436 Reviews

Fantastic! I doubled the recipe and used about 1/2 a box of bowtie pasta, which I think was just about perfect. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aimee67 April 02, 2004

Delicious! And good for the whole family. Had some frineds over who also thoroughly enjoyed it. Substituted penne for rigatoni. Very easy and quick to prepare. Hat off!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vikingmon Skafte March 31, 2004

great! my dh loved it and wants me to make it again within the next couple days. thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandikaake March 20, 2004

I loved this recipe - I would give it more than five stars if I could!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elainiac March 20, 2004

Excellent! I followed this recipe exactly using diced canned tomatoes and after reading the reviews decided to add about 2 cups of penne, which I thought was just slightly too much, next time I will go with about 1-1 1/2 cups to ensure that it stays nice & creamy. This has wonderful flavour for being so quick and easy, I like the suggestion of spinach being added and may try that in the future, though this is delicious exactly as written,my husband and I enjoyed it very much and thought we would like to serve to company sometime. Thanks for sharing this,will be making again without a doubt.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rhonda *J* March 19, 2004

I was a little iffy about this recipe because of all the tomatoes. But even my VERY picky husband loved it. It even tasted great when reheated which is not always the case with pasta.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mainewmn March 16, 2004

I loved this!!! This is my kind of dish. I doubled the recipe and the only addition I made was to add fresh sliced mushrooms. My family said it was so-so, mostly because they do not like chunky, cooked tomatoes. Too bad...more for me. I also thought it was just as good reheated which sometimes is not the case with pasta. I was worried the pasta would absorb all the sauce, but it didn't. I will make single recipe just for myself...very soon. Thanks for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tracy H. March 05, 2004

Wonderful recipe, deserves more than 5 stars. Quick, easy, and a definate hit! We loved the blend of flavors. We too used penne as a choice of pasta and it worked great. Followed the directions to a "T" and the sauce was wonderfully flavored and creamy and the consistency allowed for it to cling appropriately to the pasta. Thanks GinnyP for a recipe that will be made often in our home!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Judith N. February 10, 2004

Great recipe, I added tomatoes with hot chili's and hot sausage, mine was very spicy, but very good. I also used half anf half. I will be making this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A foodlover February 10, 2004

This reminds me of vodka sauce without the vodka but just as yummy! I was a little worried about using italian sausage since my husband ususally doesn't care for it, but cooking it in the manner this recipe calls for had my family raving at how good it was! I doubled the recipe and like Tara, had trouble getting the sauce to thicken even after letting it simmer much longer than the recipe called for. Adding extra fresh grated parmesan helped a lot and the leftovers the next day are fantastic. I wouldn't change any ingredients in this recipe, they all work perfectly together. Thanks for sharing this one, its a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shimmerchk February 10, 2004
Pasta with Sausage, Tomatoes, and Cream