64 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Truly a great basic pasta sauce recipe. I replaced the whole tomatoes with crushed tomatoes, it is much less messy and it has a more consistent texture. I also like to use about 6 cloves of garlic (the garlic taste is not over-whelming because it is pan fried first). Adding a bay leaf, oregano, extra parsley flake and basil for the cook adds good flavors. Finally, I found that 1/8 tsp of crushed red pepper was an acceptable level for the kids. I would recommend adding 1/4 tsp of crushed red pepper at a time until you find your desired hotness.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kande_izzy October 30, 2011

This sauce was good. The only thing I did different was to add fresh oregano, parsley, thyme and basil. This will be good for my grandkids, after I blend the chucks out of it. They are picky that way. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mammafishy July 05, 2011

Great rich flavor, but as others said, I think I'd cut the red pepper flakes back a bit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chill December 14, 2010

Robust! This actually tasted more like a Cajun style meal than Italian. Not bad, just surprisingly bold. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lemon Drop July 21, 2010

v. good. made with three whole italian heirlooms from our garden, as well as 1/2 a zucchini, and two sweet red italian peppers, finely chopped. added a splash of red wine. pureed in the blender. very tasty. oh, i ended up adding just a bit more salt and sugar to bring out the flavors.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hot Mama Chef July 17, 2010

Excellent - we really enjoyed!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chichi244 April 28, 2010

Maybe it was the tomatoes I used...but it was a little acidic and not sweet enough...I REALLY wanted to like this, too since it has such rave reviews! It wasn't bad, don't get me wrong...just not...that great...used "Hunt's" tomatoes...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
east coast nellie March 02, 2010

SOOO GOOD! This was my first attempt at making sauce from scratch and it was easy and amazing! Will definitely use instead of jarred sauce from now on.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Steph H. February 02, 2010

This was very good! I halved the recipe, served over whole wheat angel hair pasta and added vegetarian meatballs. Thanks! Made for the TYM game in the cookbooks forum.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 January 10, 2010
Pasta Sauce #1