Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Patti Labelle's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Patti Labelle's Macaroni and Cheese

    Average Rating:

    104 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 104

    Sort by:

    • on August 12, 2002

      This was good Mac and Cheese. My girls ate it right up. I really like my mac and cheese to be a creamier though. This was very cheesy,but a stringy cheesy and I would have left out some of the butter had I known it was going to be so rich. It did have a good taste. Be sure to use the sharp cheddar. It really adds a zing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2002

      I have been making macaroni & Cheese casseroles for over 15 years! This is the absolute best recipe I have ever come across! My entire family enjoyed it! You can't go wrong with this recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2002

      It is good and the whole family liked it. We also like ours to be creamier, so even though I added a little extra half&half, I will add even more the next time. After 30 minutes of baking it was a little too dry for our taste, but definately good and a keeper. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2002

      This is one of the best macaroni and cheese recipes I have ever had. What a great combination of cheeses! Very rich and full of flavor as I really liked the addition of seasoned salt. I added some seasoned bread crumbs on the top for a crunchy crust, but that's just a personal preference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2002

      I printed this recipe out after seeing it made on Oprah. When finding it posted on Recipezaar, it had omitted the 1/2 cup shredded mild Cheddar cheese which was in the origial recipe. This is a true winner to bring to a pot luck-but be ready to get invited to many more after they taste it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2002

      My husband and I loved it; but my kids (believe it or not) prefer the ol' box mac and cheese to this. It wasn't as good when it was re-heated the next day; so because of this when I make it for my husband and me again I will cut the recipe in half so there won't be leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2002

      Awesome recipe!! I used milk instead of half and half to cut down on fat and it was just delicous. Everyone at my dinner party raved over it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2002

      This is a real winner. I'll definitely make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2002

      Just wanted to tell you Yopper that this was outstanding!! I did add alot more cheese than what the recipe called for but we like cheese alot. It turned out just perfect and tasted even better. THANKS

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2002

    • on February 08, 2011

      Due to what other's had said I added 1/4 more teaspoon of seasoning salt. Other than that I did exactly as the recipe said. It is an amazing recipe. The complaints that I have seen on here about the cheese curdleing comes from boiling the macaroni too long. It needs to be really super aldente in order to still be able to absorb the moisture of the ingredients. Rave reviews from me though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2011

      I love Patti, but this mac and cheese was way over the rainbow for me. It was way too rich, too dry and definitely too bland. Just because it has a lot of cheese doesn't make it good which is what I found out about this recipe. Actually a good sharp and monterey or mozerrella is good enough to me. This recipe needed more seasoning. I think that the macaroni noodles should always be cooked al dente in salted water. This method ususally works out the best to me for any pasta to be cooked. So I will still be making mine with without the expense of all the extra cheeses. Also, I hate velvetta in mac and cheese. However, cream of cheddar soup is very good to me in mac and cheese and doesn't taste as artificial as velvetta does. I gave this a 3 only because it wasn't awful.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2010

      Fabulous! Instead of buying all those different cheeses I used 2 cups Mexican cheese blend and the Velveeta........I also used canned evaporated milk in place of half and half and it was delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2010

      This was delicious! I've never made mac and cheese with the eggs in it before and I'm so glad I tried this recipe. I did add a bit more salt as others suggested. I also only used the sharp cheeses (l cup of each) and Velveeta. I'm making it a day ahead of time and hope that it reheats well in the crock pot on low. Thanks for posting this recipe. It was well worth trying and I'm sure I'll be making it again!! This is a keeper! Note: I did reheat it the next day in the crockpot on low. I was unsure if it work well because it was a solid block after being in the fridge over night. But after warming up and with a few stirs all was well!! There wasn't a bite of it left and I had doubled the recipe for a family gathering!! So I'd say that at least 20 people or more would give this recipe 5 stars...just on this one use!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      Made this for a group of friends. It was very good and I will make it again but it needs salt. That little 1/4 tsp of seasoning salt just wasn't enough. This is now my favority mac and cheese recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2009

      being a mac and cheese connoisseur i am always willing to try a new recipe. i followed this recipe to a T (even with the velveeta which i was hesitant about) and it turned out quite nicely. taste is definitely along the lines of stouffer's - a comfort M&C Pros: Much less time-intensive than the Martha Stewart M&C recipe - you can make this in one pan on the stovetop Cons: some may think this is a bit bland - will add more seasoning salt next time. also missing a crispy bread crust on top which i would also add

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2009

      After reading some revies that this mac was bland, I really wanted to make it. With all that cheese how could it be bland?! Well, it is. I will not make this again. I am hunting for the best mac and cheese and have made many. This one is towards the bottom of the list. Try another for sure unless you like air.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      Good recipe. I used gluten free rice pasta. I can't eat cow's milk products, so I used 1 c. goat's milk chedder, 1 c. hard rosemary goat's milk chedder, and 8 oz soft goat cheese instead of velveeta. Turned out quite tasty and no problems re-heating the next day.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2008

      The best Mac & cheese recipe I have made yet. I doubled all the cheese except for the Velvetta. I added 2 1/2 cups of half & half instead of 2 and cooked the cheese, butter and half and half on the stove top. Once melted I added it to the macaroni and put in the oven. I served this to a large party and everyone told me it was the best mac & cheese they ever ate.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2014

      While this was very cheesy and rich it had no flavor. I was very surprised because I thought with all the different types of cheese surely it would be very flavorful. Very disappointed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Patti Labelle's Macaroni and Cheese

    Serving Size: 1 (203 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 631.7
     
    Calories from Fat 348
    55%
    Total Fat 38.7 g
    59%
    Saturated Fat 23.0 g
    115%
    Cholesterol 153.5 mg
    51%
    Sodium 749.6 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 48.3 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 22.4 g
    44%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites