8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

If the kids could give this more than 5 stars they would...and that says alot! I had leftover fresh veggies from DD grad party...so it was broccoli, snap peas, carrots, cauliflower, I used grape tomatoes cut in half, 1 tsp garlic, 1/4 diced red onion, 1 cup shredded colby-jack cheese and 1/3 cup parmesan cheese grated. For the sauce I cheated and used about 1/3 cup or so of Italian dressing (paul newman's family recipe) and 1/2 cup or so of Ranch...I used the juice of 1/2 lemon. For pasta I chose rotini as I think it holds the sauce well...Thanks so much for posting this delish recipe...I'm sure to make this alot this summer when the garden is bountiful...very flavorful and healthy...and the best part is the kids LOVED it!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Thea June 12, 2009

Very nice pasta salad. We used zucchini from our garden instead of yellow squash and we added 1/2 grape tomatoes instead of the chopped. We too used more of the Lemon juice/ lite olive oil dressing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Roger too June 28, 2013

I really loved the method of cooking everything in the same pot and the salad looked beautiful. However, I thought there was not nearly enough pasta for the amount of vegetables. It could also use more dressing and cheese.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeri Roth Lande June 20, 2013

This came out beautifully! The cooking method was perfect for getting the veggies done yet they still had a bite to them. The only changes I made were I used green pepper instead of red and I subbed halved cherry tomatoes for the chopped tomatoes. This is a very light, brightly colored and flavored salad. This won't be my last time making this salad. Made for Veg Swap 13.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeeVaFoodie August 17, 2009

Very good. I used grape tomatoes instead of chopped so they wouldn't water down the dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dona England April 19, 2009

I have been making a primavera salad using a similar method for years and years! I vary the veggies but always cook the pasta in the same water once I lift the veg out. I usually use rotini pasta because I find it holds the dressing better. I make my own dressing when I can, but in a pinch bottled italian dressing (I use fat-free usually) works just fine! One thing I do is to dress the pasta while it is warm so it soaks up the flavor and then add the veggies in after it has cooled to room temp so it all stays crisp. For a non-veg version, diced ham or salami goes great in here, too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NoDramaMama December 26, 2008

Beautifully delicious! And on top of that healthy. This is a fast recipe so I had everything cut before starting. The seasonings and timings are spot on. I used a whole grain penne, garnished it with pine nuts (couldn't resist) and the parmesan. Served this for our lunch along with rolls. Thank you Enjolinfam for sharing. Made for 1-2-3 Hit Wonders.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WiGal August 09, 2008

What a wonderful and easy way to prepare pasta primavera. Will use this method from now on! Besides easy, it was lovely and tasty. Halved the recipe for lunch and served with a warm hearty bread. Thnx for posting, Enjolifan. Made for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darkhunter June 22, 2008
Pasta Primavera Salad