432 Reviews

Absolutely delicious!! I used hot italian sausage, but other than that I followed the recipe exactly as written. It's such a quick & easy meal to prepare, but the results are a wonderful tasting meal. Thanks Ginny

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boca Pat January 25, 2004

Wonderful!!I made this for dinner last night and my husband had seconds and thirds! This was my first time cooking with italian sausage and cream and it was perfect. I couldn't find plum tomatoes so I used regular diced canned tomatoes and it was great. Thank you for such a yummy dinner.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BuckeyeBaby January 20, 2004

Excellent! The whole family loved it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef SuzyQ January 12, 2004

Flavorful and stovetop quick; a nice change from ground beef. I used Rigatoni pasta and doubled the recipe. I had trouble thickening the cream sauce (as I always do with other recipes for some reason, a personal problem!). I've tried this as leftovers and after being refrigerated the sauce is thicker, naturally. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheDancingCook November 05, 2003

My family loves this dish! I am always looking for new recipes and this is one of the best I have ever tried. I would also give this dish more than 5 stars. Thanks GinnyP!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diane Schmitt September 06, 2003

Just made this... Out of this universe!! (Quadrupled the onions, deglazed with red wine) otherwise, did it as written!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
islandbear April 09, 2016

Gets 5 stars because it's delicious, easy to make, a nice alternative to a red sauce pasta, a "flexible" recipe and enjoyed by both adults and kids. Thank you for submitting! Followed the recipe mostly to a tee. Didn't have Italian Plum Tomatoes. Ended up using regular canned diced tomatoes and it worked out just fine. (Don't use the petite diced, though. Needed the larger pieces of tomato in there!) Also, I only had half a cup of cream, so used milk for the remainder. Again, was still yummy. I used a half spicy sausage and half sweet. Made the dish spicy enough to be enjoyed by my hubby and me, but not too spicy for the kids. You can always turn up the heat by adding more red pepper, if you like. I recommend using a noodle that takes on the sauce well: rotini, penne, ziti, bowtie... And make sure to cook the pasta al dente, then "let it rest" for 3-5 minutes in the sauce before serving. Great recipe! Has been added to the "Family Favorites" book of recipes. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy December 09, 2015

This is one of our favorite meals. The only change I make is to leave out the red pepper flakes; we don't care for the spiciness. Not very healthy, but it tastes sooooo good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShortOrderChef October 28, 2015

I haven't made this in a couple of months, but this was an amazing dish. My husband I like to try new foods and have friends over to try. It was requested repeatedly by our guests. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jsaus13 October 19, 2015

Awesome I did add some extra ingredients Added 6 garlic and diced 28 fl Oz diced tomatoes with Italian spices minus liquid 3 jalapeño peppers diced Half a jar of 398 fl Oz roasted red peppers diced Had a some left over herb boursin cheese approx 2 tbsp I didn't add salt I added extra tbsp of chili peppers Can't forget the mushrooms Scrumptious easy and quick I make

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Izzy H. October 13, 2015
Pasta with Sausage, Tomatoes, and Cream