64 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious sauce recipe! I will definitely prepare this again. It is great because it is chunky enough but not too chunky that you don't get any actual sauce. It does have a bit of a kick to it so I may decrease the amount of red pepper for guests, but we liked it. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KellyMac6 October 05, 2009

This is the best pasta sauce I've ever had! We mostly use it with the Chicken Parmigiana (My Chicken Parmigiana). Even just with spaghetti its perfect! Thanks for posting :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Allison F September 10, 2009

This turned out great! one of the best sauces I've ever had!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ray Livingston July 26, 2009

This was an easy pasta sauce and fun to play around with. I just threw in a bunch of different spices such as italian seasoning, crushed pepper, etc. Anyways this is a very flexible pasta sauce and worked great for me! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tomsawyer July 13, 2009

Delicious!! I didn't think I could make a good homemade pasta sauce, but was I ever wrong! I loved that I got to use canned tomatoes for this as well - it gave a good texture. Like another recipe reviewer, I also used a potato masher to break up the tomatoes. I will definitely be making this a lot!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen in Victoria, BC June 04, 2009

This was a very good, perfectly seasoned sauce. I added about 1/4 cup red wine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginny Sue May 25, 2009

Fantastic, easy marinara recipe. Really. I did add 1/2 teaspoon of thyme and about 1/8 teaspoon fennel seeds and cut the oil in half to lighten the recipe. So good! Using canned crushed tomatoes instead of whole allows you to skip that step. I will add this to my classics.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookingkiminpdx May 20, 2009

Wow! Sooo yummy! I ended up adding a little bit of red wine. I also cut a tiny bit back on the sugar and added ketchup instead for sweetness (I know it sounds weird, but we do this in Scandinavia). This sauce was so delicious. It was also very easy to prepare. No need for can sauce anymore.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sniffany May 10, 2009

The sauce isn't even finished cooking down in the pan yet and it is already unbelievably good! I ended up cooking the onions and garlic down until they were quite brown and almost crispy. Being that I am avoiding sugar, I tried the sauce it without it, but could see where it would add another dimension so, I added some stevia instead. I'm guessing this will replace store bought sauce from here on out! Thanks for sharing such a simple but tasty recipe! Wow! We just scarfed down an entire batch! Our whole family loved it! I served it over some spelt pasta with some sauteed garlic, zucchini, and swiss chard, mixed with a little balsamic vinegar. It was FABULOUS. I think it was one of the best pasta dishes I've ever had. The best part was it didn't even need any cheese!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin'-4-5 March 03, 2009

This pasta sauce recipe is a new favourite in our house. The only things I do different... I add extra lean ground sirloin from time to time, substitute organic ingredients when possible, and instead of using my hands to crush the tomatoes I use my potato masher. This is a great recipe and I have received a compliment each time it is served. That's what makes it a keeper... right?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Culinary Experience February 17, 2009
Pasta Sauce #1