Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pastitsio (Oamc) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pastitsio (Oamc)

    Average Rating:

    76 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 76

    Sort by:

    • on June 07, 2003

      this is a great family dinner and i only made a few changes to lower the fat. i cooked the meat sauce but drained the fat before i added the tomatoes and the other ingredients. to the pasta i only added 1 c of skim milk and 4 tbsp butter, that was more than enough. i made the bechamel with skim milk too, and for the cheese i used a mixture of romano, parmesan and feta. i browned the top under the broiler for 2 minutes at the end. the first few portions didn't hold their shape, but as it cooled it was much easier to serve. this is labor intensive but worth it, everyone had seconds!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2004

      I also used elbows, because that's what I had, and lowfat milk. I let it sit on the stove for about 20 minutes before cutting it, and it was easy to serve that way. Very delicious meal, a hit with the whole family!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2003

      This was wonderful. No need to go out for Pastitsio again. I can now make my own. I made 1/2 of the recipe and used elbow noodles and added an 8 ounce can of tomatoe sauce. I did not have cinnamon stick so i used 1/2 teaspoon of ground cinnamon. We will be having this often. You do need to let this sit for at least 20 minutes before you cut it. This would be great for a party because it makes a lot and it does stay warm for a long time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2011

      I can see why this is the top rated pastitsio on Food.com! It was amazing! I made it exactly as written, and my family LOVED it! I woke up this morning to find my 10 year old son eating a big bowl of the leftovers for breakfast! Lol I have always used ground cinnamon in my meat sauce for moussaka, but I really loved the flavour of the cinnamon stick in this sauce, so I will be switching to your method in the future! Thankyou once again for bringing a little bit of Greece into our home :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2010

      We had never had pastitsio before, but after reading all of the rave reviews I couldn't wait to try it. I'm very glad that I did...we loved it! Even though there are several steps involved in the preparation, it is easy to make and it makes a lot. I halved the recipe and used a combination of beef and pork. Also, I used whole-wheat penne pasta, the kalamata olives, and Parmesan cheese. We are both looking forward to the leftovers tomorrow. Thank you for sharing!! *Made for ZWT6 Xtra Hot Dishes*

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2008

      Excellent. It has a gorgeous flavor from the seasoning. I used ground turkey, 1/3 of the butter in the pasta and skim milk throughout. Also, used parmesan cheese. My husband wants me to make again with ground beef and lamb. I think we actually have 14-16 servings from this. My only trouble was trying to find 2 pans that could fit this properly. Eventually put it in a 9 x 13 and an 8 x 8. Both overflowed slightly. Thanks Evelyn for a meal that everyone likes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2006

      Well, lesson learned on this one...use a lasagna pan this cooked over my pan onto oven floor...grrr. Otherwise this darned good Greek Comfort food. Thank You for sharing this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2014

      This was a wonderful dish though I had some issues with the construction. First of all I wasn't sure if the bechamel sauce was thick enough and then I forgot to add it to the eggs. The sauce seeped into the rest of the dish and I wasn't sure if it should. I let the dish sit for 30 minutes before slicing and after getting the first couple of pieces out I noticed it was swimming in liquid, so I drained it before removing the rest. I did drain the meat mixture before adding the tomatoes. Despite my issues this was delicious and second helpings were in order! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2013

      This was really good. We love all pasta dishes, but his one stands out because of the béchamel sauce on the top, really good. Thank you for sharing with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2013

      Where have I been all my natural born life and never ever once partaking of such a luscious dish? <br/>I made this a month ago and making it again for a dinner party tomorrow! Thank you Evelyn for sharing this outstanding dish. We are committed to eating this at least once a month. We love the hint of sweet from the cinnamon in the dish and the belchamel sauce is heaven!<br/> Not only do I give this the hightest rating, my husband and kids give it 5 stars as well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2012

      A couple of things I wish I had known going in. 1. This recipe does not take two hours. I started with precooked ground beef, and it took me a good three hours. Two, you need a pan bigger than a 9x13. I wound up with a 9x13 and a small casserole dish, but then was off on the quantities to make two even casseroles. So one has only one layer of pasta, and twice as much sauce as it should have. :) The upside is every part of the dish tastes so amazing that I don't think it matters if it comes out perfectly. I had a little left over meat and sauce so I mixed them together and that alone was heaven. Next time I will get a bigger dish and add a little more nutmeg because I think the sauce could use more flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2011

      I cooked this 100% true to the recipe (using ziti because I couldn't find the other), and it was delicious. Probably the best pastitsio I've ever eaten.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      This was new to us. We really enjoyed this pasta dish. I halved it and put it in a 9x13" casserole dish. It was very cheesy and had a nice flavor. I liked the hint of cinnamon. Thanks for sharing. Made for ZWT 6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2010

      This was a really lovely recipe with a wonderful flavor. I don't make pastitsio very often simply because of the time involved, but this will be the recipe I use from now on. Made for the X-tra Hot Dishes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2010

      yummy!!!! will be my favourite now! thanks for shearing :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2010

    • on March 13, 2010

      Great recipe! We really liked the flavor, especially the topping. We like a little more flavor in our meat sauce, so will probably change this next time. Otherwise, fabulous dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2010

    • on January 04, 2010

      Excellent from the first bite till the last. My kids even liked it and that's unusual for my fussy gang!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2009

      You've done it again--another winning recipe. I made Moussaka this morning and some how I ended up with quite a bit of the meat sauce left over. After comparing the meat sauce for both recipes I discovered only minor differences and decided to make this using the leftover. This recipe was reduced by half and made in disposable loaf pans. One of the pans was frozen and the other was enjoyed this evening with a Greek Salad for dinner. Something I know I will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pastitsio (Oamc)

    Serving Size: 1 (310 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 436.5
     
    Calories from Fat 171
    39%
    Total Fat 19.0 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 10.6 g
    53%
    Cholesterol 139.0 mg
    46%
    Sodium 677.4 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.4 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 6.6 g
    26%
    Sugars 6.1 g
    24%
    Protein 12.9 g
    25%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lean ground meat

    kefalotiri

    kefalotiri

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites