14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this for Easter adn brought it to my Italian in-laws.. they loved it! I used vanilla and baked it much longer(prob. because I didn't drain the ricotta) until it started to brown slighty around th edges of the top. I didn't make the sauce-it was great without it, but will try it next time. Excellent cake, you won't be disappointed!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whatshouldimakeforsupper April 11, 2007

Absolutely Amazing! Thanks Derf! I made this yesterday and it was Great! I don't use whole milk but worked perfectly with 2% and Like JustCallMeJulie, I didn't have a vanilla Bean so I used 2 tsp. vanilla extract (but next time I will get a vanilla bean because I really like the way it looks) I did have to cook it a little longer than specified (but I guess it's different for everyone. I timed it in 5 minute intervals and kept checking it) I will DEFINITELY be making this again, much better than from the Bakery (not to mention less expensive) Thanks for posting this wonderful recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ashbabe April 09, 2007

Creamy richness! Love the cinnamon and vanilla. I did make changes. First I didn`t take notice of the cheese to be drained for at least 3 hours and didn`t have time for that so I mix in 1/4 cup of flour just because I thought it would be to thin and wouldn`t be firm enough. You would never know that I added the flour and it was still moist and creamy. I did chill this because I made it for the next day just brought it to room temp for a couple hour before serving. But it is great cold or warm. I`m sure it`s even better hot out of the oven. I did have to cook it 10 minutes longer then called for.I cut the strawberries before cooking and they were perfect on the cake! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ March 06, 2006

The recipe certainly lived up to the enticing pictures that Derf posted with it. It was easy to prepare; the three phases of straining the ricotta, cooking the rice and combing it with the other components, and baking make it an easy cake to make when there is a lot going on in the kitchen. I wish I had a vanilla bean but I did not so I substituted 2 teaspoons of pure vanilla extract. I baked it in a nonstick, buttered and floured heart-shaped spring form pan and it came out beautifully. I did have to bake it closer to 90 minutes to reach what I considered “done.” It was slightly jiggly in the center, yet firm to the touch. The flavor and texture was out of this world. I served it for Easter dessert and each of my 15 guests ate it and loved it. The sauce seemed to yield a small amount, but you don’t really need much per serving; we felt there was plenty. It was just lovely and I will definitely make it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmejulie March 27, 2005

I made it....It looked so beautiful! We were all excited about tasting the new recipe for the holiday....not so hot. It was nearly flavorless for us. I even used two vanilla beans. I tossed the pie. Bummer because it really cooks up well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita Dei April 04, 2010

This is our new tradition cake from now on to serve on Easter day. It was easy to make and was a huge hit with our family this past Easter (sorry for the delay for the review). We loved the sauce, and next time I will double the recipe! Rich

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefMightyRich August 13, 2009

I followed the recipe exactly and it was awful. Nobody liked it and it was a huge waist of my time and money. Sorry but I will not be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BakingGuru April 17, 2009

Lovely taste, lovely to present, and beautifully simple. I will make this for every special occasion, now. Thanks, Derf!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GreenMtnGirl April 12, 2009

it was a huge hit on Easter and im planning to make it again for thanksgiving.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rhibird November 25, 2008

This was absolutely fabulous!!! Very easy to make. I made this dish for Easter dinner and the family went nuts over it. I will make it again and again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mr.Chef I Am April 09, 2007
Pastiera With Strawberry Sauce - Easter Ricotta Cake