22 Reviews

This was really fun to make with my daughters for the 4th of July! We didn't make cupcakes but a 9x13 cake. We just very gently spread the one color on top of the other. It turned out great with the three layers. Topped with white frosting and blue and red sugar crystals. Thanks for the great idea and recipe.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beverly292 July 05, 2008

Wonderful! These turned out so pretty! I used Magnolia Bakery's Vanilla Birthday Cake and Frosting for the icing and the cake, but used your directions to color the batter. I used 1 T. of each color batter in each muffin cup and came out with 24 cupcakes. Everyone loved them and I plan on using this recipe for other holidays. Thank you Lvs2Cook for posting!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim D. July 06, 2011

I like the idea behind these but I've got to say that 2tbsp of each color is too much. The cupcakes overflow. I did approx. 1-1 1/2tbsp per color and they came out perfect. (The box says 24 cupcakes and if it only makes 12 this was they seem overfilled)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RachelB-KY July 05, 2010

These were a very cute idea! I used 1 tbsp. of each color per cupcake and my the tops of my cupcakes overflowed a bit. Being particular about the appearance and a smidge resourceful, while they were cooling in the cupcake pan, I took my round biscuit cutter and cut around each cupcake so that they were perfectly shaped (and thankfully the biscuit cutter was the same size as my Wilton cupcake pan - yea!). The layers came out perfectly! I used Magnolia Bakery's Vanilla Birthday cake and frosting recipe because IMO it's the best! And, they came out beautifully! Thanks for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xpnsve July 06, 2008

I used 1 Tablespoon of batter for each color per cupcake and got 18 cupcakes. They are so cute for the 4th. The other reviewers are right 2 T of batter is way too much batter per cupcake.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DebS #2 July 04, 2012

These cupcakes are awesome! Definitely do only 1 heaping tbsp of each layer color, though otherwise you're going to have a huge mess!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kristinpbdy July 03, 2012

I don't know what to say about this recipe. The idea is cute. But, as written, it just won't work. First, 6 Tbls of batter is way too much for regular size muffin cups. But even if you have larger muffin cups, a cake mix with the added ingredients does not yield enough batter to make these cupcakes as instructed. Math: 6 Tbls x 18 cupcakes = 6.75 cups of batter.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Okra July 06, 2007

I loved these cupcakes and they were a huge smash with my grandkids! I would suggest getting a Red Velvet cake mix along with the white, so that one doesn't use too much of the red food coloring to make this. <br/><br/>As for the frosting....get a good cream cheese frosting mix to put on the top. With a very large frosting bag and a very large star tip, paste blue and red colored frosting (or just professional color paste) on the sides of the bag and carefully place the white frosting inside. Squeeze out the frosting for a bit until you get the nice mix of colors. Just to let you know, the colors will fade quickly, so with that in mind, you may wish to only figure on about 6 cupcake per bag of frosting to get the red, white, and blue colors to stand out. <br/><br/>I wish I knew where to find the cute cupcake papers, as those just top the whole presentation off. My grandkids didn't mind the regular blue, pink and yellow ones, but loved the cake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shepardess July 05, 2014

My family loved these. I liked the way they looked. I didn't add the icing as we thought they were sweet enough and didn't really need it. I took the suggestion of other reviewers and added only a heaping tablespoon of each color mix. Mine were cooked in 17 minutes and I got 12 big cupcakes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol July 05, 2012

had a blast making this with my 3 children!!! however mine came out kinda retro looking. the red turned to be more of hot pink and the blue turned to a teal blue, but it got the point acrossed and everybody enjoyed them! our mess ups in my kitchen are always fun to eat though!!! lol! thank you for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Myopp01 July 04, 2012
Patriotic 4th of July Cupcakes