Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pasta Sauce #1 Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pasta Sauce #1

    Average Rating:

    64 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 64

    Sort by:

    • on October 05, 2009

      Delicious sauce recipe! I will definitely prepare this again. It is great because it is chunky enough but not too chunky that you don't get any actual sauce. It does have a bit of a kick to it so I may decrease the amount of red pepper for guests, but we liked it. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2009

      This is the best pasta sauce I've ever had! We mostly use it with the Chicken Parmigiana (My Chicken Parmigiana). Even just with spaghetti its perfect! Thanks for posting :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2009

      This turned out great! one of the best sauces I've ever had!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2009

      This was an easy pasta sauce and fun to play around with. I just threw in a bunch of different spices such as italian seasoning, crushed pepper, etc. Anyways this is a very flexible pasta sauce and worked great for me! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2009

      Delicious!! I didn't think I could make a good homemade pasta sauce, but was I ever wrong! I loved that I got to use canned tomatoes for this as well - it gave a good texture. Like another recipe reviewer, I also used a potato masher to break up the tomatoes. I will definitely be making this a lot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2009

      This was a very good, perfectly seasoned sauce. I added about 1/4 cup red wine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2009

      Fantastic, easy marinara recipe. Really. I did add 1/2 teaspoon of thyme and about 1/8 teaspoon fennel seeds and cut the oil in half to lighten the recipe. So good! Using canned crushed tomatoes instead of whole allows you to skip that step. I will add this to my classics.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2009

      Wow! Sooo yummy! I ended up adding a little bit of red wine. I also cut a tiny bit back on the sugar and added ketchup instead for sweetness (I know it sounds weird, but we do this in Scandinavia). This sauce was so delicious. It was also very easy to prepare. No need for can sauce anymore.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2009

      The sauce isn't even finished cooking down in the pan yet and it is already unbelievably good! I ended up cooking the onions and garlic down until they were quite brown and almost crispy. Being that I am avoiding sugar, I tried the sauce it without it, but could see where it would add another dimension so, I added some stevia instead. I'm guessing this will replace store bought sauce from here on out! Thanks for sharing such a simple but tasty recipe! Wow! We just scarfed down an entire batch! Our whole family loved it! I served it over some spelt pasta with some sauteed garlic, zucchini, and swiss chard, mixed with a little balsamic vinegar. It was FABULOUS. I think it was one of the best pasta dishes I've ever had. The best part was it didn't even need any cheese!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      This pasta sauce recipe is a new favourite in our house. The only things I do different... I add extra lean ground sirloin from time to time, substitute organic ingredients when possible, and instead of using my hands to crush the tomatoes I use my potato masher. This is a great recipe and I have received a compliment each time it is served. That's what makes it a keeper... right?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2008

      Oi Oi! Thought i'd pop in to say that the sauce was pretty darn good, didnt change a thing and so got myself a decent sauce :) Thanks, 1 step closer to no more take outs!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2008

    • on August 19, 2008

      Fabulous! This is going into my Best of the Best Cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2008

      very good pasta sauce, nice base to build up on. Will definitely do this again. thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2008

      This pasta sauce is wonderful! Tastes great...I love the consistency. Crushing the tomatoes by hand really makes a difference. Be sure to buy a good quality brand of tomatoes. This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2008

      It really is the best sauce I've made and I've made a few. What I love about this sauce is how fresh it tastes as soon as you make it. Not like a lot of recipes that say they taste better as leftovers. Also, I've had excellent results simmering for as little as 40 minutes which makes it part of making dinner instead of something you have to plan ahead. Some pasta sauce recipes say simmer for 6 to 8 hrs. HA! never again! I omit the red pepper flakes as my wife does not like them. Otherwise followed recipe to the letter. Thank you for posting my new favorite sauce. My whole family loves it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2008

      Wow! I just started cooking more from scratch, concerned of all the hidden MSG in foods. I tried this tonight and will NEVER go back to store bought sauce again! Made the following subs: *Instead of black pepper, used white *Instead of the liquid from the canned toms, I used 1/4 cup of really good red wine. *Used no sugar or salt My children family loved it and so did I. Thick, tasty, with just the right kick. Just lovely! You will never eat someone else's pasta sauce again! I feel like a chef. Thanks for the receipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2008

      i adore this sauce! i've been making it for months. i've made it with tomato sauce, crushed tomatoes, or whole tomatoes and it works fine no matter which i use. The perfect amount of sweet and spicy! It's the only sauce i make now. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2008

      This sauce is so good . I used a can of crushed tomatoes instead of whole.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2008

      Awesome sauce. But I skipped the sugar because I wanted it less sweet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pasta Sauce #1

    Serving Size: 1 (171 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 175.3
     
    Calories from Fat 97
    55%
    Total Fat 10.8 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 900.4 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.1 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 11.8 g
    47%
    Protein 4.0 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites