Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pastor's Delight, Aw Heck! Everybody's Delight Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pastor's Delight, Aw Heck! Everybody's Delight

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on December 05, 2009

      Love the title of this recipe. I was going to post this and saw it was already here. The version I have adds 2 cans of chopped pears with juice. Add some paper towels before you put the lid on the slow cooker, and the moisture that builds up won't drip down on the cake as it cooks. You can also get a "Bread 'n Cake Bake Pan" from Rival Crock Pot that is a pan with a vented lid that fits in the crockpot... in case you are a kitchen gadget freak like I am. Gotta love the special pans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2014

      My Husband and I enjoyed this recipe. I put it in the crock pot and we had lunch and it was there warm waiting for ice cream. It browned and was gooey and delicious ! I will definitely be making again and trying different pie fillings. Thank you for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2013

      I agree this turned out great, everyone loved it! I did make the mistake of grabbing 2 cans of un-pitted cherries, don't know what I was thinking. Next time I'll go for the pitted ones! I did take the advice of another reviewer (Lelandra) and put some paper towels on top to catch the condensation, that worked really well, it didn't turn out soggy......thanks :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2010

      I loved it, DH gave it a 4. He can kiss my gumbo. Made for P-A-R-T-Y tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2009

      I first made this for my daughter and some of her friends who visited when she was home from college. They loved it and scraped the crockpot clean! I used canned no sugar added cherries instead of pie filling and found it to still be very sweet, especially with vanilla ice cream on top! I've made it with and without the walnuts and it was very good both ways. This is a very easy "dump" dessert which I'm now expected to make at every gathering!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      We had this tonight for dinner-rave reviews. I used a 20 oz (they didn't have 21 oz) no sugar added cherries. It was more than sweet enough if others want to try that route.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2008

      Yummy! This was good. Thanks for sharing such a simple recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2008

      This was unbelievably good. So rich and so sweet that it absolutely HAS to be served with vanilla ice cream. What a treat!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      Yummy! I love anything with cherry filling. I used butter. It's sweet but delicious. I used the walnuts. I cooked it 3 hours. Thanks Sharon :) Made for Zaar Star Game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2007

      I can't believe how easy this is and how tasty the results! I used cherries, cooked for 3 hours and served with vanilla ice cream. I will definitely make this again; thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2007

      I been making this for years. I have made it in the oven, over an open camp fire and now in the crockpot. It makes a delicious and easy dessert. I served mine right out of the crockpot, topped off with frozen vanilla yogurt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2007

      (In an oval crock-pot) I too used pineapple: to experiment, and because a 825grm can of "pieces in natural juice" in Australia is only $2.50!. Unexpectedly, the juice thickened of itself. Topping used: 340grm "Golden Buttercake", which rose and yet produced a lovely shortbread-like mouth-feel. Overall flavour and texture: superb! Just as good cold as hot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2007

      Sharon this was amazing. So easy to make. I used apple pie filling and I thru in a handfull of dried cranberries. I also added the chopped walnuts. I cant wait to try the cherries next! My family really enjoyed this and I WILL be making it again. Love all your recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2006

      We used apple filling & spice cake & it was delish! Looking forward to trying other combinations. It was nice to use the crock for dessert, although the baking smell was killing us all through dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2006

      Wonderful! Following recommendations of some others, I went with the cherry pie filling with devil's food cake mix. Not sure if it's supposed to come out as gooey (cake mix didn't quite look as formed as the picture), but very good. Smelled great while cooking, and when I asked BF how many stars he thought, his hand shot up instantly with 5 fingers (mouth was full...). A keeper. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2006

      I tried this using devil's food cake, a can of cherries in syrup and walnuts-it was amazing! I'd never tried a dessert in the crockpot before, but I will do this all the time. It was so rich and PERFECT served hot with ice cream. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2006

      Maybe I'm one of the few who never knew about this recipe, but now I know, and my daughter says it should be called OMG. I really must agree with her, this was heavenly and so easy that I was skeptical at first. And RICH?! YIKES! I used raspberry filling because we don't care much for the cherry or apple. I sprayed my crockpot first because mine seems to cook a bit hot, and good thing, I think it would have stuck otherwise. What a great recipe, 10 stars if we could give them! Thanks, DivaSharon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2006

      I have been making this wonderful dessert for years! There are many variations to this, one of which is a Dark Forest version made with Devil's Food cake and a can of cherries with walnuts! The variations are as endless as the people making it! Definate hit no matter how you make it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2005

      It was end the 90's today and we had this topped with some ice cream. Perfect! I like this even better than the version made in the oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2004

      This is something my mom made a lot when we were kids, only she never used a crockpot or nuts. I still make this, but here's how I do it: grease 9x9 pan, dump in filling, sprinkle cake mix on top, put little bits of butter a couple inches apart all over the cake and pour about 1/2 C water over everything and bake in 350 oven until golden on top, about thirty minutes. I just might have to try the crockpot for this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pastor's Delight, Aw Heck! Everybody's Delight

    Serving Size: 1 (158 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 428.4
     
    Calories from Fat 172
    40%
    Total Fat 19.1 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 8.4 g
    42%
    Cholesterol 31.8 mg
    10%
    Sodium 526.9 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 62.5 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    9%
    Sugars 37.6 g
    150%
    Protein 3.7 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes