Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Patacones (fried Plantain) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Patacones (fried Plantain)

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on April 29, 2006

      Patacones are always good. I am from the Caribbean, and this recipe is quite similar to how we make them at home. The only suggestion I have is, try the bottom of a tall glass or a square of wood to flatten the patacones instead of using your hands - just for safety and they flatten better that way. ONE TIP: do never use olive oil, because the patacones won't get crisp. ANOTHER TIP: green platanoes skin give off a sticky substance when you peel them and that's quite difficult to remove with just soap and water. To remove it easily, rub your hands throughly with cooking oil and a teaspoon of table salt. Your hands will feel baby-soft after that, too ;].

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2006

      I have a Colombian mother-in-law as well! When she makes patacones she dips them in a bowl of very salty water with garlic before refrying them. This gives them a great flavor and is a nice adaptation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2011

      AH-MAAAZING! I'd eaten patacones in restaurants and they always seemed delicious and mysterious to me. I had no idea they were so incredibly simple to make -- and the salt/garlic suggestion completely bumps this recipe into perfection. I tried them with and without the salt/garlic water dipping step and flavor-wise I think the dipping adds a subtle I-don't-know-why-this-is-so-addictivly-good component. Thanks so much for sharing everyone!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2010

      This is exactly how my Colombian DH taught me to make them. The hardest part for me was to realize that you are not supposed to fry them to a crisp, but rather like french fried potatoes - crisp outside and tender inside.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2008

      This is the best recipe for patacones I've ever seen. This is EXACTLY how I grew up seeing it made and how I learned to make it myself!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2007

      Like Tassos01 I learned to make these by finishing them up with dipping them into salty flavoured water before frying. My wife uses grated onion and garlic in the water and the flavour is better than the potato pancakes or latkes I have always been used to. These are a real crowd pleaser, and here in Canada people always flip out when I tell them after they have tried them that they are "bananas"; they just can't believe it, "but they are so good!", they say.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2007

      I brought these to a pot luck and covered each one with a slice of pepper jack cheese. Very well received, everyone liked them. And I picked up on Zatari's hint and flattened each with the bottom of a heavy coffee mug. Easy breezy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2006

      For a sweet treat try frying a little cinnamon and sugar with some butter and using slightly over-ripe plantains. Very tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2006

      I too love these but I only do steps 1-6. Fry them until they are brown and even if they get black a bit they are great. The black is a sticky sugar and I rather enjoy it :) I do drain on papertowels and do not salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Patacones (fried Plantain)

    Serving Size: 1 (716 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 54.6
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    80%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1.7 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.2 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 6.7 g
    26%
    Protein 0.5 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes