Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pasta Sauce #1 Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pasta Sauce #1

    Average Rating:

    64 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 64

    Sort by:

    • on March 14, 2011

      I haven't made a lot of tomato-based pasta sauces from scratch, but this one was fantastic! I substituted crushed tomatos for the whole tomatoes. I made this with a slow cooker and it was perfect. I sauteed the red pepper, garlic and onions in a pan and then added it to the slow cooker later. I think the key to this recipe is to let the sauce simmer for as long as possible. It really lets the flavors combine. Also - crush the dry spices in your hand before you add them to the sauce. It helps bring out the natural oils in the spice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2011

      I tried a few different pasta sauce recipes on here after my cookbooks went missing from our move 5 months ago. This one is my favorite! I add italian sausage or grd beef. Sometimes a litte wine if I have it. I also add a few more spices and just a sprinkle of pepper flakes. The chicken broth really makes a difference. Thanks for a great recipe! Defintely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      Very nice rich and tomato-ey sauce! I added sliced mushrooms and meatballs. Deeeeelish spaghetti sauce!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2014

      Very nice sauce. The texture is great and it is tasty. It makes approx 4 cups sauce in case you are trying to sub in a recipe for jarred as I did. Definitely a people pleaser. We are glad we simmered this on the stove on a Sunday afternoon. We will make it again for recipes and for regular ole spaghetti. Thanks for posting MizEm. Enjoy! ChefDLH

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2014

      Simple and delicious. I've been making this since I found it here years ago...and I always crush the tomatoes by hand. Wonderful. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2014

      Excellent sauce! I did add some sauteed mushrooms 'cuz I love them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2013

      i made this a few days before christmas since my mom was away... my dad LOVED IT which is something since he's hard to please. everyone did, my mom asked me for the recipe and my dad congratulated me.

      i love the spicy flavor to this. i actually added more pepper flakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2012

    • on July 29, 2012

      Nice and easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2012

      Great sauce. The chicken stock is the magic here. I would cut the pepper flakes back a bit. I used Penzy's red pepper flakes and next time I might use a 1/4 rounded tsp. I like food with a kick, but this was just a wee bit over. This recipe is now my standard. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2011

      Truly a great basic pasta sauce recipe. I replaced the whole tomatoes with crushed tomatoes, it is much less messy and it has a more consistent texture. I also like to use about 6 cloves of garlic (the garlic taste is not over-whelming because it is pan fried first). Adding a bay leaf, oregano, extra parsley flake and basil for the cook adds good flavors. Finally, I found that 1/8 tsp of crushed red pepper was an acceptable level for the kids. I would recommend adding 1/4 tsp of crushed red pepper at a time until you find your desired hotness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2011

      This sauce was good. The only thing I did different was to add fresh oregano, parsley, thyme and basil. This will be good for my grandkids, after I blend the chucks out of it. They are picky that way. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2011

    • on December 14, 2010

      Great rich flavor, but as others said, I think I'd cut the red pepper flakes back a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2010

      Robust! This actually tasted more like a Cajun style meal than Italian. Not bad, just surprisingly bold. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2010

      v. good. made with three whole italian heirlooms from our garden, as well as 1/2 a zucchini, and two sweet red italian peppers, finely chopped. added a splash of red wine. pureed in the blender. very tasty. oh, i ended up adding just a bit more salt and sugar to bring out the flavors.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2010

      Excellent - we really enjoyed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2010

      Maybe it was the tomatoes I used...but it was a little acidic and not sweet enough...I REALLY wanted to like this, too since it has such rave reviews! It wasn't bad, don't get me wrong...just not...that great...used "Hunt's" tomatoes...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2010

      SOOO GOOD! This was my first attempt at making sauce from scratch and it was easy and amazing! Will definitely use instead of jarred sauce from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      This was very good! I halved the recipe, served over whole wheat angel hair pasta and added vegetarian meatballs. Thanks! Made for the TYM game in the cookbooks forum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pasta Sauce #1

    Serving Size: 1 (171 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 175.3
     
    Calories from Fat 97
    55%
    Total Fat 10.8 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 900.4 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.1 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 11.8 g
    47%
    Protein 4.0 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites