8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very tasty and pretty salad. I made a couple adjustments - only 7 oz tri-color gigli pasta and double the dressing (though I only had celery salt so used 1/4 tsp with no other salt). For the additional ingredients I used red bell pepper not green and local organic pepper jack cheese (instead of the mozz and pepper flakes). I also used heirloom tomatoes and kalamata olives with fresh basil I grew myself. I am looking forward to enjoying this for lunches at work this week. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flower7 September 12, 2010

WOW, Andi, what a fantastic salad recipe! The flavours mingle so beautifully and make for a sensational taste experience! :) It was the perfect lunch to take to uni with me. Kept me going all day and was a sparkle that I kept looking forward to. :) I made a few small changes to suit my diet and what I had on hand: Used whole spelt pasta, cherry tomatoes, sun-dried tomatoes instead of olives and doubled the sesame seeds for extra crunch. I added in the optional mozzarella and red pepper flakes, which were a very nice addition. Sooo yummy! THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this great keeper with us, Andi!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula May 21, 2010

I thought this was good but not super flavorful. I think it would be better if you let it sit overnight. I used spanish olives instead of black and added some of the juice from the container. I also used 3 different cheeses, mozzarella, cheddar and montery jack. I used corkscrew pasta which worked well because it caught some of the dressing. I didn't have sesame seeds or celery seed so left that out. I also added chopped up sliced salami.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hill Family July 08, 2009

First I want to say how PRETTY this is! I wish I could have contributed another photo, but our camera was out of battery power I omitted the olives and cheese, and had to use dried basil, though I know it would have been infinitely superior with the fresh stuff (what isn't? gotta start growing my own). I did find that it needed a LOT of extra dressing- like about three times as much. But it tasted so good after that, I can't complain! Perhaps best of all it really does only take 20 minutes to make! Thanks for posting Andi!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
White Rose Child August 09, 2008

This deserves like eight stars! I love any pasta with olives and this had the perfect balance of everything. I will definitely make it again! Thanks so much for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bananabreadeater January 24, 2012

YUM! Fresh, Flavorful and Satisfying. I made this with all the extras (except red pepper flakes) and 4x the dressing. This was my first time using Ziti pasta it's like a big straight macaroni and I used a 1lb bag. I bought fresh basil and it didn't make it into my bag so I had to use dried darn it. My olives were kalamata, tomatoes cut up grape, subbed red onion for spring and string cheese cut up for mozzarella. The sesame seeds were an interesting addition. Thanks for a wonderful colorful summer recipe Andi! Made for the Holiday tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Engrossed July 02, 2009

This was wonderful! I did double the dressing ingredients like White Rose Child suggested. It was very tasty and full of wonderful ingredients! It is great for this time of year. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 August 22, 2008

This is a great salad but something was missing. Maybe more dressing like White Rose Child did. I used fresh basil and more than 5 pitted black olives LOL I used roma tomatoes, green onion and forgot the sesame seed LOL For the topping I used mozzarella and red bell pepper. Thanks Andi. Made for Market tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette August 19, 2008
Pasta Salad