a plain burger with lettuce, on a bun) and had excellent results. The burger was tender, juicy and perfectly done (I like mine medium to medium rare). The cheese and onions were sooooooo yummy. Plus, I adore rye bread. Yummy, yummy. I don't eat red meat too often, but this will be one of my top choices when I do. Made in memory of Pammyowl.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2013

      These were delish! Loved the method of cooking the other side of the patty on top of the onions! Really infused great onion flavor inside the patty! I used really thick slices of swiss-cheesy-meaty-oniony goodness all in one yummy bite! Served with home fries!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2013

      Yum! Who doesn't love a great patty melt? I live out in the toolies so sometimes certain breads can be hard to find. I did find a dark rye (but marbled rye is my fav) and made 2 servings of this. We both wolfed them down. Thanks pammyowl for sharing. Made for Cookbook Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2013

      This recipe belongs in the Smithsonian! So quintessinally American and delicious. DH warned: "Don't lose this recipe!" DH normally has 2 hamburgers, but 1 is all he could handle, so I have 2 sandwiches fully cooked which I will reheat at 250F for 25-30 minutes. I made oblong oval patties, but next time I would measure the bread to be used and elongate the patties for more thorough cooking and a bigger platform for the second layer of swiss and the fried onions. If this recipe could be improved, it would be to suggest cooking times for a target meat doneness; my patties were still rather plump and although I let them brown for 5 minutes on the first go-round, there were parts that appeared not fully cooked to medium rare when served. I used Apple-Smoked Swiss cheese, and it was divine. I was delighted with the ungreasy fried onions; I began with 3 cups of sliced onion for 2 large onions, but I had a lot left over, so I think that 2 medium onions (2 cups) would suffice. If anyone else is as slow as me in tearing up the bread into small pieces, I think this recipe would justify using a food processor that would tear up the bread for you. By the time it came to grilling the sandwiches, I found my 5-qt deep pan to be too cumbersome to lay down the tall sandwiches and then turn them, yet switching to a non-stick saute pan worked wonders. (Can you tell I don't make sandwiches like this very often?) I used a bunch of plates as I didn't want to save the meat on a plate which had previously held a rarer meat patty. Would I do this again? Absolutely! Made for Please Review My Recipe tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Patty Melt

    Serving Size: 1 (395 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 865.3
     
    Calories from Fat 443
    51%
    Total Fat 49.2 g
    75%
    Saturated Fat 23.9 g
    119%
    Cholesterol 181.6 mg
    60%
    Sodium 1237.7 mg
    51%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.4 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 6.0 g
    24%
    Sugars 7.0 g
    28%
    Protein 54.1 g
    108%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites