76 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

this is a great family dinner and i only made a few changes to lower the fat. i cooked the meat sauce but drained the fat before i added the tomatoes and the other ingredients. to the pasta i only added 1 c of skim milk and 4 tbsp butter, that was more than enough. i made the bechamel with skim milk too, and for the cheese i used a mixture of romano, parmesan and feta. i browned the top under the broiler for 2 minutes at the end. the first few portions didn't hold their shape, but as it cooled it was much easier to serve. this is labor intensive but worth it, everyone had seconds!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chia June 07, 2003

I also used elbows, because that's what I had, and lowfat milk. I let it sit on the stove for about 20 minutes before cutting it, and it was easy to serve that way. Very delicious meal, a hit with the whole family!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sudie February 09, 2004

This was wonderful. No need to go out for Pastitsio again. I can now make my own. I made 1/2 of the recipe and used elbow noodles and added an 8 ounce can of tomatoe sauce. I did not have cinnamon stick so i used 1/2 teaspoon of ground cinnamon. We will be having this often. You do need to let this sit for at least 20 minutes before you cut it. This would be great for a party because it makes a lot and it does stay warm for a long time.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cassiesmydog October 06, 2003

I can see why this is the top rated pastitsio on Food.com! It was amazing! I made it exactly as written, and my family LOVED it! I woke up this morning to find my 10 year old son eating a big bowl of the leftovers for breakfast! Lol I have always used ground cinnamon in my meat sauce for moussaka, but I really loved the flavour of the cinnamon stick in this sauce, so I will be switching to your method in the future! Thankyou once again for bringing a little bit of Greece into our home :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sara 76 July 30, 2011

We had never had pastitsio before, but after reading all of the rave reviews I couldn't wait to try it. I'm very glad that I did...we loved it! Even though there are several steps involved in the preparation, it is easy to make and it makes a lot. I halved the recipe and used a combination of beef and pork. Also, I used whole-wheat penne pasta, the kalamata olives, and Parmesan cheese. We are both looking forward to the leftovers tomorrow. Thank you for sharing!! *Made for ZWT6 Xtra Hot Dishes*

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bayhill June 13, 2010

Excellent. It has a gorgeous flavor from the seasoning. I used ground turkey, 1/3 of the butter in the pasta and skim milk throughout. Also, used parmesan cheese. My husband wants me to make again with ground beef and lamb. I think we actually have 14-16 servings from this. My only trouble was trying to find 2 pans that could fit this properly. Eventually put it in a 9 x 13 and an 8 x 8. Both overflowed slightly. Thanks Evelyn for a meal that everyone likes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookie16 March 24, 2008

Well, lesson learned on this one...use a lasagna pan this cooked over my pan onto oven floor...grrr. Otherwise this darned good Greek Comfort food. Thank You for sharing this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chabear01 June 02, 2006

This was a wonderful dish though I had some issues with the construction. First of all I wasn't sure if the bechamel sauce was thick enough and then I forgot to add it to the eggs. The sauce seeped into the rest of the dish and I wasn't sure if it should. I let the dish sit for 30 minutes before slicing and after getting the first couple of pieces out I noticed it was swimming in liquid, so I drained it before removing the rest. I did drain the meat mixture before adding the tomatoes. Despite my issues this was delicious and second helpings were in order! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GibbyLou March 30, 2014

This was really good. We love all pasta dishes, but his one stands out because of the béchamel sauce on the top, really good. Thank you for sharing with us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour October 19, 2013

Where have I been all my natural born life and never ever once partaking of such a luscious dish? <br/>I made this a month ago and making it again for a dinner party tomorrow! Thank you Evelyn for sharing this outstanding dish. We are committed to eating this at least once a month. We love the hint of sweet from the cinnamon in the dish and the belchamel sauce is heaven!<br/> Not only do I give this the hightest rating, my husband and kids give it 5 stars as well!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robyn in DFW March 30, 2013
Pastitsio (Oamc)