25 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Love the title of this recipe. I was going to post this and saw it was already here. The version I have adds 2 cans of chopped pears with juice. Add some paper towels before you put the lid on the slow cooker, and the moisture that builds up won't drip down on the cake as it cooks. You can also get a "Bread 'n Cake Bake Pan" from Rival Crock Pot that is a pan with a vented lid that fits in the crockpot... in case you are a kitchen gadget freak like I am. Gotta love the special pans.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lelandra December 05, 2009

My Husband and I enjoyed this recipe. I put it in the crock pot and we had lunch and it was there warm waiting for ice cream. It browned and was gooey and delicious ! I will definitely be making again and trying different pie fillings. Thank you for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherry & Carl May 08, 2014

I agree this turned out great, everyone loved it! I did make the mistake of grabbing 2 cans of un-pitted cherries, don't know what I was thinking. Next time I'll go for the pitted ones! I did take the advice of another reviewer (Lelandra) and put some paper towels on top to catch the condensation, that worked really well, it didn't turn out soggy......thanks :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Helen1 December 02, 2013

I loved it, DH gave it a 4. He can kiss my gumbo. Made for P-A-R-T-Y tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng December 11, 2010

I first made this for my daughter and some of her friends who visited when she was home from college. They loved it and scraped the crockpot clean! I used canned no sugar added cherries instead of pie filling and found it to still be very sweet, especially with vanilla ice cream on top! I've made it with and without the walnuts and it was very good both ways. This is a very easy "dump" dessert which I'm now expected to make at every gathering!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DesertRose15 May 30, 2009

We had this tonight for dinner-rave reviews. I used a 20 oz (they didn't have 21 oz) no sugar added cherries. It was more than sweet enough if others want to try that route.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
trishsull June 18, 2008

Yummy! This was good. Thanks for sharing such a simple recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fleeting_roses April 24, 2008

This was unbelievably good. So rich and so sweet that it absolutely HAS to be served with vanilla ice cream. What a treat!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KissKiss March 03, 2008

Yummy! I love anything with cherry filling. I used butter. It's sweet but delicious. I used the walnuts. I cooked it 3 hours. Thanks Sharon :) Made for Zaar Star Game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette January 28, 2008

I can't believe how easy this is and how tasty the results! I used cherries, cooked for 3 hours and served with vanilla ice cream. I will definitely make this again; thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheDancingCook November 20, 2007
Pastor's Delight, Aw Heck! Everybody's Delight