Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pasteles De Guayaba (Guava and Cream Cheese Pastries) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pasteles De Guayaba (Guava and Cream Cheese Pastries)

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on March 10, 2006

      OMG! These are fantastic! And SOO easy to make!! I halved the recipe both times, first time I made them into triangles. The 2nd time I made them bite sized (perfect for a party) ~ To halve Recipe : 8 oz Cream Cheese. 2 Sticks Butter. 1 1/2 cups flour plus flour for rolling. Cut out dough with drinking glass and fill with a slightly heaping 1/2 teaspoon of guava paste. Pinch together edges with fork. Sprinkle with sugar. Makes 28-32 pasteles!! (cook pasteles closer to top rack in oven... I found some of the Large Pasteles weren't completely cooked). They turned out great either way ~ I prefer the smaller size because they're less messy and I can eat a ton! I think the only thing that would disagree with these tiny wonders are my hips!! :O) Thanks so much for posting! P.S. They freeze great too!! :O)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2006

      Thank you so much for this recipe! My husband (of Cuban descent) was amazed at these! He, of course, loves Guava and Cream Cheese and this recipe was just perfect! I went a bit heavier on the guava than the recipe called for, but they were still perfect! He now wants me to make these every day, and we're never going to buy them at the store again!! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2005

      These are so good--and bring back such great memories--eating these for breakfast with cafe con leche. Thank you, Cheryl!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2012

      This recipe was not what I was looking for. I was looking for an authentic, flaky Cuban pastry. This pastry was like pie crust, which was a big disappointment. I was born and raised in Miami,FL, so I have very great and specific expectations when it comes to guava pastries.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2011

      Years ago I found this recipe in this site. Since then I made few times... too much calories to repeat, more than twice a year! :D So, this week I am having a cookie exchange with my neighbors and why not some tropical flavor for a change in this cold Midwest winter? Anyways, it is simple and delicious. Nothing should be changed... DON'T forget to sprinkle sugar on the top... makes a lot of difference on the presentation!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2011

      Delicious! I had some left over guava pasta and this were the perfect recipe to use it up. I halved the recipe and made NO changes. Thanks for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2011

      Absolutely fantastic! DH, who is from Cuba, couldn't stop eating them!! The kids too! Very easy to make and oh so yummy! I did substitute Splenda for sugar though. Definately a keeper!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      Sorry...these may be Guayaba pastries, but they are not Cuban Pastelitos. Cuban Pastelitos could also be known as Cuban puffs, because they are made with puff pastry. Sorry!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2006

      I failed to thank you for your recipe or if maybe I gave the impression that these empanadas are not great, it's just that they are not pastelitos, like we know them in Cuba. These empanadas can be also deep fried and any way you make them they are very popular or at least they used to be and very tasty. With all the shortage that is a daily issue in Cuba not many people have time, materials or desire to make empanadas, least oF all pastelitos. The pastelitos are made with puff pastry (masa de hojaldre in spanish or mil hojas) and are never fried, always baked. And they are all flaky and messy, it is not called puff pastry because they puff up, but because the many layers of dough separate when baked . I just made them yesterday. !!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2006

      The term pasteles have a few different meanings. One being a pastry or empanada.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2006

      these are not pasteles these are pastelios. pasteles are made with a masa like a tamale. but instead of corn you use plantains or yuca.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pasteles De Guayaba (Guava and Cream Cheese Pastries)

    Serving Size: 1 (68 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 403.8
     
    Calories from Fat 297
    73%
    Total Fat 33.0 g
    50%
    Saturated Fat 20.1 g
    100%
    Cholesterol 92.2 mg
    30%
    Sodium 294.3 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.8 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 4.8 g
    9%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    guava paste

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites