22 Reviews

I wish I had read these reviews beffore I tried to make this. It's an awesome idea, and I'll make again sometime, but deffinatly do NOT try to put two tablespoons into each cupcake cup. I ended up with a mess when I took it out of the oven. I managed to cut the cupcakes out so that they were approximatly the right shape and cover the imperfections with frosting, but I would stick to 1 1/2 tablespoons per color or mabe one of eace red & blue and 2 of the white..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mowzyhead May 27, 2012

Searched for something festive to take to the fireworks this year for our family. This was a hit. What fun and colorful cupcakes! My 5 year old niece thought they were amazing! I used wilton coloring to get a deep color in the batter. I made exactly as listed and they turned out great! Frosted with buttercream in a red/blue striped pastry bag. Sure to become a yearly tradition! Thanks for sharing Lvs2Cook! Can't wait to try different colors for other holidays :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Danny's Wife :D August 02, 2011

I had fun making these and they were, of course, a big hit at the Fourth of July party I brought them to! My guests were intrigued and they were delicious :) I swirled store bought vanilla cake icing on top and sprinkled with red sugar crystals.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JelliCelli July 08, 2011

What a fun recipe! I made Vibrant Rainbow Cake a couple weeks ago, and that gave me the idea to look for something red, white and blue for July 4th. Your cupcake recipe was a hit at our house! Thanks so much for posting it here.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy :-( July 06, 2010

What an adorable recipe, so festive. My family really enjoyed them. I think this will be a 4th of July tradition from now on. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Paula July 05, 2010

These turned out very cute and they were so easy to make. Thanks for the great idea and recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karamia July 05, 2009

Very cute. My kids had a lot of fun making these. We made cream cheese icing instead of using canned. The tops look green when they come out, but will be blue on the inside and you will not notice once frosted.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nmj July 04, 2009

These turned out really cute! Thank you for the great idea :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chez Michelle July 03, 2009

Sooo Cute and PATRIOTIC.. Our fourth was rained out and I was so glad that I made these for the kids to decorate.. Made it seem more 4thish.. We had a group of people over and I had 2 sets of age groups 2-6 and 7-9 who took turns decorating these along with making Sparklers.. Thanks for the great idea.. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama Jen July 06, 2008

These came out so cool! My kids and I had the best time making them and decorating them! Now I didn't do as good as job as ShawnaJean but had a blast none the less! I used a Duncan Hines Moist Deluxe white cake mix and used Wiltons gels to color the batter. I used White Frosting for the frosting. Didn't really measure the batter into the cups and I ended up with 24 perfect cupcakes! Thanks for a fun 4th of July dessert!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
QueenJellyBean July 03, 2008
Patriotic 4th of July Cupcakes