437 Reviews

This deserves more than 5 stars! This is an incredible tasting dish. Since I have tons of tomatoes in the garden, I used fresh peeled and seeded tomatoes. I made this with whole milk, added a few frozen peas for color, and the pasta we chose was penne. I will definitely make this often. Thanks!!

52 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MizzNezz August 25, 2002

Let me just say this: YUM. Okay, and I'll say more: I just finished the leftovers for breakfast. This was a very easy dish and tasted like it took much more work. I let the sauce cook down a little more than suggested, and I added more red pepper flakes, and it was wonderful. Thanks for sharing this great recipe GinnyP!

23 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Titanium Chef July 25, 2002

Fabulous!!! Simply fabulous!! Very easy to make and the flavors mixed so well!!! I used canned tomatoes, but next time, BF and I decided that we will try fresh or maybe sundried. Perfect with a salad, bread and bottle of good chianti!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kirstin in the Couv October 14, 2002

WOW! Deeeeeelicious! I doubled the recipe and we have plenty for lunch tomorrow. This recipe deserves more than 5 stars - easy recipe, easy directions, clean up a snap, and chock full of flavor! I had everything on hand, too so no need to run to the store. I used sundried tomato and basil sweet sausage. I didn't have heavy cream so I made my own (3/4 c. skim milk and 1/3 c. melted butter and 1 tsp of flour = 1 c. cream). I had Rigatoni on hand and cooked it al dente (~ 12 oz). My 6 year old ate it up and said she wants this everyday! LOL. She's getting some for lunch tomorrow, as will I. She wants me to make this when we go to Myrtle Beach next week. I think our friends are going to LOVE this too. Thanks for posting...this is a keeper!!! - Also, this recipe (doubled) easily could feed 6 to 8 people. My serving size is 1 cup for this recipe. Served with a nice garden salad and a side of veggies (steamed zucchini), you don't need more than a cup of this pasta (although it's too tempting not to go back for seconds.) Just read some reviews and I'm SHOCKED people are complaining it lacked in flavor or was bland. My DH is as picky as they get, and he oooh'd and awwww'd about the GREAT flavor this dish had. I didn't have to make any adjustments.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trixyinaz June 27, 2010

GREAT recipe! Easy and yummy, what more could you ask for?!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheri2 December 06, 2002

This is very delicious! However, I do admit that I made some changes to the recipe. First off, instead of sweet Italian sausage, I used HOT Italian sausage. It's just a personal preference and this way you can also omit the crushed pepper. Secondly, rather than using heavy cream I used an 8oz tub of that new Kraft cooking cream cheese in Italian herb flavor. This came out very well and my husband raved about it. :) This definitely tastes like a restaurant dish. I highly recommend!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cindyrocks88 October 02, 2011

This was so quick and easy and tasted great! I used chicken sausage and fat-free half & half to make it healthier. I'm sure I will make again. Thanks for posting!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris from Kansas November 30, 2010

I've been making this recipe since it first appeared in the June 1990 issue of Bon Appetit. It comes together quickly and is absolutely delicious. The sauce can also be made ahead and stored in the refrigerator. Rewarm, cook the pasta, add to the sauce, and dinner is served. I've cut way back on the cream, sometimes adding half-and-half instead. I usually don't even drain the tomatoes anymore. I've served it for family dinners and to company. Rave reviews every time.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mamalachef October 07, 2010

My husband and I loved this recipe! I used two cans of tomatoes and a cup of cream and served the sauce over 16 oz penne pasta. It made enough for four people that way. I think next time I may add spinach also. This recipe will definately be served next time I have company!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Momma Anderson February 10, 2004

This was great! I made it according to directions just doubled the lot for company. I am currently living in Italy and thus my company was Italian, and he loved it. And let me tell you… Italians know their pasta! Thanks for a great new favorite! So simple cant go wrong!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElisaM January 12, 2004
Pasta with Sausage, Tomatoes, and Cream