89 Reviews

I used a bit of butter in this and quite a bit of a flavoured cream cheese (I had no parmesan). It turned out to be excellent. Also added some onion. Great easy and fast recipe to do. Thanks Bergy.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tebo April 03, 2003

The first time I made this it was great, the second time I used a mixture of different types of mushrooms and it was still great.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gidget November 21, 2001

This was very good. I really liked the simplicity of the recipe but yet it looked like restaurant quality. Some readers say it was a little bland. My rule of thumb is taste as you go; adjust the seasonings where you feel necessary. It always works for me ;-)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LaQuetia May 29, 2009

This recipe was Heavenly!! How could it go wrong with my three passions...garlic, pasta and mushrooms! I took a previous reviewer's suggestion and added an additional tsp of basil. I added a couple of ladles of pasta cooking water to the sauce to stretch it a bit and topped it with alot of parm. cheese once it was plated. It was fabulous!! Thank you for a new favorite!!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chefsandee March 07, 2009

Really good. I used less butter about 2 Tbsp. I also used only about 2 c. mushroom (didnt realize recipe called for more). I also used only about 2 cloves of garlic,it would probably be ok with more.I did wish I had used more mushrooms though very good still.Thanks for posting

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
l.church August 23, 2010

I was torn between giving this no stars and 5 stars, because I messed with it quite a bit. I decided on 5 stars because the recipe is very adaptable and tasted GREAT at the end (even with said "messing"). :) Here's what I did: I halved the recipe, because it is just my husband and me. I used crimini mushrooms, cut in half, dried parsley flakes (1 tsp.), and I added 4 oz. cream cheese (Neufchatel), about 1/3 c. diced onion, and about 1 tsp. dried chopped chives. I was doing other stuff while the mushrooms, butter, and spices were cooking, and the ingredients started to stick, so I used about 1/3 c. white wine to deglaze it, after I had added everything else. The cream cheese I added made the sauce pretty thick, so the white wine helped to thin it out as well. I was kinda going for a creamier sauce anyway. I am kind of a space case, and I forgot to add the parmesan, but it tasted great without it (in my opinion - my husband said he thought it would be good with it). I served this with Pastor Ryan's Herb-Roasted Whole Chicken. Anyway, it was great in the end, and thanks for posting this!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greeny4444 May 16, 2010

Really liked this! I have to say it didn't make much of a "sauce" so if you are looking for a creamy sauce this probably isn't for you. But if you just love pasta and mushrooms (and garlic) this is awesome! Our whole family devoured it...and that's saying a lot! Thanks so much Bergy....

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennyblender August 24, 2013

Great recipe! Totally adaptable to any type of cuisine. I added a some chile flake because we always like a little heat. This is a keeper!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sheebs1 July 18, 2012

Quick and easy recipe that is absolutely delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dcain24 April 27, 2015

The dish was quite bland, I had to add a few tablespoons of Oyster sauce to it because there was no taste on it except the butter. I don't know what I did that made it not taste good... I did add some beef to it to make it a main course but it wasn't very flavorful. I also minced some onions into the dish and added some fresh basil to it but no luck. I hope others have a better experience with this dish I will not be making it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
honeycrisp April 20, 2010
Pasta with Mushroom Garlic Sauce